Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great little book
This book is part of the Twenty To Make series. It's a quirky new take on cross stitch influenced by a love of architecture, buildings and gardens. The twenty unique, contemporary designs are shown with charts to work. There is a brief stitching guide. I love the birthday cake, daises and village. The latter and a couple of other designs remind me of the architect Gaudi...
Published 18 months ago by K. Platt

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
bought at the request of my wife wqho has passed no comment
Published 5 months ago by I W Richardson


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great little book, 27 Jun 2013
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mini Cross Stitch (Twenty to Make) (Paperback)
This book is part of the Twenty To Make series. It's a quirky new take on cross stitch influenced by a love of architecture, buildings and gardens. The twenty unique, contemporary designs are shown with charts to work. There is a brief stitching guide. I love the birthday cake, daises and village. The latter and a couple of other designs remind me of the architect Gaudi. All the designs are worked as mini designs, so they are relatively quick to make. Great little book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Does what it says on the tin!", 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mini Cross Stitch (Twenty to Make) (Paperback)
An attractive and useful little book with designs in Michael Powell's recognisable and distinctive style. The projects really are mini, but there are suggestions about how they might be used to increase their versatility.Buildings feature, of course, with a Mediterranean feel, but there are also some floral designs, some unexpected ideas and the ubiquitous cupcake! The book would suit an absolute beginner, as there are clear instructions and embroidery thread numbers listed for each project, but the more experienced cross-stitcher should be able to adapt the designs for different colourways. It is a useful addition to this series and very good value, comparing favourably to the cost of a magazine. Recommended for those who welcome something a little bit different in the cross-stitching world..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great little book but projects quite expensive to make, 3 Nov 2013
By 
Sheila Lawrence (Preston, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mini Cross Stitch (Twenty to Make) (Paperback)
This is a great little book for cross stitch fans and the charts are delightfully different.

The only problem I have with it is that the charts use an awful lot of different colours of threads and it can be quite expensive to stitch most of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Michael Powell Cross Stitch, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mini Cross Stitch (Twenty to Make) (Paperback)
Brilliant. Have already made one. Easy to make but looks stunning. Ideal for birthdays ect and quick to make. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressed - M Powell, how can you not be., 20 Dec 2013
By 
G. Andrews "Nibs" (West of UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mini Cross Stitch (Twenty to Make) (Paperback)
M Powell designs are always a big hit with me.
I've purchased this book as a Christmas gift with the intension of borrowing it to do one or two projects in there that I liked too.
I love M Powell art work and his cross stitch designs and his kits are always well set out and easy to follow and create. You can truly feel proud when your projects are completed as they look fun and quirky, bright and cheery.
This book lays the charts out in colour in a nice size to read and follow.

Well done M Powell. Look forward to more like this from you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super little book!, 4 April 2014
By 
L. Nudd (Shropshire, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mini Cross Stitch (Twenty to Make) (Paperback)
I love Michael Powell's cross stitch designs but don't have time to stitch the big ones so this little book is perfect. Many can be made from leftovers from other projects, though some folk may need to purchase all items required. There's a good mix of designs,from cupcakes and hearts to flowers and his inimitable quirky cottages and villages - and all for less money than many magazines. All in all, a great little book at a brilliant price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No straight lines, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mini Cross Stitch (Twenty to Make) (Paperback)
As an avid cross stitcher of mature years I struggled with Michael Powell's work at first. Where were the straight lines? The more I did the more I grew to love them. They are quirky, fun to sew and the colours are exciting. I am a convert to his style. His original art work, mostly in pen and ink, is beautifully drawn. The projects are simple and not demanding of your time. Go on, have a go. If I can be converted you will too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Michael Powell cross stitch, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mini Cross Stitch (Twenty to Make) (Paperback)
This is a fabulous little book with a range of patterns from simple to complex, small to reasonable size. Considering how expensive Michael's kits are, I'm amazed at the low price of this book and think it is excellent value for money.

It will give me many enjoyable hours of stitching and I will recommend it to all my friends and relatives who stitch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mini Cross Stitch (Twenty to Make) (Paperback)
This is a book of twenty awesome cross stitching projects. The designs are simple but elegant and the charts are so easy to follow. Also all in full stitches so no half or fractional stitching. I will be looking at getting more books from the author as he has designed projects for all tastes. Delivery was super quick as only ordered yesterday and arrived today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mini designs...Maxi Pleasure!, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mini Cross Stitch (Twenty to Make) (Paperback)
I've used Michael Powell designs before, so I was really pleased to see that there was a book of his patterns.
I was not disappointed! Small quirky and Oh so different....each one a little Gem!There are 'quick-to-do' as well as more detailed. Something for every occasion. They may be Mini designs but they'll give Maxi Pleasure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mini Cross Stitch (Twenty to Make)
Mini Cross Stitch (Twenty to Make) by Michael Powell (Paperback - 22 April 2013)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews