Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars37
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 June 2009
This is an amazing book if you are thinking of extending your watercolour painting to cover fruit and vegetables - I highly recommend it. Billy Showell writes in a very clear way, so you can easily understand all the tips and techniques she is passing on. The demonstrations are clearly portrayed and there is information on colour mixing throughout. She also covers what materials you need and a variety of techniques which can be used. Even though she claims no formal botanical knowledge her own paintings of fruit and vegetables are unbelievably beautiful and detailed. Her compositions are wonderful designs and will inspire you to create more original compositions in your own paintings. Even if you aren't currently working on painting fruit and veg, the book is lovely just to browse through. The book will be very useful to a beginner and also to practising water colourists. This is a fantastic second book and makes a good supplement to her first book, 'Watercolour Flower Portraits' which in my opinion is an essential addition to your library if you practise botanical art.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2009
Watercolour painting techniques used in botanical illustration demand high levels of skill. Although not an absolute beginner's guide, Billy Showell's book must be highly recommended because it provides such a clear series of photographs illustrating hand and brush in action as each painting progresses. These are accompanied by an equally clear & detailed text. The book provides an excellent and ongoing source of reference as (hopefully) continued practice turns technique into real skill.

No book can be a substitute for a really well taught class on botanical illustration (perhaps harder to find in your area than a copy of Fruit and Vegetable Portraits), but this one is closer to it than any other I have seen. Although Watercolour Flower Portraits is also very good, this is the one I would recommend for the less fussy compositions used in the artist's examples. These paintings are a genuine pleasure in themselves.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2009
I couldn't have wished for a better book to study and learn the art of food drawing, and i would recommend it on every level in the creation of detailed pictures.
For all those thinking of buying this book stop thinking and purchase it immediately, and like myself, enjoy it from cover to cover.
Enjoy...Les T
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2009
This is a beautiful, stylish and inspirational book. Billy Showell shares her obvious wealth of talent and expertise by describing colour mixes and techniques in an easy to follow way. The many colour reproductions of her work are very true to life - having seen some of her originals, I can vouch for their superb colour reproduction. It is also an easy book to dip in and out of and just wallow in the pictures. Can't wait for her next book!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2009
This second book of Billy Showell's is even better than her first book. It describes in detail what colours to select and shows botanical art in a contemporary way that is becoming hugely desirable. A must for botanical artists and students alike. The step-by-step projects are very helpful. Looking forward to the next book!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2010
Not the first thing that springs to mind when expanding on botanic art, but this book on painting fruit and veg is equally as good as Billy's first book on flower portraits. Again her method of working is so clearly explained that this book will appeal to both the novice and more experianced watercolourist. The tips on using watercolour apply to all types of botanical painting be it fruit or flower. This book will be in constant use, not one to just put on the coffee table and glance at every now and then.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2011
This book in an inspiration!. It has some very useful tips and projects to get on with. This is a must for people interested in painting Fruit and vegetables in water colour.
The author clearly has a gift and the wonderful thing is she is prepared to share it with us.
This book is ideally suited for serious beginners like me who has had some exposure to water colour techniques.
Although this book does elucidate basic techniques and methods.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2009
This is a brilliant book. All the tips & colour palettes you will need to produce detailed paintings of fruit & veg. Everyone does flowers but fruit & veg are rarer & just as beautiful.
Thank you
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2012
Really good book to learn and use for practice work. I didn't know fruit and veg could be so beautiful. I have been an artist for many years but botanical art is a whole new thing for me. Totally different disciplines and totally absorbing to do. BOtanical art means 'don't rush to finish it', take your time a do a 'proper job'. I recommend this book.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2013
As always this artist shows detailed work. Her books are for watercolourists whereas I use coloured pencils and so the exercises are of little value to me but I can use the illustrations to copy . Anyone looking for detailed exercises however should find this book most useful. I did prefer her A-Z of flowers.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)