Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT BOOK
This is an excellent first book from Debbie with some stunning cushions that would grace any home. Wonderful photography with extremely clear instructions without any jargon. There are some wonderful ideas to use up your scrap fabrics and for beginners there is an excellent glossary at the back, also has plenty of tips in each section. It is very well written and makes...
Published on 22 Dec 2011 by Mrs. Barbara Dodds

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars functional
functional book but not inspirational as i hoped. its got some of the basics but feels its only a snippet of the big picture of how to make and assemble cushions. its okay for my library and reference but i wouldnt buy it if i'd flicked through it first.
Published 4 months ago by VenusSpecimen


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT BOOK, 22 Dec 2011
By 
This review is from: Making Cushion Covers (Paperback)
This is an excellent first book from Debbie with some stunning cushions that would grace any home. Wonderful photography with extremely clear instructions without any jargon. There are some wonderful ideas to use up your scrap fabrics and for beginners there is an excellent glossary at the back, also has plenty of tips in each section. It is very well written and makes you feel as if you have a friend talking you through each step. A great accompaniment to Debbie's DVDs. I cannot praise this book highly enough and look forward to Debbie's next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to understand, 22 Jan 2012
This review is from: Making Cushion Covers (Paperback)
I purchased this book as I am a 'rusty' sewer and wanted a refresher book. I chose this book as I has seen Debbie demonstrate sewing techniques on TV and she explained everything in a jargon free language. I have not been disappointed.. the book is great, so much so I bought another one for my daughter who is learning to sew!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVELY LITTLE BOOK, 7 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Making Cushion Covers (Paperback)
Brilliant book of cushions...Shows CLEARLY with VERY clear colour diagrams all the different techniques for different cushion designs ...This book is wonderful ...especially the little tip boxes to help you even further :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book good buy, 16 Feb 2012
This review is from: Making Cushion Covers (Paperback)
I have this book its a pick me up book and dip in,a beginner would feel quite at home as well as the more experienced giving plenty of ideas which you can develope, it is very well illustrated, no jargon with easy instructions, achieveable projects no hassle yet looks great when finished, a good little buy you wont be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Making cushion covers, 18 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Making Cushion Covers (Paperback)
Wow what a fab book. So full of fresh modern ideas to brighten your home using easy techniques with beautiful effects.

You can use any fabrics to make these projects even old duvet covers etc. In todays society designer style cushions are so expensive to buy and i for one, will not spend money on something like that.. but this book has made it possible to make my own individual and unique cushoins and people who see them love them.

I would encourage a complete novice sewer to purchase this book... it has easy to follow instrutions and no technical gargon.. just plain english.... and step by step colour photographs too.

I can promise you will be delighted with this book.

Now i can't stop to write anymore... i'm off to make a couple of cushions for the bedroom :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for beginners, 10 Mar 2012
By 
Sewing Directory (Devon) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Making Cushion Covers (Paperback)
Making cushion covers are a great way of revamping your home, and they are a good project for learner sewists to start with. This book features 26 designs of varying complexity and incorporating different techniques such as piping, ruffles, appliqué, shirring & patchwork. I think this book would be ideal if you wanted to learn/practice new techniques.

The introduction section covers equipment, trimmings, different stitches and how to fit a zip. The projects themselves have step by steps instructions with photos for almost every stage too, ideal for people like me who like a visual guide.

My one criticism of this book is that the lighting is pretty dark in some of the photos, making some of them are quite dark & gloomy and not showing the cushions off as well as they could. It's the one thing which brings down an otherwise good project book.

This review also appears on The Sewing Directory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 17 Dec 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Making Cushion Covers (Paperback)
Received my book with thanks to Amazons speedy delivery.

What can i say, Its a lovely book, full of ideas and inspiration. I recommend you order the book, and when it arrives, sit in your chair, with a cuppa, and while away an hour or two. Its full of fresh and modern ideas on to spruce up any room in your house, quickly, easily and cheaply. It is also a fun way to learn all kinds of sewing machine techniques that will help you when making just about anything.

Dont delay buy it today you wont be sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Making Cushion Covers, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Making Cushion Covers (Paperback)
Beautiful book lovely illustration's easy to read and follow, if you want to make cushions then this is a good book to have on the shelf.Making Cushion Covers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Book, 9 Feb 2012
This review is from: Making Cushion Covers (Paperback)
the books is full of exciting projects and so helpful with ideas and how to make it, use it along with Debbie Shore DVDs its a must for any sewer to keep in there library.

Debbie Shore has a passion for sewing and that comes across in her DVDs and now her book, well worth every penny, can't wait to see whats next, Every things she makes is from the heart.

Wether its from her book, her DVds and her you tube videos (Thimble Lane) the scope of her skill is brilliant and enjoyable to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars homely, 22 Dec 2011
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Making Cushion Covers (Paperback)
What's homely and comfortable with fresh designs? This book. Make your house into a home with Debbie Shore's practical designs. Cushions are the perfect way to change the look of a room. Useful information includes materials, basic techniques including inserting a zip and basting. The instructions are easy to follow and coupled with photographs. Tips are given throughout and I liked the alternative suggestions too for the twenty six designs. Photography is a little dark in places but that does not detract from the overall book. Favourites are the alternative knot cushion, the box pleat and the battenburg. Best of all the flower cushion is brilliant. The shapes are basic and there could have been more shapes other than the usual but this is an excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Making Cushion Covers
Making Cushion Covers by Debbie Shore (Paperback - 23 Dec 2011)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews