Customer Reviews


110 Reviews
5 star:
 (83)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


89 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have you been looking for "The Crochet Stitch Bible?... Look no more!
After weeks of trying to find somewhere to purchase "The Crochet Stitch Bible" by Betty Barnden ( The Crochet Stitch Bible ) I came across this book, which is actually a reprint of the above mentioned book, at a fraction of the price! It is identical to the Crochet Stitch Bible except that it is not spiral bound! It contains so much information regarding crochet and...
Published on 18 Mar 2010 by Myeika Faith

versus
39 of 54 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Can cause confusion...
I used to be quite a good crocheter, being able to design my own items and pretty much do everything I needed to do. Having decided to take it up again, after more than 20 years, I thought this looked like a really good option as I could get a quick refresher course of everything I might need to know and get straight back into complex patterns, but it is just odd and...
Published on 5 Jan 2012 by E. Palmer


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

89 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have you been looking for "The Crochet Stitch Bible?... Look no more!, 18 Mar 2010
This review is from: The Essential Handbook of Crochet Stitches (Paperback)
After weeks of trying to find somewhere to purchase "The Crochet Stitch Bible" by Betty Barnden ( The Crochet Stitch Bible ) I came across this book, which is actually a reprint of the above mentioned book, at a fraction of the price! It is identical to the Crochet Stitch Bible except that it is not spiral bound! It contains so much information regarding crochet and stitches and is a major companion for anyone who is interested in learning crochet or wants to move ahead and try new stitches and designs. Hope this helps XxX
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I finally learned!, 10 Mar 2010
This review is from: The Essential Handbook of Crochet Stitches (Paperback)
I had 3 other books from the library but I couldn't work out how to crochet. I looked at several books in a craft shop and the pictures in this one helped me the most. It does not use jargon straight away like many other 'simple' books and the layout is simple and easy to follow. It really did teach me to crochet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars highly recommend!, 11 Sep 2010
This review is from: The Essential Handbook of Crochet Stitches (Paperback)
Of all the crochet books i've seen, i would definately recommend this one! This book was so helpful! there are pages and pages of crochet stitches - each with sample images, patterns and easy to follow instructions. The book also has an intro to show all the different stitches so if you get stuck doing one pattern, you can refer back to the intro. Also has a selection of crochet trims to learn and instruction on how to change colour yarn etc. Great book!! Didn't think i could ever learn how to crochet, but I've done it!

I'm not sure how helpful this is to a more advanced knitter but there are many fantastic stitches and a great reference book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational!, 6 Jan 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Handbook of Crochet Stitches (Paperback)
This is a good book for both the beginner and the more experienced crocheter. The book starts with information on different types of yarn and hooks, including a useful chart which shows the different sizes in UK and US terms. This is followed by instructions for different stitches and helpfully includes the chart symbol for each.

The majority of the book is taken up by written and chart instructions for more than 200 stitches. Cleverly, the stitches are separated into chapters based on stitch type: "basic" "textured" "fan and shell" and so on. And a different brightly coloured yarn is used in each chapter.

I have already completed a beautiful alpaca/silk blend purple scarf using one of the stitches - and have received many compliments!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hooked again!, 19 Aug 2010
By 
Reader, Southampton UK (Southampton, Hants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Essential Handbook of Crochet Stitches (Paperback)
Somewhat rusty, I've got hooked on crochet again... just a basic Old American Square blanket as a simple summer hol project, but having binned some disintegrating 1980s craft books (but saved a few complex old patterns) I bought this book to refresh my memory, along with some wool, before I tackle a complex fine thread pattern again. It comes back (like riding a bike) and is somewhat addictive! Great handbook, lots of choice, clear instructions, and some attractive patterns I have never tackled before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you need to know, 22 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Essential Handbook of Crochet Stitches (Paperback)
I was looking for a book which would not only show me crochet techniques but also give me a library of stitches from which to chose. This book certainly fills the bill and would suit both beginners and the more experienced. The instructions, given in both written form and chart, are extremely clear, as are the illustrations. I can't imagine ever needing another crochet 'bible'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and helpful, 13 Mar 2012
By 
Mrs. J. Holliday "Jo H" (Dorset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Handbook of Crochet Stitches (Paperback)
This is a great little book, I am just learning to crochet and this book starts at the very basic and moves through to all the other patterns and stitches you can create once confidence grows. It also has a handy key on every page for the crochet symnols which is very useful as the patterns for crochet can often look like a whole new language of its own!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Essential Handbook of Crochet Stitches, 25 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: The Essential Handbook of Crochet Stitches (Paperback)
This book is a must for lovers of crochet who want to learn more stitches.
Photo's are excellant and the explainations are easy to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beginner crochet, 16 Feb 2011
By 
Mrs. J. Shelley (UK Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Essential Handbook of Crochet Stitches (Paperback)
I learnt to do the basic stitches years ago but never really made anything.
Now I wanted to remind myself and practise some stitches to lead onto maybe making something.
There are very clear instructions on how to do all the basic stitches, hook types, yarns etc.
The rest of the book is photographs of different patterns made using the basic stitches also with full instructions.
This would be useful if you wanted to design your own garments and use different patterns.
It's a pretty to look at book and useful for reference and practise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great!, 25 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Essential Handbook of Crochet Stitches (Paperback)
This is a really good book, I m a self-taught crocheter who doesn't particularly like to follow patterns from A to Z, but much rather design my projects and choose the types of stitches etc.. And this book is definitely a must-have, showing and explaining very clearly the great variety of stitches, edgings and shapes to choose from, inspiring you to want to do so much!! Very well laid out, well targeted chapters, clear photographs.. The only things it could be improved on, to my opinion, could be a larger format, and also an idea of the measurements or scales on the photographs, I felt some motifs look small in the book, but once swatched they turn out to be much larger and are only suited for large projects to get the effect of the repeats. A scale placed on the photos would perhaps make it easier to grasp the effects straight away, making it easier to pick and choose motifs.. But again, a fantastic book, and I wouldn't give it back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Essential Handbook of Crochet Stitches
The Essential Handbook of Crochet Stitches by Betty Barnden (Paperback - 14 Oct 2009)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews