Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terry's Top Tips for Acrylic Artists
This is a handy little book to have next to you when painting, It takes up very little space. The spiral binding allows the book to lay flat, so you don't have to weight the pages down. There are so many good tips to help achieve the desired effect on different subjects. Techniques include, getting glazes to work and using additives to give rough textures.
Painting...
Published on 3 Mar 2010 by Chique

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok
Not great, but ok, has some useful tips if you are new to acrylic painting. But not particularly inspiring. I find the paintings a little too "homely" for my liking, but that is a matter of taste.
Published 10 months ago by Susanne


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terry's Top Tips for Acrylic Artists, 3 Mar 2010
By 
Chique (Norfolk UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Terry's Top Tips for Acrylic Artists (Hardcover)
This is a handy little book to have next to you when painting, It takes up very little space. The spiral binding allows the book to lay flat, so you don't have to weight the pages down. There are so many good tips to help achieve the desired effect on different subjects. Techniques include, getting glazes to work and using additives to give rough textures.
Painting in the style of watercolour/oils/impasto, using items other than brushes to apply paint. It is broken down into easy to follow sections and, if you let it, stirs the creative mind to come up with more ideas. Acrylics are so versatile and can be used in so many ways and these tips help the artist to experiment and take their work to a different level.
Acrylics beg to be experimented with, so I found this book very helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoughtrs of a beginner, 25 April 2010
This review is from: Terry's Top Tips for Acrylic Artists (Hardcover)
This is an excellent piece of work by a very good artist and a very useful item to add to a beginner's library. Terry shares some very useful hints especially for the landscape artist, they can also be used in the creation of other paintings. A good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical advice, 24 Nov 2010
This review is from: Terry's Top Tips for Acrylic Artists (Hardcover)
A very practical, hands-on approach to using acrylics in which Terry Harrison shares easy-to-apply tips under clear headings. A useful book both for those who are already familiar with the medium and those just starting to experiment with it. Well illustrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little book, 10 Feb 2012
By 
Jjburrows "Jac" (Wales-Gwent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terry's Top Tips for Acrylic Artists (Hardcover)
Very practical with lots of handy tips. I bought his watercolour book after this and will buy more in the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Painting for beginners, 2 Aug 2011
This review is from: Terry's Top Tips for Acrylic Artists (Hardcover)
Terry's Top Tips for Acrylic Artiists .

I am no artist my first efforts were like a childs work .
no, more like a monkey's .
But after applying terry's Tips, I had improved enough for my
wife to like them !!!!!!!. I am sure with practisce there will be further improvement.
I may never become as good as Terry , but the time spent painting was relaxing .
and if you have an illness I think it helps you to cope or recover quicker.
Your mind becomes focus on your subject , and you start to feel a part of it .
an interest part is finding the right mix of paint , Who has ever seen a pink tree ??

Terr's Top Tips have been helpful in many ways .

Thank's Terry and Amozon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars acrylic painting books, 29 Jun 2011
This review is from: Terry's Top Tips for Acrylic Artists (Hardcover)
As a person who is a complete novice at acrylic painting, I wanted a cheap practical book on that subject. This book is just that, it tells you what to buy to get you started. I especially liked the suggestion to buy a wet pallet which keeps my paints fresh for weeks. The book is not a huge glossy tome with fancy illustrations but helped me in a practical way such as how to paint sea and sky. I may not be a brilliant artist but I can reccomend painting as a wonderful way to relax and this book as a good companion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good basic book for beginners, 8 Mar 2012
By 
Patricia Graves "beekeeper" (Bootle, Merseyside, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Terry's Top Tips for Acrylic Artists (Hardcover)
I teach an adult art class for beginners and those coming back to learning after a break. This book gives good information on materials needed to start acrylic painting and also good photographs and instructions on how to achieve a good result. I would recommend this book to anyone starting off. The spiral binding enable the painter to lay the book down and refer to it with ease. Terry also does a top tips for watercolour too and this is also a good basis to try out watercolours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars help for would be artists, 10 Jan 2012
By 
S. Farley (warwickshire england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terry's Top Tips for Acrylic Artists (Hardcover)
great little book with spiral binding so stays nice and flat at the page you want! very useful tips for artists using oil as well as acrylic paints plenty of nice plates too. all in all well worth looking at if you like hints and ideas.thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the Job, 15 Aug 2011
This review is from: Terry's Top Tips for Acrylic Artists (Hardcover)
Having never painted with acrylics before I needed a book to give me some ideas into what I needed and where to start - this book I found excellent - "just the job"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Terry's TopTop Tips, 17 Sep 2011
By 
Mike "ulmar" (Ulster, Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terry's Top Tips for Acrylic Artists (Hardcover)
Excellent book for aspiring acrylic artists. Especially so for a beginner it deals with all of the questions just how far to push, what's possible and how to get started. Thoroughly recommended Mike
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Terry's Top Tips for Acrylic Artists
Terry's Top Tips for Acrylic Artists by Terry Harrison (Hardcover - 12 Feb 2010)
£7.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews