Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars43
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Quite good as it shows you how to do woodland scenes step-by-step. This book will be useful to two types of people: firstly for the absolute beginner who wants to get into watercolour - you don't need to be an expert at drawing because included in the book are 6 reusable pullout pages (of 5 different tree/woodland scenes) which can be traced directly onto your own paper/canvas. Secondly for the beginner or intermediete artist who won't be interested in the pullout scenes but will be able to apply the watercolour techniques and ideas to their own woodland paintings.

I've been drawing and painting for a few months now and my paintings have really benefited from the techniques shown in this book - something just as simple as layering colors can make all the difference and I wasn't really doing this much before. The five scenes shown are a nice varied selection including different types of trees and one useful snow scene. My only complaint is that there's no scene of a close-up tree or anything from too much of a distance - these would have been helpful additions. Nevertheless, everything is really accessible and simply shown so anyone can follow the ideas and apply them to their own work even on location. Highly recommended!
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2010
As a newcomer to watercolour painting, or any art at all for that matter, I was hoping for some tips and methods. I am really delighted with this excellent book. The traceable outlines are clear, with instructions for those of us who have forgotten how to trace (it's about 45 years since I did it!). The stage by stage instructions on the various colour mixes and methods are clear and comprehensive, enabling a complete beginner to get an excellent start and I am sure, a quite seasoned painter to improve. The various techniques are explained clearly and succinctly. When I showed one of my paintings to someone, they were surprised and impressed (so was I). I can thoroughly recommend this book to anyone who wants a better insight into creating 3-d landscapes in a variety of seasons. Excellent and thoroughly enjoyable.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2009
I just could not paint realistic looking trees until I used the exercises in this book! It has pull out tracings of the pictures so the trees are drawn out for you, and then step by step painting instructions. I completed all the exercises and now I can create my own pictures using the techniques I learnt. Highly recommended!
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2009
Bought for me by my husband. Lovely book, I especially like the fact that different aspects of the picture can be traced, not necessary to trace the whole item. Which helps to create your own paintings. Would recommend all books in this series.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2012
After a 35 year gap since I last painted in watercolours - this was bought as a gift to help me take that step back into painting.
Drawing is not a strength and the tracing are a big help and time saver. You can be confident of the outcome from the start as the perspective is sound. Also you do not need to do all of a tracing, just paint part of it. You can then mix and match images from a couple of tracing to make a completley new scene as well.
The step by step photo's of how to build up the paint washes and depth of colour is invaluable. The process and language used is clear and easily followed with good results that are a motivator to try another painting. The book covers the seasons of the year so you can also use one tracing and following the guidance from another painting totally change the paiting again. ie turn the spring image into an autumn image. This then means that you have a possible 20 paintings you could do!
The range of paint colours used is limited - so again if just starting out you do not need to buy a lot of paints or brushes. The detail of what you need, paper types, masking fluid etc is all explained at the start of the book which again is valuable.
I would strongly recommend anyone wanting to have a go at watercolours to try this book its a really good place to start as well as a good refresher for those who may have been painting for a little while.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2010
Most excellent reason to attempt and progress in Watercolour tree painting.Each demonstration is broken down into many, (yes lots and lots)of excellent detailed photographs.Copying one of the detail photographs is easy,informative and fun.A most excellent reason to encourage practice,and Inspire artists interested in capturing Trees and Woodlands in watercolours.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2010
I found this book very helpful and Geoff Kersey is my favouite artist with whom i get so much inspiration. The tracings thay accompany the book are easy to transfer to your watercolour paper and by following his clear instructions one can make a decent picture.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2014
Excellent book for beginner. Would be a good tool for small art club tuition. Nicely printed and easy to follow. Some lovely pictures to copy. - Geoff Kersey produces some excellent books and DVDs which are simple to follow. Thisi particular book helps the beginner to understand how to start painting trees and the use of colour.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2009
Very helpful, techniques shown clearly so a novice can make a decent attempt at trees, quite realistic or just an impression.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2009
This book was bought for the local amateur art club consisting of retired members....the book has caused great excitement as the difficult part of drawing trees and countryside is solved, and they can get on with the 'interesting' part of putting colour on paper.
So far there have been 6 paintings done, from the tracings provided.
Briliant idea, but not sure how long the tracings will last.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)