Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
29
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
22
4 star
7
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 28 December 2015
A first class book full of little tips. I’m working my way through it slowly but I do like it. Some tips are not relevant – it depends on the medium you’re using – but all in all it’s well worth having. It’s split into four sections – Tools & Materials, Sketching & Drawing Techniques, Working With Your Subject and Commissions & Display. The book has 176 pages and measures 19 x 24½ cm.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2013
What a great book!
I am 70 years of age and have been an artist for nearly as long and am very impressed with this book.
It's a mine of information and a great source of inspiration covering a whole rang of subjects and techniques and a great price.
Not many books of this standard around.
Congratulations to the author, those that contributed to it and the publishers for the hard work that must have gone in to producing it.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2014
This book is a 'must have' for amateur artists at all levels of competency. For those unable to attend art school or evening classes in the subject this book reveals many secrets and guidance that will not only improve the artist's knowledge but bring much pleasure too.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2013
This is by far the best drawing introduction book I've read. It's laid out in a very logical way, and really inspires me to get on and practice drawing.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2013
This is a delightful book, beautifully illustrated and stuffed with information. A most enjoyable book to peruse and many good tips to learn and improve your drawing techniques.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2012
A good starter for ideas but you would need to find out more information for soem of the techniques used
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2015
Superb coverage of mediums and techniques, and what each can achieved. Only fault is with the internal organisation of the book with exercises scattered throughout the book, since the actual drawing techniques only begin in the second part of the book.

Lovely writing manner, not too familiar, nor too formal.

I was wrong to overlook it, but now I'm quite attached to it. Recommended for the first-timer, and the 'false' beginner new to drawing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2014
This series is a must for those either starting out or who have some experience. I found it informative and gives really good tips and idea.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 11 December 2015
I made the mistake of buying this book for my 11 year old grandson. The book is packed with interesting ideas very well presented. However, it is not for beginners, either as youthful as my would have been recipient or for adults. It is certainly far too advanced for me. Nonetheless it is a fascinating book to explore, even if its challenges defy all but reasonably talented artists. It would make a fine present for someone quite experienced in the art field.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2015
As a beginner, this is an excellent book. Has knowledge on everything you'll need to get you started, a definite must have in any new artists book collection
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)