Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of projects
From the authors of Sew Scandinavian this book gives you 55 projects for the home in the strking and timeless colour combination of red and white. The projects are spilt into 4 chapters: In the garden, kitchen comforts, beautiful things for the home and gifts from the heart. There's also an additional chapter at the end with tehcniques, and templates plus there is a...
Published on 27 Nov 2011 by Sewing Directory

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Book
This book is ok. Don't know whether or not I will make anything from it but it was cheap enough so not too bothered if I don't. Will probably pass it on.
Published 8 months ago by Mrs Williams


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of projects, 27 Nov 2011
By 
Sewing Directory (Devon) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Scandinavian Designs in Red & White (Paperback)
From the authors of Sew Scandinavian this book gives you 55 projects for the home in the strking and timeless colour combination of red and white. The projects are spilt into 4 chapters: In the garden, kitchen comforts, beautiful things for the home and gifts from the heart. There's also an additional chapter at the end with tehcniques, and templates plus there is a large pattern sheet in a pocket at the back of the book.

The projects range from the more complex and time consuming patchwork table cloth, to quick & simple projects like teatowels and fabric hanging birds. There are projects for all abilities. Although most the projects are fabric based there are some other crafts too such as paper crafting, wood crafts and painting on to ceramics, wood & metal.

There are lovely large photos of each project in the book and written instructions (no diagrams or step by step photos). For some of the projects the instructions seem a little brief (a paragraph or 2), but on the more complex projects you do get a page or so of instructions. Personally I would have preferred a few diagrams too, but then there wouldn't be so many projects in the book so I guess that is the trade off.

You do get a lot of very striking projects which would help you bring a Scandinavian feel to your home.

This review originally appeared on The Sewing Directory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely projects, 30 Nov 2011
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scandinavian Designs in Red & White (Paperback)
The love of all things Scandinavian continues in the craft world. This book can take its place amongst the best. I must admit when I saw the title I was thinking of redwork but this book is just about using red and white fabrics and not the embroidery technique. Love the templates and the pocket in the back to put them in. Love the photography and the superb projects - quite a lot I'd like to make in this book. Favourites are heart projects, garlands, fabric friends (how many can I have?), wreaths, aprons, cushions and more. A lovely book full of lovely things that look easy to make. Written instructions can be difficult, read twice before you begin. This review first appeared on Karen Platt's yarnsandfabrics blog.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars book, 9 Mar 2012
By 
D. M. Hall (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scandinavian Designs in Red & White (Paperback)
I am very pleased with this book, the patterns are great, so much so I will be buying her other book.
Scandinavian designs are my favourite and this really comes across in the book. Easy to sew and fun to make.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Book, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scandinavian Designs in Red & White (Paperback)
This book is ok. Don't know whether or not I will make anything from it but it was cheap enough so not too bothered if I don't. Will probably pass it on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars inspirating, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scandinavian Designs in Red & White (Paperback)
Its a nice book to get some inspiration even if not very original.nice to display on the coffee table and as a present
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Bood, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scandinavian Designs in Red & White (Paperback)
Full of gorgeous things to make for yourself or for gifts. Haven't started using it yet, but can't wait. Lovely photographs and instructions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars If you love Scandi design!, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scandinavian Designs in Red & White (Paperback)
I've made several cushions using ideas from this book, probably will only use the stitching projects, but great inspiration for red and white lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars red and white, 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scandinavian Designs in Red & White (Paperback)
arrived on time, great book, with great scandinavian designs,easy to understand, will be able to use it time and time again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scandinavian Designs in Red & White (Paperback)
Very useful as a source book as well as for it's lovely projects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scandinavian Designs in Red & White
Scandinavian Designs in Red & White by Stefanie Thomas (Paperback - 16 Nov 2011)
£9.79
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews