Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good reference guide
A very good comprehensive little guide to goldwork techniques. As someone with experience in goldwork I would rate this book highly for the way it describes all the main techniques from elementary to advanced. I especially like how she uses traditional techniques in a contemporary way - the use of different coloured metals for example. Also lke the section on Or Nue which...
Published 22 months ago by I.Sewell

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars goldwork
Very disappointed in this book .Hazel Everett's book is far better.I was expecting greater things from the RSN( no patterns)
Published 21 months ago by jeanb


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good reference guide, 20 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goldwork (RSN Essential Stitch Guides) (Hardcover)
A very good comprehensive little guide to goldwork techniques. As someone with experience in goldwork I would rate this book highly for the way it describes all the main techniques from elementary to advanced. I especially like how she uses traditional techniques in a contemporary way - the use of different coloured metals for example. Also lke the section on Or Nue which is quite different from other forms of goldwork. Photographs are very clear and I would think that anyone with no knowledge of goldwork would be able to produce a satisfactory piece from this book. A good book to have in your library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So beautiful, 12 May 2013
By 
G. M. Whiting (Hampshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goldwork (RSN Essential Stitch Guides) (Hardcover)
If you appreciate beautiful things, the pieces of embroidery illustrated in the book are wonderful to see and one can only marvel at and admire the skill and talent that has gone into creating the works. Most pieces are the work of the author, some done when she was but a (very talented) student at the RSN. This is not a book of projects. It is a work which gives a brief history of Goldwork, and then explains the techniques involved, the tools and materials used and the design process. If you love embroidery it certainly will inspire, it is not too basic for someone with some experience of other styles of embroidery nor does it presume a level of knowledge which an almost beginner might not have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent goldwork instruction book, 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goldwork (RSN Essential Stitch Guides) (Hardcover)
A well illustrated little book in a ring binding which means it stays open while you follow the instructions. Whilst it is always helpful to have a little knowledge, this book is still suitable for beginners with stitching experience in other fields. All the traditional techniques are beautifully explained with colour photographs and these these techniques are used to create some lovely contemporary and traditional pieces. I love goldwork for its rich heritage and find it inspiring that it can be adapted to contemporary designs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goldswork, 12 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goldwork (RSN Essential Stitch Guides) (Hardcover)
I looked inside the book because it is by the R S N and I have other books by them and there are clear instructions and pictures.
I would recomend R.S.N books to any one starting out on a new craft. The cost of these books is very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent addition to the RSN series, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goldwork (RSN Essential Stitch Guides) (Hardcover)
Full of information and ideas. If you are a novice it will help you and experienced goldworkers will find something to delight. The spiral binding on this RSN series makes it easy to use as you can turn it inside out and leave open on a particular page. I went to a workshop run by Helen and enjoyed her style of teaching very much: I'm pleased to say this book is just as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good explanations, 20 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goldwork (RSN Essential Stitch Guides) (Hardcover)
I love these Royal school books, something in them for all but for the experts who do not need books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goldwork (RSN Essential Stitch Guides) (Hardcover)
A lovely book with good tips for the beginner and advanced stitcher. Good addition to the RSN range of stitch guides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars goldwork, 25 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goldwork (RSN Essential Stitch Guides) (Hardcover)
Very disappointed in this book .Hazel Everett's book is far better.I was expecting greater things from the RSN( no patterns)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book. Excellent & speedy service from Amazon, 7 July 2014
By 
Audrey Millar (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goldwork (RSN Essential Stitch Guides) (Hardcover)
Excellent book. Excellent & speedy service from Amazon. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic resource book, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goldwork (RSN Essential Stitch Guides) (Hardcover)
Love it. Yet another superb book which demonstrates the skill of Goldwork .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Goldwork (RSN Essential Stitch Guides)
Goldwork (RSN Essential Stitch Guides) by Helen McCook (Hardcover - 9 Oct 2012)
7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews