Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars for vampire film fans
By the author of "Babes in the Wool" and "Knitted Fairies".
The dolls are designed more for older children and adults as some of them might look a little bit scary to young children.
There are patterns for basic female and male dolls.
There are detailed instructions for knitting 9 dolls, 6 female and 3 male, all dressed in Gothic styles, with lots of...
Published on 6 Jan 2012 by Poppy

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok for professional knitters
Love the designs and the whole idea of this book, but when I started following the patterns I found an awful lot of mistakes. If you are new to knitting this is not the book for you and the publishers need to employ a good knitter to properly proof read this book
Published 11 months ago by ruth


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars for vampire film fans, 6 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gothic Knits (Paperback)
By the author of "Babes in the Wool" and "Knitted Fairies".
The dolls are designed more for older children and adults as some of them might look a little bit scary to young children.
There are patterns for basic female and male dolls.
There are detailed instructions for knitting 9 dolls, 6 female and 3 male, all dressed in Gothic styles, with lots of pictures showing how to make the dolls hairstyles and embroider or paint faces and makeup.
There are 2 sizes of dolls, four are 23" tall and five are 20" tall.
The clothes are mainly knitted in black, red and purple,and can be trimmed with lace and beads to suit yourself.
A great book for fans of Vampire and horror films!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hammer horror, 1 Jan 2012
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gothic Knits (Paperback)
A full range of dressed, knitted dolls in Gothic style. Six female and three male dolls. The basic doll gives you a format to create your own Gothic beauties. It's like a Hammer horror movie of knitting. This review first appeared on Karen Platt's yarnsandfabrics blog.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Dolls, 7 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gothic Knits (Paperback)
I bought this book a couple of weeks ago and have already knitted three of the dolls. They are very easy to knit, stitch together and stuff. Their clothing is really cool and quick to knit. My dolls are without hair and faces at the moment and I am waiting for a creative moment to finish them but even if I do not finish them they look awesome as they are. These patterns can be tweaked to turn gothic into anything you want it to be, so don't let the gothic word stop you from buying this book. I might even turn one of my dolls into The Black Swan ballerina..... who knows so many ideas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gothic knits is perfect, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gothic Knits (Paperback)
this has patterns for exactly what you require for knitting gothic dolls and the clothes and details are superb...i would highly recommend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awsome, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gothic Knits (Paperback)
Best knitting book ever if you love gothic then ill love this book I
I just think all theese amazing details are. So amazing
Buy it its incrediable really enjoying it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gothic Knits (Paperback)
As a follow on to 'knitted fairies' this is an excellent book. Dolls are larger and have more shaped body forms...but really good to knit. Cannot help but want to knit them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great dolls, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gothic Knits (Paperback)
These look rele good and I think they will be great for anyone to make.
You can mix and match the outfits too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very good book., 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gothic Knits (Paperback)
as i am a keen knitter, and have knitted many dolls from various books, to date i have only managed to knit one of the dolls so far, and found it very interesting and easy to knit, but not the sort of dolls you would knit for children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Looking forward to making these, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gothic Knits (Paperback)
I haven't had time to start knitting these yet so I can't comment on how easy (or not) the patterns are to follow.

But the designs are really beautiful and there are instructions on how to shape the bodies and embroider the faces. The male dolls even have six-packs and a couple of them bear a resemblance to Johnny Depp - bonus! Have thought about amending the pattern and knitting a life-size Johnny Depp type one to keep me company- might take rather a lot of wool though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Present, 11 Jan 2014
By 
Dragonella (Newton Aycliffe, Co Durham) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gothic Knits (Paperback)
I purchased this book for my mam for christmas. She has already made one of the dolls from the book and it has turned out fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gothic Knits
Gothic Knits by Fiona McDonald (Paperback - 4 Jan 2012)
7.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews