Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
34
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Misc.|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

How to Draw Dogs
Oh Dear. If you're not already skilled and experienced as an artist then this book will be of little value to you. The finished painted images of the dogs are wonderful, but your instruction to get from a blank piece of paper to the end result are no more than three or four geometric shapes; circle for head and one or two more roughly sketched out shapes to represent the rest of the animal - that's it. Underneath these roughly hewn geometric shapes is a finished, painted masterpiece of how it should look with virtually no instructions of how to get there. I'm only just learning to draw and I have to say that this book was a complete waste of my money and, though not expensive, I would have been better off buying some charcoal or paper and attempting to draw dogs myself.
22 comments| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2013
i am very new to drawing and still at the very rubbish stage. however, this book is very easy to follow. i had several attempts and did in fact end up with a picture that does look like my sisters dog. i recommend this to all artists, especially the newbies, this book does work miracles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2013
I expected more as a lot of the content is from another book that I bought previously. I wouldn't have purchased this if I had known.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 7 January 2013
I bought this learn to draw book as a stocking filler for my daughter who loves to draw but couldnt seem to get it quite right! This book has proved invaluable to show the right perspective and with clear diagrams it is definately helping her to get more normal pictures now!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2013
For the person who wants to draw realistic dogs, gives basic shapes, and characteristics of some breeds, would have liked a better selection of dogs though, or even just their heads would have helped.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2013
I was dissappointed as it was a bit brief, didn't cover many breeds with different shapes and didn't have enough content.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2014
I love this book. After a long, long lapse without drawing anything (I'm a former art student), I ordered this book and have nothing but praise for Ms Hodge. What a clever lady she is. Positively inspirational. Thank you for bringing this book to my attention
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2015
Really good product. I enjoy art including drawing, I am not so grea at drawing animals so I bought this and is great and very clear as it is step by step how to draw dogs
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2011
This book is a christmas present so I do not know how well it will be received, however, it looks very good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2012
A nice book, very useful but also very thin. It didnt inspire me as much as I had hoped it would.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)