Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars inspiring book, 27 Mar 2014
By 
Hazel Vicary "Hazel" (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stitch, Fibres, Metal & Mixed Media (The Textile Artist) (Paperback)
This is an excellent book - a really good buy and addition to my bookshelf. The illustrations are extremely good with lots of helpful tips and ideas and advice on what type of metals to use which, to someone like me who has never used metals before, is really useful. If you have looked at the metals available you will probably have been completely confused about thickness and what your sewing machine will be happy with. Well, this book has helped me enormously and not just with metals. There are loads of good ideas and unlike some books I have bought which has been a bit disappointing, this one I would be happy to recommend to anyone interested in mixed media textile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 7 Mixed Media Projects, 10 Jun 2014
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stitch, Fibres, Metal & Mixed Media (The Textile Artist) (Paperback)
This book is part of the Textile Artist series. Inside you'll find out how to use mixed media textile techniques to create stunning work. There are seven projects which demonstrate the techniques in a how-to style with equipment lists and clear instructions. I like the fact that the author gives the reader a challenge for extending the original idea and to move off at a tangent. She talks about her approach to developing work. The materials used are metal, fabric, fibre and thread, paper and card as well as digital printing processes. Discover how to create unique surfaces. Lots of new ideas here and easy to use techniques. Excellent photography throughout with many close-up images.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST have ....!!, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stitch, Fibres, Metal & Mixed Media (The Textile Artist) (Paperback)
Beautiful book - one of those you have to read cover to cover at bedtime...very inspirational - can recommend to anyone in a creative environment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely book, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stitch, Fibres, Metal & Mixed Media (The Textile Artist) (Paperback)
Full of ideas, clear instruction and great photographs. I will dip into this book again and again. A good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning photography, 8 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stitch, Fibres, Metal & Mixed Media (The Textile Artist) (Paperback)
Clear & comprehensive instructions, with many techniques & variations. You will find yourself browsing with pleasure but then mentally storing away some procedure to use or adapt later. The gorgeous photography adds to the browsing pleasure & adds to the accessibility. Truly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stitch, Fibres, Metal & Mixed Media, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stitch, Fibres, Metal & Mixed Media (The Textile Artist) (Paperback)
Love this book and it has given me lots of ideas for the present piece of textile art I am working on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unusual & well illustrated, 26 May 2014
By 
Y. K. Autie (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stitch, Fibres, Metal & Mixed Media (The Textile Artist) (Paperback)
As I work in both textiles and precious metals I appreciated the ideas in this book that encouraged me to mix the two. Well written by a first class tutor (I have personal experience of one of her workshops). Hours, nay days of experiments spring to mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The textile artist., 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stitch, Fibres, Metal & Mixed Media (The Textile Artist) (Paperback)
Something that I have been waiting for for a long time. It is a very inspirational book and again has lots of ideas for my textile workshops.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Exciting, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stitch, Fibres, Metal & Mixed Media (The Textile Artist) (Paperback)
This book looks great and includes lots of projects I want to try. Instructions appear clear and photography is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely book, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stitch, Fibres, Metal & Mixed Media (The Textile Artist) (Paperback)
I loved the book but it was a little advanced for me who has only just moved into this media, but great for anyone who has some experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stitch, Fibres, Metal & Mixed Media (The Textile Artist)
Stitch, Fibres, Metal & Mixed Media (The Textile Artist) by Alysn Midgelow-Marsden (Paperback - 29 Jan 2014)
£14.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews