Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Design at its best
This is one of the best and most inspiring knitting books around. The modern designs are based heavily on traditional motives with bold and beautiful colour combinations. There are only 2 single colour patterns that use cables as design element, all other projects use stranded knitting and steeking. None is for the novice knitter and many projects use 3mm needles to...
Published on 10 Jun 2011 by Lizzie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A modern twist to knitting nnorwegian
Sadly I was not happy with this book,it has been praised so much that I ,probably,expected too much.I prefer the classic patterns
without too much modern embellishment.Wellpacked and fast shipping.
Published 3 months ago by Kerstin Danielson Asplund


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Design at its best, 10 Jun 2011
This review is from: Norwegian Knitting Designs (Paperback)
This is one of the best and most inspiring knitting books around. The modern designs are based heavily on traditional motives with bold and beautiful colour combinations. There are only 2 single colour patterns that use cables as design element, all other projects use stranded knitting and steeking. None is for the novice knitter and many projects use 3mm needles to create the stunning designs. Don't expect to finish them over a weekend, but they are worth the challenge. The instructions are laid out well with colour charts that are easy to follow. The biggest problem might be to find or replace the mostly Norwegian yarns used for the modells. Can't wait to start knitting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars amazing patterns, 21 Dec 2011
This review is from: Norwegian Knitting Designs (Paperback)
This is a beautiful book. The items pictured are outstanding but incredibly complex. I am a pretty good knitter but at the moment are beyond what i can do at the moment. Also i know some people have commented on the smallness of the charts but it would be quite simple to blow them up. Simply these patterns are what i aspire to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars handknitting at its best, 25 May 2011
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Norwegian Knitting Designs (Paperback)
I don't just like this, I really love it. It is not only one of my favourite knitting books of this year, but of all time. That means it ranks aside my Kaffe Fassett knitting books, Swing, Swagger and Drape and Knitting in the Details. The 22 contemporary designs are based on traditional Norwegian design and are knitted with Norwegian yarns - so beware that you may need to substitute yarn. I love the shapes and styles - that long coat, the cover jacket, the embroidered fitted jacket and so on. The designs are taken from top Norwegian designers and not only do you see the fabulous finished garments against wonderful backgrounds - you get an insight into what inspired each designer. The designs are quite bold and are not for the shy and retiring plain garter or stocking stitch knitter. Many are based on geometric style designs. I would knit at least half of these and can think of adaptations and further inspiration triggered by these designs. Recommended to anyone who thinks knitting is an adventure and that pattern is to be explored. This book was previously published in the USA by Unicorn under the title Norsk Strikkedesign. This review first appeared on Karen Platt's book review website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some unusual designs ..., 12 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Norwegian Knitting Designs (Paperback)
There are some lovely designs in this book and many of the charts can be adapted for use in other patterns
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely book, 19 July 2011
This review is from: Norwegian Knitting Designs (Paperback)
interesting book with lovely illustrations. for everyone ,who wants to master multicolour knitting. additional bonus is background information about designers and their inspirations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A modern twist to knitting nnorwegian, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Norwegian Knitting Designs (Paperback)
Sadly I was not happy with this book,it has been praised so much that I ,probably,expected too much.I prefer the classic patterns
without too much modern embellishment.Wellpacked and fast shipping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fab designs, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Norwegian Knitting Designs (Paperback)
Great designs but I need more knitting experience to tackle these! A good deal of expertise is required or you will be frustrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars it didn't meet my expectations, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Norwegian Knitting Designs (Paperback)
The book is real work of art, but the items are not suitable to knit or to wear. I hoped I would be able to adapt some patterns but it is not the case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely patterns, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Norwegian Knitting Designs (Paperback)
and so many beautiful pictures!
I love to look in it and make plans,
for one of the objects I already bought some yarn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 18 Sep 2011
This review is from: Norwegian Knitting Designs (Paperback)
Was really looking forward to this book, but the charts are small, and in colour which makes it hard to change colour. And many of the patterns have a steek which I am not confident enough to attempt
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Norwegian Knitting Designs
Norwegian Knitting Designs by Margaretha Finseth (Paperback - 3 May 2011)
Used & New from: 70.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews