Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best for construction
Well presented book with good guidance to constructing various styles of book. Most of the ideas are based on using stamps or existing images, which could be adapted to make the books more personal. For something more 'creative' try Gwen Diehn's The Decorated Journal, the pair together are a good starting point for anyone interested in creating their own journal or books...
Published on 25 May 2010 by Snowy457

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decorative but not decorated books!
I was really looking forward to receiving this book but am a bit disappointed. The title is a bit misleading as it suggested to me that although it is meant to show how to make different books, you would also be shown lots of ways to decorate them too. The examples are not in great detail and the pictures are rather small to really appreciate. I should have realised that...
Published 4 months ago by Deb


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best for construction, 25 May 2010
This review is from: Handmade Decorative Books (Passion for Paper) (Paperback)
Well presented book with good guidance to constructing various styles of book. Most of the ideas are based on using stamps or existing images, which could be adapted to make the books more personal. For something more 'creative' try Gwen Diehn's The Decorated Journal, the pair together are a good starting point for anyone interested in creating their own journal or books as gifts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book filled with informative techniques, 4 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handmade Decorative Books (Passion for Paper) (Paperback)
This is a fantastic book. I have only very recently got into handmade books and I made my very first one at Christmas which turned out really well. This is a beautiful book full of great information and it details items and tools that will help you to make the perfect book. And if you are a crafter already, you will more than likely have all the tools and bits and pieces needed to start book making. And even if you are starting from scratch, the tools and items are not terribly expensive so to start the hobby off it is not going to cost you an arm and a leg. Although all the stamps, papers etc are listed, you can start off with just a few stamps and some papers with the necessary tools and see how you get on. In fact, if you prefer not to stamp, its perfectly fine to make a book without them and add your own designs and embellishments.

There are great photos detailing the binding techniques and the instructions are very concise and easy to follow. The book has 7 different book projects, but at the end of each project there is a page showing different books made with details of how they were made slightly different. There are also sewing guides/templates which are great for spacing the sewing of the spines.

The reason I gave it 4 stars rather than five is that, although it is a fantastically detailed and informative book with lovely projects, there are essentially only 7 projects (with the mentioned 2-3 further examples at the end of each section). I would have loved to have seen a few more projects. But other than that, this is a great wee book and is perfect for beginners and experts alike. The author is a very talented lady and I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good starting point., 11 April 2011
By 
Hazel Vicary "Hazel" (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handmade Decorative Books (Passion for Paper) (Paperback)
This is a very attractive little book with good clear instructions on how to do the featured projects. I do think that it would be disappointing to people who are already experienced in making decorative books and would be more appropriate for beginners. That said, I have enjoyed making several of the types of books featured and plan to try all of them in the near future. I would therefore happily recommend this book to people like me who are just starting out in this craft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Passion for paper, 6 July 2010
This review is from: Handmade Decorative Books (Passion for Paper) (Paperback)
I was looking for a book that would explain the finishing techniques and this did just that. A colourful and clear little book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Handmade decorative Books ( Passion for Paper ), 6 Aug. 2010
By 
Mrs. M. Moss - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Handmade Decorative Books (Passion for Paper) (Paperback)
An excellent resource book for Crafters, experienced or beginner. The book is well illustrated and has clear instructions. Very inspirational and 'doable' projects. This is yet another in the series of 'Passion for Paper' books I have in my collection of craft books and certainly didn't disappoint!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FAB!, 28 Mar. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handmade Decorative Books (Passion for Paper) (Paperback)
This is a super wonderful book! I ordered it because I liked the title and know of Sue Roddis' reputation having seen her feature in the Craft Stamper magazine. I was not disappointed in the slightest! Buy it if you have the time to make her books as I guarantee you will want to make at least 90% of them even if you do not make them exactly the same a Sue's!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars for beginners and experienced crafters alike, 22 Mar. 2010
By 
Mrs. E. Price "a very peculiar person" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Handmade Decorative Books (Passion for Paper) (Paperback)
a delightful book written by Sue Roddis, who writes for u.k. based craft magazines. well illustrated, great ideas to try and all achievable...I,ve already been inspired to make 2 books so far !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very inspirational, 1 Aug. 2010
By 
P. Morris "bookaholic" (Shropshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handmade Decorative Books (Passion for Paper) (Paperback)
I loved this book,really exciting and inspirational. Lots of idea's which can be followed as projects or stepping stones to your own creativity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars clearly explains several book making techniques, 21 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handmade Decorative Books (Passion for Paper) (Paperback)
This book demonstrates how to make 7 different types of handmade books. The author is also a cardmaker, and that shows in the decorated pages, but anyone wishing to make the books could follow the easy to follow instructions. Well worth the money for anyone wanting to make their own sketchbooks or journals as I am.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hand made decorative book is fab, 21 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Handmade Decorative Books (Passion for Paper) (Paperback)
This book has every thing you would want & expect it to have in it,
it's very informative and well prasented,
the techniques are grate,
I would recomend the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Handmade Decorative Books (Passion for Paper)
Handmade Decorative Books (Passion for Paper) by Sue Roddis (Paperback - 29 Sept. 2009)
£9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews