Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creativity at its best
This is a fabulous book and a tribute to Sarah's work. With useful tutorials and plenty of examples of fine work, this book brings many possibilities to those interested in textiles. Further ideas are given as a gallery that will surely provide inspiration for your own ideas. The book is backed up by clear photographs and instructions. Sarah looks at working with metals,...
Published on 22 Mar 2012 by K. Platt

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some good ideas
It has ended up on my bookshelf with a lot of other similar books. Probably my own fault!

I will give it another chance though.
Published 20 months ago by Susan Hubble


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creativity at its best, 22 Mar 2012
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stitch, Cloth, Shimmer & Shine (Hardcover)
This is a fabulous book and a tribute to Sarah's work. With useful tutorials and plenty of examples of fine work, this book brings many possibilities to those interested in textiles. Further ideas are given as a gallery that will surely provide inspiration for your own ideas. The book is backed up by clear photographs and instructions. Sarah looks at working with metals, mica, leaf and more to add a touch of glitter to your work. There is a section on stitching to enhance work including using the flower stitcher. Embellishments are dealt with in some detail. All the tutorials are approached with Sarah's unique style. At the back of the book, there are examples of finished pieces of work - even here, Sarah gives her all and refers you back to the tutorials for the processes involved. Beautiful work and great ideas from a creative spirit. Thoroughly enjoyable, usable and you'll actually learn how to achieve the effects. This book should be on the shelf of anyone interested in stitch, embellishing, adding sparkle and much more. The best book from Search Press this year. This review first appeared on yarnsandfabrics website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some brilliant creative ideas, 14 May 2012
By 
Sewing Directory (Devon) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Stitch, Cloth, Shimmer & Shine (Hardcover)
This book is full of inspiration for mixed media artists. It covers many different techniques including free machining, fabric painting, gilding, using mica, stitching, embossing and stamping amongst others. There are step by step instructions and photos to guide you through each process. At the end of each chapter there are then images showing you how you can take the technique further and integrate into your designs.

This book is designed to inspire you and give you the skills you need to create your own designs rather than give full projects. Although at the end of the book you will find some of the author's own beautiful makes with details of how she made them. If you are looking to learn new mixed media techniques this book is ideal.

This review also appears on The Sewing Directory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 28 Feb 2012
This review is from: Stitch, Cloth, Shimmer & Shine (Hardcover)
This is a really good book with lots of inspiration and ideas to try out. Several techniques I've not seen before as well as variations on familiar ones.
I'm looking forward to trying Sarah's ideas with leaf metal and sheers, also things to do with alcohol inks and mica sheets. There are even some unusual approaches to craft stickers with mixed media, which are very effective.
I would really recommend this book.

Sadly Sarah died before it was published, there is a short note to say it has been published exactly as she wanted it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book - what a sad loss, 31 Mar 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stitch, Cloth, Shimmer & Shine (Hardcover)
I have Sarah's book on silk paper and love it's colourful, strightforward style so was eager to see this when it came out. Even more colourful than her previous book, with lots of simple, effective techniques. Wonderful to look at and equally wonderful to use. Only crticism is the lack of a suppliers list as some people are not confident about finding suppliers on the Internet. Minor fault, though, in an otherwise stunning book. So sad that this bright talent has been lost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and inspirational, 24 Jan 2013
By 
Jo Bennie (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Stitch, Cloth, Shimmer & Shine (Hardcover)
Search Press and Sarah Lawrence come together with a book as full of inspiration as stunning pictures. Lawrence generously shares her techniques for using fabrics, gilding, mica, metals, adhesives, heat, fusible web, paints, markers, inks, stencils, stamps, stitching, embellishments, and crayons to make stunning pieces which can be displayed in their own right or used further as fabrics for projects. She shows us how to create fabrics, beads, embellishments, cords, trims and jewellery.

Lawrence's book is in two parts, the first and by far the largest a series of workshops with step by step instructions and photographs on using materials and techniques. These are clear, well written and illustrated, although a little knowledge of fabric craft is needed in some instances.

A beautiful book, a piece of exuberant creativity I will continue to enjoy and learn from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 18 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stitch, Cloth, Shimmer & Shine (Hardcover)
Being a more 'traditional textile worker' I was apprehensive about this buy, but it is truly inspirational and definately makes me 'step out of my little box'! I have recently invested in a machine embellisher and the ideas in this book have really helped that aspect of my creativity. Having met Sarah a couple of times it is so sad that this is a one only, it is just the tip of an iceberg in terms of her creative ideas, so sad. rip
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Truly Sumptous Book, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stitch, Cloth, Shimmer & Shine (Hardcover)
Another beautifully crafted book by Sarah Lawrence.
A must have! The moment I re- viewed, a pre-view on amazon then purchased hot off the press (Autumn 2012: just doing reviews).

The art work, photographic images and detailed information are presented on high, quality, glossy paper throughout which help to make Ms Lawrence's work attainable to all.

So, while looking through Ms Lawrence's website early December 2012 (re- a booking): it was with great sadness to discover her untimely death.

She was a beautiful, caring and multi talented artist that will be greatly missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a try, 7 Mar 2013
By 
Y. K. Autie (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stitch, Cloth, Shimmer & Shine (Hardcover)
This expands on the use of all things that glitter & used in moderation will add a new dimension to textiles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I was looking for., 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stitch, Cloth, Shimmer & Shine (Hardcover)
This book helps me develop my work, I have found it very stimulating. It will definitely be used a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sparkling ideas, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stitch, Cloth, Shimmer & Shine (Hardcover)
Great book with very clear pictures and good instruction and great photo illustrations. Great addition to others in the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stitch, Cloth, Shimmer & Shine
Stitch, Cloth, Shimmer & Shine by Sarah Lawrence (Hardcover - 28 Feb 2012)
£12.79
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews