Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good illustrations and spiral bound
A friend at work has been trying to get me into cross-stitch and after a long search for cross-stitch kits that I like, didn't look too difficult and I could afford, I came across a kit for crewel embroidery. After researching more into the subject (including watching video's on YouTube) I came upon the theory that because it is a type of freestyle (you draw or iron on...
Published on 21 Feb 2012 by John Meanwood

versus
2 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not worth the ink
The book is badly laid out and very poorly written.

As for the pictures which were all blurred either that it could be all down to the printers machines ending up with the distortion of photos at the time of printing

Although I must say the fact I ended up throwing the book on the fire and the burning value did make some of the cost of the book less...
Published on 8 Dec 2011 by Marc & Jacqui


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good illustrations and spiral bound, 21 Feb 2012
By 
John Meanwood (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crewelwork (Essential Stitch Guide) (Essential Stitch Guides) (Hardcover)
A friend at work has been trying to get me into cross-stitch and after a long search for cross-stitch kits that I like, didn't look too difficult and I could afford, I came across a kit for crewel embroidery. After researching more into the subject (including watching video's on YouTube) I came upon the theory that because it is a type of freestyle (you draw or iron on your own patterns and can stitch how you like in whatever colour you wish), it is easier to do than cross-stitch and the results are better (ie no jagged edges).

The book covers everything from fabric, needles, threads, frames, hoops etc to designing your patterns and doing the stitches, giving examples of 39 different stitches you can use to outline and fill the patterns. It is spiral bound, so it will lay open on the sofa while you stitch. Short of having Jacqui Mcdonald sat across from you as you work, I don't think you could do better that buy this book.

I would also recommend The Embroidery Stitch Bible which has an illustration and how to do guide for every stitch you will ever need (over 200), which you can use around the edge of your work and a Easy Clip Tapestry Frame - 9" x 6" because a hoop can crease the linen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crewelwork, 18 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crewelwork (Essential Stitch Guide) (Essential Stitch Guides) (Hardcover)
Firstly, I couldn't believe how quickly the book arrived. Secondly what a charming and inspirational book. It was perfect with the spiral bind so the pages can stay open whilst you are working. I really enjoyed the pictures, the colours it was a pleasure to read. I should imagine even if you had never concerned yourself with any Crewelwork before, upon reading this book you would think "I might give this a try". The only criticsm is that I wish it had been available years ago !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 6. If you do ,or want to start doing crewel work buy this book., 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crewelwork (Essential Stitch Guide) (Essential Stitch Guides) (Hardcover)
Fabulous!
I f you are new to crewel embroidery or want to improve your range and accuracy of stitching, this is the book for you.
This little book is perfect in every way.
With my first ever piece of crewel work, this book has enabled me to, master all the stitches in the book. I was amazed at how quickly I was able to execute the stitches with accuracy and confidence.
1. written by the most expert in crewel work in the country
2. the instructions are precise , concise, perfectly executed
3. beautifully illustrated
4. bound on a spiral ring with hard cover, so that the page you require will stay open and flat, while you refer to it as you work
5. It takes you through design. I for one will never buy another iron on pattern.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Essential!, 18 Feb 2012
This review is from: Crewelwork (Essential Stitch Guide) (Essential Stitch Guides) (Hardcover)
As the title suggests, I have found this an 'essential' stitch guide. The clear illustrations are easy to follow and as a beginner, I have referred to this book regularly to perfect my stitching. With the author's links to the RSN, I am confident I am learning from the best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First rate, 22 Feb 2014
By 
Gilly "Gilly" (Belper, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crewelwork (Essential Stitch Guide) (Essential Stitch Guides) (Hardcover)
This has proved to be an excellent 'how too book.' I found the explanations and diagrams to be better than many in more expensive volumes. The author shows not only a very clear understanding of Crewelwork but a real skill in putting the techniques across to the reader. I would certainly feel very confident in recommending this book to both the experienced and beginner in this technique.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crewelwork - A superb book, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crewelwork (Essential Stitch Guide) (Essential Stitch Guides) (Hardcover)
An excellent book. Clear, straightforward instructions, for beginner or expert alike. Beautifully illustrated. The spiral binding enables it be 'open' whilst stitching is in progress, therefore allowing the embroiderer to follow easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love ,love it, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crewelwork (Essential Stitch Guide) (Essential Stitch Guides) (Hardcover)
This book is beautiful,intrustions very easy to follow, both picturial and written,designs stunning,clear to see,. Would buy from this writer and seller again in a heart behavethers have
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Embroidery, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crewelwork (Essential Stitch Guide) (Essential Stitch Guides) (Hardcover)
Given to a friend who does a lot of crewel work. She does, however, forget from time to time how to do a particular stitch. She tells me that this book produced by The Royal School of Embroidery is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars crewelwork, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crewelwork (Essential Stitch Guide) (Essential Stitch Guides) (Hardcover)
a very useful book to have for reference and many ideas and projects to help design and learn the skill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 17 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crewelwork (Essential Stitch Guide) (Essential Stitch Guides) (Hardcover)
The RSN books are all amazing. They contain full, detailed, clear instructions on how to execute the stitches with fantastic illustrations of their amazing work. The books are also designed to open flat and stay put so that you can still see the instructions while you have both hands occupied with the embroidery. If you can't afford one of their courses, their books are the next best thing. I shall soon have full set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crewelwork (Essential Stitch Guide) (Essential Stitch Guides)
Crewelwork (Essential Stitch Guide) (Essential Stitch Guides) by Jacqui McDonald (Hardcover - 6 Oct 2010)
7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews