Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars162
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 March 2010
After weeks of trying to find somewhere to purchase "The Crochet Stitch Bible" by Betty Barnden ( The Crochet Stitch Bible ) I came across this book, which is actually a reprint of the above mentioned book, at a fraction of the price! It is identical to the Crochet Stitch Bible except that it is not spiral bound! It contains so much information regarding crochet and stitches and is a major companion for anyone who is interested in learning crochet or wants to move ahead and try new stitches and designs. Hope this helps XxX
33 comments109 of 109 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2011
I was looking for a book which would not only show me crochet techniques but also give me a library of stitches from which to chose. This book certainly fills the bill and would suit both beginners and the more experienced. The instructions, given in both written form and chart, are extremely clear, as are the illustrations. I can't imagine ever needing another crochet 'bible'.
0Comment23 of 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2010
I had 3 other books from the library but I couldn't work out how to crochet. I looked at several books in a craft shop and the pictures in this one helped me the most. It does not use jargon straight away like many other 'simple' books and the layout is simple and easy to follow. It really did teach me to crochet!
0Comment64 of 66 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2012
I've been a knitter for nearly 50 years, I remember knitting a coat hanger cover at school when I was 5 (not exactly an essential life skill but there you go) but only started learning crochet last year. I have made the usual granny square cushion covers and blankets and decided I wanted to branch out and make a cover for a circular cushion. I know it isn't exactly rocket science, but it was difficult to work out how to get started so I had a look on Amazon for a suitable book.
I found exactly what I wanted with this book. It isn't too big, so is really easy to carry around, but is full of great stitches. It does have the basics for people learning from scratch, but I wouldn't recommend it for a beginner as there are better books such as Crochet Unravelled or one of the books by Sue Whiting for people just starting out. I've also got The Encyclopaedia of Crochet Techniques by Jan Eaton which would be OK for the basics and is worth considering, but if you have mastered the basics and want to get more creative this book is for you. Its main section is a collection of stitches that can be used in your projects. It gives instructions for the basic stitch pattern, which you then incorporate into the project you want to make. It is well laid out and the various stitches are clearly photographed and easy to find.
You'll be delighted to know I used the "Wheel Circle" on page 214 as the basis for my circular cushion cover and it has worked out beautifully. I am already leafing through the pages working out what I am going to tackle next.
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2012
This is a great little book, I am just learning to crochet and this book starts at the very basic and moves through to all the other patterns and stitches you can create once confidence grows. It also has a handy key on every page for the crochet symnols which is very useful as the patterns for crochet can often look like a whole new language of its own!
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2010
Somewhat rusty, I've got hooked on crochet again... just a basic Old American Square blanket as a simple summer hol project, but having binned some disintegrating 1980s craft books (but saved a few complex old patterns) I bought this book to refresh my memory, along with some wool, before I tackle a complex fine thread pattern again. It comes back (like riding a bike) and is somewhat addictive! Great handbook, lots of choice, clear instructions, and some attractive patterns I have never tackled before.
11 comment25 of 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2011
This is a good book for both the beginner and the more experienced crocheter. The book starts with information on different types of yarn and hooks, including a useful chart which shows the different sizes in UK and US terms. This is followed by instructions for different stitches and helpfully includes the chart symbol for each.

The majority of the book is taken up by written and chart instructions for more than 200 stitches. Cleverly, the stitches are separated into chapters based on stitch type: "basic" "textured" "fan and shell" and so on. And a different brightly coloured yarn is used in each chapter.

I have already completed a beautiful alpaca/silk blend purple scarf using one of the stitches - and have received many compliments!
11 comment24 of 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2011
I learnt to do the basic stitches years ago but never really made anything.
Now I wanted to remind myself and practise some stitches to lead onto maybe making something.
There are very clear instructions on how to do all the basic stitches, hook types, yarns etc.
The rest of the book is photographs of different patterns made using the basic stitches also with full instructions.
This would be useful if you wanted to design your own garments and use different patterns.
It's a pretty to look at book and useful for reference and practise.
0Comment14 of 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2012
It's a small pocket sized book, packed with the details you need to teach yourself basic crochet and to learn a wide variety of new stitches and effects you can use. I've been crocheting for just 8 weeks and hadn't picked up a hook before, but I followed the directions and diagrams and managed nicely. Now I try new stitches and return to it regularly for technical information.

The really good thing is that the book isn't padded with those grim unfashionable patterns for tank tops and 'accessories' nobody would be seen dead in. Forget 1970s hats, drippy shawls, kettle holders and those nasty blankets made of little squares. You really don't have to make all that rubbish, even as learner.

This book gives you the fundamentals of crochet as a craft, but none of the stuff you don't. Once you have these basic techniques, the creative stuff is up to you!
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2010
Of all the crochet books i've seen, i would definately recommend this one! This book was so helpful! there are pages and pages of crochet stitches - each with sample images, patterns and easy to follow instructions. The book also has an intro to show all the different stitches so if you get stuck doing one pattern, you can refer back to the intro. Also has a selection of crochet trims to learn and instruction on how to change colour yarn etc. Great book!! Didn't think i could ever learn how to crochet, but I've done it!

I'm not sure how helpful this is to a more advanced knitter but there are many fantastic stitches and a great reference book.
0Comment38 of 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse