Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book
A great book for total beginners like me. There are step by step instructions and a useful description of all the basic tools and what they are for without being too long winded. Illustrations are beautiful and give you something to aspire to. Very reasonably priced too. Really pleased I bought this.
Published on 31 Jan 2012 by mandy2147

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A bit on the thin side.
Ok this book has 62 pages. It doesn't start to get to the step by step projects until page 40! And there's only 3.
After the author goes on about materials,paint,brushes,pallet knifes,surfaces and other material he then goes on about tone and colour,the colour wheel,colour relationships then mixing paint,sketching and finally composition. This all took up 18 pages...
Published 21 months ago by Tara


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A bit on the thin side., 28 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flowers in Acrylics (How to Paint) (Paperback)
Ok this book has 62 pages. It doesn't start to get to the step by step projects until page 40! And there's only 3.
After the author goes on about materials,paint,brushes,pallet knifes,surfaces and other material he then goes on about tone and colour,the colour wheel,colour relationships then mixing paint,sketching and finally composition. This all took up 18 pages not including intro! I think this was a lazy way to bulk out a book. This information is ok if it's for total beginners but I wish they would advise that it's for the clueless that don't know already about the basics,materials and tools.I give it 2 stars because the 3 projects are nice colourful paitings. But all in all very disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 31 Jan 2012
This review is from: Flowers in Acrylics (How to Paint) (Paperback)
A great book for total beginners like me. There are step by step instructions and a useful description of all the basic tools and what they are for without being too long winded. Illustrations are beautiful and give you something to aspire to. Very reasonably priced too. Really pleased I bought this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Something different, 12 Feb 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flowers in Acrylics (How to Paint) (Paperback)
I like this little book, different to the others in his approach which is to make the base colour work for you, which I have been vaguely doing for some time, and I recently noticed in one of Leonardo da Vinci's unfinished pictures, he does the same. It is quite a bold masculine approach, but effective. Thank goodness he uses his own ideas not using a mix of those of others. Good to have on the bookshelf for a day when one feels adventurous;
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars exploring acrylics, 22 Dec 2011
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Flowers in Acrylics (How to Paint) (Paperback)
Explore the versatile medium of acrylics and the ways in which they can be used to create flower portraits. This vibrant book will help you understand the unique properties of acrylics as a medium. You'll find information on sketching and composition, mixing paints and more. There are three step by step demonstrations. Working from a tonal sketch, wild roses are painted with a palette knife. Each area is allowed to dry before applying more colour. Field of Dreams shows the technique of quickly laying down background colour, mixing with the palette knife as you paint. Black-eyed Susans (Rudbeckia) is painted using a brush, painting wet into wet. Clear instructions and photographs provide thorough guidance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very nice, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flowers in Acrylics (How to Paint) (Paperback)
Has many inspirational possibilities if you are into flowers :-) Easy to learn from and to try out the exercises.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars review of this product, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flowers in Acrylics (How to Paint) (Paperback)
I found the book very interesting, and beneficial for my art studies.A good variety of techniques explained, and the pictures were very helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Flowers in Acrylics (How to Paint)
Flowers in Acrylics (How to Paint) by Fisher (Paperback - 16 Dec 2011)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews