Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars56
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£14.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 February 2014
I absolutely loved it. Inspirational, innovative, stunning demonstrations. Glyn has a no nonsense approach to painting. He is able to convey space, movement and above all colour. For anyone starting out painting in acrylics this book is a must, covering materials, subject matter and techniques.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2014
This book is by an extremely accomplished artist and is exactly what I wanted to extend my repertoire into new mediums.
I chose this book due to the quality of the authors paintings and was not diappointed.
A little late in delivery but well worth waiting for.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2013
I've admired Glyn Macey's work for some time and am really enjoying this book. It includes demonstrations on his techniques and is a truly marvellous read. Would recommend it to anyone who wants to try to develop a new style and get out of their comfort zone.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2016
I find this book inspiring and one to return to again and again. There is a lot enthusiastically packed in to those 144 pages, there are useful tips and techniques to try first. Then a chapter called Getting Started that explains the importance of going to the location, absorbing the atmosphere, sketching and making colour studies, ah all music to my ears! There are 9 step by step demonstrations to practice the techniques in a painting. The early ones don't involve complicated drawing skills and use a fairly limited palette so should be suitable for most most readers.
In Glyn's words 'What I would really love for you to do is to find your own subjects and having fun with the creative process' That's creativity unleashed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2013
I just love this book.The illustrations are beautiful and the energy behind the painting is very refreshing to me. All very positive, makes me feel happy.The exercises are nice.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2013
Good way of presenting different ideas in painting. Clear and accurate illustrations and generous explanations of techniques. best to adapt skills to our own styles.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2014
This is a brilliant book, clear concise and really helpful. I love his work, and the chattiness of the writing, not at all snobby, my sort of artist !
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2013
I bought this book to go with Glyn's other book Glyn Macey's Cornwall. AMAZING inspirational paintings - love it!!! Really recommend it!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2013
Step by step Glyn clearly demonstrates how to create a series of interesting and varied paintings in an accessible manner.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2013
This is a really fabulous book, it is inspirational and gives good guidance as well. More books like this please!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)