Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little book
This is a great little book with lots of small patterns for using either on greetings cards, to decorate items such as bookmarks or aprons or to put together as a sampler.
Fantastic value for money at hardly more than the cover price of one of the cross stitch magazines out there.
Published 19 months ago by Sheila Lawrence

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Asked for refund
It is a comprehensive book if you want a lot of careers / collections of different types of work, vegetables, some animals. There are some good border designs also. However, most of the patterns are not show as an actual image - which is something I like to have. Its quite thick and heavy, and doesn't lay open very well. If you're looking for a little book with a lot of...
Published 4 months ago by Marisa Peek


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little book, 11 Dec 2012
By 
Sheila Lawrence (Preston, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1000 Cross Stitch Motifs (Paperback)
This is a great little book with lots of small patterns for using either on greetings cards, to decorate items such as bookmarks or aprons or to put together as a sampler.
Fantastic value for money at hardly more than the cover price of one of the cross stitch magazines out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Asked for refund, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1000 Cross Stitch Motifs (Paperback)
It is a comprehensive book if you want a lot of careers / collections of different types of work, vegetables, some animals. There are some good border designs also. However, most of the patterns are not show as an actual image - which is something I like to have. Its quite thick and heavy, and doesn't lay open very well. If you're looking for a little book with a lot of separate bits to combine and you don't mind not seeing an actual image of what you'll be trying to sew, then this is probably not a bad choice. Not for me due to format, lack of actual sewn illustrations, and range of designs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Book, 28 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1000 Cross Stitch Motifs (Paperback)
I just got this little book and already I can't wait to start the designs in it. It is packed full of little and bigger designs, so worth the money that I paid for it.

I'll try and be more descriptive, it has the usual instructions in the beginning including recommended laundry tips, (which I was interested in myself). The rest of the book is a library of designs, there are some bigger designs that could be stand alone pieces otherwise you can mix and match or just use them for card making, which this book would be great inspiration for anyone into that. The patterns themselves are beautifully done in colour with an Aida background pattern.

All in all I am so pleased with this purchase would recommend it to anyone getting into or already into cross stitch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great cross stich reference, 13 Nov 2011
This review is from: 1000 Cross Stitch Motifs (Paperback)
A great reference book for those wanting to branch out from cross-stich kits. I love way the motifs are ordered making it easy to locate what you want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Book, 11 Sep 2011
This review is from: 1000 Cross Stitch Motifs (Paperback)
This is an excellent cross stitch book with some lovely designs in. Instructions how to make a sampler are there. I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 1000 Cross Stitch Motifs, 1 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1000 Cross Stitch Motifs (Paperback)
Another excellent book for cross stitch enthusiasts. Worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent source material but not for the first timer, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1000 Cross Stitch Motifs (Paperback)
This book contains a very impressive amount of source material with a huge range of subjects. Great if you want small designs to represent world cultures (Egyptian, American, African, Indian, oriental, Celtic etc). There are also many abstract borders, repeat background patterns, bands of all widths, alphabets and numbers. There are chapters for historical eras such as Elizabethan and the 60s which is unusual for this type of book. There is, of course the usual range of kids motifs and flora and fauna which are nice if lack subtlety and detail.
There are stand out sections on Celtic knots and geometric motifs, if that's what you're into, but the images of people are crude. There is heavy emphasis on lovely flowers, fruit, veg, insects, birds and even fish but surprisingly few animals and pets...just to note. (There are two pages of grapes but not a single horse.?!)

It is a small, thick and heavy book which has its pros and cons. It doesn't take up much space if you want to take it around with you but you have to struggle to make it lay open for you. Be prepared to deform the spine, but it's sturdy enough to do that.
There is a useful index of the motifs arranged by subject and SIZE. Thoughtful. They reference the thread colours used by using their own numbers throughout the book and cross referencing them at the end with BOTH anchor and DMC.

The HUGE drawback about this book for me is the unusual method of actually displaying the designs on the page. There is the usual grid of squares, here divided heavily into 5 by 5 instead of the usual 10 by 10, but instead of clearly printing coloured or symbol block squares, they have chosen to actually draw in a little cross on every single square. I have never seen this before and unless you are doing one of the very smallest and simplest designs, it makes counting a chore. I do not find this a clear way to display a cross stitch pattern. It's a shame as otherwise it IS a great book. I would say you need patience and good vision to get the most out of this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Present, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1000 Cross Stitch Motifs (Paperback)
I brought this my mom for her birthday and she loves to cross stitch and there is so many i'm sure she wont get bored anytime soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1000 Cross Stitch Motifs (Paperback)
I love doing Cross Stitch and wanted a book with lots of designs for me to try. This book has lots of easy designs to do for all occasions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 1000 Cross Stitch Motifs, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1000 Cross Stitch Motifs (Paperback)
A useful tool for finding "just the right" pattern for a special occasion card and the borders are extremely useful, giving any card a truly finished look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

1000 Cross Stitch Motifs
1000 Cross Stitch Motifs by Jan Eaton (Paperback - 14 Oct 2009)
7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews