Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational!
This book is exceptional. It is full of wonderful ideas and help. Most of all it is inspirational and has taken me back to painting with acrylics after I had given up. I have read many books on this subject but this absolutely the best.
Published on 7 Feb. 2013 by Stella Day

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for this beginner
As I am an absolute beginner (and not a very good one at that) I found the "how to" section way beyond my level of competence. From the illustrations there is no doubt that Glyn Macey is a very talented artist. This book is perfect for the accomplished painter as he demonstrates innovative and challenging methods that will help produce high class work. If I was at...
Published 24 days ago by N. Bowring


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational!, 7 Feb. 2013
By 
Stella Day "Stella" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acrylics Unleashed (Paperback)
This book is exceptional. It is full of wonderful ideas and help. Most of all it is inspirational and has taken me back to painting with acrylics after I had given up. I have read many books on this subject but this absolutely the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unleased-ish., 28 Jan. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acrylics Unleashed (Paperback)
Glyn uses acrylics with water to thin the paint. He paints with them like watercolor painting.
These step by step projects use watercolour rough paper rather than canvas. There's not much using acrylics straight out of the tube in this book. Inviting landscapes,breathtaking seascapes this book contains nine varied step-by-step projects to follow. Full of techniques,methods and ideas. I would of liked to see some projects where the paints are not watered down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Written enthusiastically, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acrylics Unleashed (Paperback)
This is a generous book and will doubtless help many to express themselves more loosely with their paints and have fun so doing. There are a lot of 'How to do it' art books out there, and many are awful in my opinion, but this is something different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bold acrylics, 28 Dec. 2012
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Acrylics Unleashed (Paperback)
I have seen other Glyn Macey books but much prefer this for it gives you more guidelines to his methods and painting techniques. Bold, imaginative and colourful, these acrylics are dynamic. Use acrylics like Glyn to create impressive landscapes and add creativity to your work. This book has nine step-by-step projects. In addition Glyn offers advice on composition, adding movement and many techniques including scumbling, glazing and collage. This review first appeared on yarnsandfabrics website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 12 Mar. 2013
By 
Barbara Myatt (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acrylics Unleashed (Paperback)
This is a lovely book which is full of wonderful pictures and technical tips on how to achieve similar effects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars inspiring book, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acrylics Unleashed (Paperback)
Felt inspired after looking and reading through. Good examples and demonstrations I am looking forward to trying out his techniques.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspiring book, 1 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acrylics Unleashed (Paperback)
This is a book which makes me excited about using acrylics, exactly what I wanted. It is an excellent mix of ideas and techniques.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for ideas, 5 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acrylics Unleashed (Paperback)
Particularly good for a beginner and interesting for the more experienced. Clear techniques and well presented and a nice read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Different, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acrylics Unleashed (Paperback)
I really like this book, so different to all the others I have purchased.

Glyn's made it so easy to follow and I love his "no-nonsense" approach, it makes you think how easy it is to get lovely results.

I followed his tips and got quite a good result with one painting. His tips on using everyday objects to create different textures was inspiring and I will certainly try these, I am already building up my "treasure box".

His sense of humour comes across fantastic and you know by reading his comments how much he loves painting. It was well worth the purchase.
Thank you Glyn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Acrylics Unleashed, 6 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acrylics Unleashed (Paperback)
This book is fantastic, I love it. There are some really interesting projects to try and I am really loving having a go at these, would highly recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Acrylics Unleashed
Acrylics Unleashed by Glyn Macey (Paperback - 21 Dec. 2012)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews