Customer Reviews


261 Reviews
5 star:
 (201)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


179 of 181 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Should say Flowers to Crochet and Knit
This is a lovely book and yes the finished results really do look like flowers.
I would give it 5 stars for the look of the book alone except the title implies more knit than crochet and if you do not crochet you might be disappointed, or you might try to learn!
There are 41 pages of crochet work but only 18 of knitted patterns. Also all the crochet patterns are...
Published on 6 Feb 2009 by JY

versus
55 of 58 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All that glitters....
Hi all,

yes this book is a visual feast, it does not fail to inspire or showcase the amazing things that can be achieved using crochet or knitting.

However, unless you are very experienced I think you, like me, may find this book a little too advanced.

In order to use it I have had to have several books aimed at all three levels balanced...
Published on 11 Nov 2009 by Sashimi_Rose


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

179 of 181 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Should say Flowers to Crochet and Knit, 6 Feb 2009
By 
JY (Swindon UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Flowers to Knit and Crochet (Paperback)
This is a lovely book and yes the finished results really do look like flowers.
I would give it 5 stars for the look of the book alone except the title implies more knit than crochet and if you do not crochet you might be disappointed, or you might try to learn!
There are 41 pages of crochet work but only 18 of knitted patterns. Also all the crochet patterns are charted but there are no charts for the knitted ones.
The most amusing patterns are the carrots and peas hidden among the flowers!
There are 20 pages of colour pictures of the flowers plus 2 of leaves and 2 of fruit and vegetables plus a few pages on techniques and equipment at the beginning and 12 pages of project ideas at the end.
Overall it is beautifully laid out, well photographed and enjoyable to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


130 of 133 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST Book on Knitted & Crocheted Flowers you can buy!, 3 Feb 2009
This review is from: 100 Flowers to Knit and Crochet (Paperback)
This book is absolutely BRILLIANT. (I have previously bought both Nicky Epstein's Knitted Flowers & Crochet Flowers books - but they don't come close to this beautiful book). The patterns are better - they REALLY DO LOOK LIKE THE FLOWERS THEY ARE SUPPOSED TO BE - the layout is more attractive & the classification into skill levels for both knit & craft is really well thought out.
Another thing which is great is that Lesley classifies the wool required for each flower by colour & yarn type ('4-ply', DK wool, tapestry wool & embroidery silk) rather than by supplier & shade ref. - so you really feel that you can go rummaging in your very own wool stash to make these beautiful items, rather than having to buy new yarn.
If you are stuck about which book to buy on the subject - trust me - you won't regret buying this book!(I have already bought a copy for a friend & she loved it too)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


76 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW - what can I say? The best knitting/crochet book I own, 17 Jan 2009
This review is from: 100 Flowers to Knit and Crochet (Paperback)
I saw this book in my local yarn shop and couldn't resist. I am so glad I didn't resist.

There are more flowers in this book than any I have ever seen. Because the content is so specific, you get a fabulously comprehensive collection of patterns. Each beautifully made creation in the book is inspiring, with an index and recommendations on how difficult each one is.

The content is split about half and half between knitting and crochet, so it is well worth buying even if you only practise one type. There is also a section at the back with suggested projects for your creations.

I have been knitting for a couple of years, and started crochet last month. I would not rely on the book to provide an absolute beginner's introduction to either craft, but as a follow on book for someone looking for inspiration, this is second to none.

For 10.99, this was exceptionally good value, with 100 unique designs. I will definitely look for more books by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 58 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All that glitters...., 11 Nov 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Flowers to Knit and Crochet (Paperback)
Hi all,

yes this book is a visual feast, it does not fail to inspire or showcase the amazing things that can be achieved using crochet or knitting.

However, unless you are very experienced I think you, like me, may find this book a little too advanced.

In order to use it I have had to have several books aimed at all three levels balanced around to help me!

I would recommend this book- for inspiration
- if you are experienced/skilled
- as a super coffee table book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your search for realistic flower patterns ends here, 6 April 2009
By 
Crafty Minx (North Somerset, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 100 Flowers to Knit and Crochet (Paperback)
It's quite easy to find "made-up" flower patterns, but if you want to make something that looks like an actual flower of a particular kind this is the book you need. I'm particularly fond of the pansy. Not for the real beginner as some skill and understanding of instructions is required, but the results are well worth the effort. I think the results are better if you use a small hook and fine yarn, then they really do look like the real thing and make up into very pretty bouquets. Done with embroidery silk they also make beautiful embellishments. I would thoroughly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars knit and crochet......... must buy book, 16 April 2009
This review is from: 100 Flowers to Knit and Crochet (Paperback)
The flowers in this book are the best I've seen. Really beautiful.
The instructions are easy to follow, although not reccommended for a complete beginner. They are great quick, easy and portable projects.
The instructions are deliberately are vague about yarn and needle/hook size which enables you to just get out what wool or threads you have to hand.........no need to worry about tension, you'll just get bigger or smaller flowers.
There is a fairly even mix of crochet and knit patterns( the crochet patterns take up more pages mainly because of the charts)
There is a beautiful gallery of designs. My criticism is that it doesn't say in the gallery whether the design is knitted or crocheted.There are crocheted and knitted roses, leaves, butterflies, chrysanthemums and sunflowers but most flower designs have either knitted or crochet instructions, not both.
I bought the book because I wanted to crochet but fell in love with some of the knitted designs and have done both
Don't buy the book for the projects (the only disappointing part of the book).........with one exception "winter scarf" every reader will think of better ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loads of flowers and veg too, 8 Feb 2009
By 
G. Burrell "Gillybee" (Southend-on-Sea, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Flowers to Knit and Crochet (Paperback)
This is a beautiful book. Well illustrated with both written and schematic diagrams (for the crochet ones). The flowers are gorgeous I can't wait to make some. The cover gives you a good idea of what is inside Can't praise it enough! Get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 42 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mixed signals, 18 Jan 2011
By 
Z. Herbert "solaan" (Bedfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Flowers to Knit and Crochet (Paperback)
I saw so many five-star reviews for this book I thought I must be missing something wonderful.

I was very surprised to find that in the crochet section Ms Stanfield does not keep to one kind of abbreviation for her written instructions. American crochet terms differ from those used in UK and unless there is a national flag at the top of each design to show which terms are employed, following the patterns can get tricky. Page seventy-eight's patterns use American terms, so 'dc' means what a UK reader calls a treble crochet stitch ; page seventy-nine uses UK terms so that 'dc' means a 'double crochet' - a different stitch altogether. I've been crocheting for more years than I care to count but I had to look very carefully to get any sense out of this jumble.

The flowers are nicely photographed in colour and the layout of the pages looks neat. Altogether there are forty designs for knitted flowers, leaves, butterflies and vegetables and sixty designs for similar things in crochet. All of the items are shown first in colour, with a number that identifies each one in the instruction section of the book.The book closes with a chapter of ten projects but these are really just ten suggestions for where the flowers, etc, might be used. The first project, for example, is for a peg bag made from a linen tea-towel and a coat-hanger, embellished with a crochet daisy, but there are not any instructions for the making of the peg bag. There is a suggestion for how to fix the flower to the bag.

If you are a beginner you might have difficulty following both the written instructions and the diagrams for the crochet designs; the knitted ones only have written instructions. The flowers on the whole are rather heavy and lack grace. I hoped there would be a mixture of chunky flowers suitable for, say, winter hats or brooches and some lacy, delicate flowers as well. Even the designs for which fine cotton is recommended look thick and heavy-handed.

So, beginners beware. This is not a book I shall be using much, if at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Book rubbish instructions!, 3 Dec 2010
This review is from: 100 Flowers to Knit and Crochet (Paperback)
This book is laid out really well and has a good range of beautiful flowers and other quirky little designs. The downside is the instructions, they're not very clear, and the diagrams don't correspond with the written instructions all that well. it has instructions on how to do a couple of stitches and then abruptly stops. Therefore if you're a beginner I'd advise practising your stitches before buying this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely to look at, fairly easy to follow, 28 Dec 2010
By 
Karen Lane - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 100 Flowers to Knit and Crochet (Paperback)
Lovely illustrations, which made me want to make every flower (and leaf, fruit, vegetable and insect!) in the book. Although I'd say this isn't a book for beginners, there are some introductory instructions and tips, and the patterns are graded into basic, intermediate and advanced knitting and crochet designs. I started straight away on some advanced and intermediate patterns, and found them fairly easy to follow, so I should think the basic ones are even easier. My only quibble is with the indexing. The designs are shown and listed by pattern number rather than page, which is rather confusing: For example, design no.94 is on page 103. If you go to page 94 out of habit, as I did, you'll end up at design 83! Similar number clashes occur throughout the book. This frustration aside, I got some good results from following the instructions, and the patterns can easily be worked in various types and weights of yarns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

100 Flowers to Knit and Crochet
100 Flowers to Knit and Crochet by Lesley Stanfield (Paperback - 13 Jan 2009)
£3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews