Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A STUNNING BOOK
This book is possibly the only book you will ever need on the technique of Shibori. The photographs of the techniques are clear and leave nothing to the imagination. The instructions are similarly, clear and concise. The tips are a testament to the author's generosity - she wants you to be able to produce work of an equal standard to her own, which is stunning. The best...
Published on 11 July 2009 by Mrs. Pearl Osmond

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected
Beautiful designs and lots of information, but I somehow expected a lot more information to be shared in the book after reading the description.
Published 14 months ago by Harry Loots


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A STUNNING BOOK, 11 July 2009
By 
Mrs. Pearl Osmond (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shibori Designs and Techniques (Paperback)
This book is possibly the only book you will ever need on the technique of Shibori. The photographs of the techniques are clear and leave nothing to the imagination. The instructions are similarly, clear and concise. The tips are a testament to the author's generosity - she wants you to be able to produce work of an equal standard to her own, which is stunning. The best bit is the fact that she uses equipment which can be found in most kitchens and garden sheds. You will learn to produce wonderful coloured textiles with relative ease - I managed to steam-fix silk paints using Mandy Southan's instructions after several previous unsuccessful attempts using other books. This book should be the standard that all technique books should strive for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book for Getting Started, 19 Nov 2009
By 
Ms. C. Hurley "Clarryboo" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shibori Designs and Techniques (Paperback)
I bought this book having never dyed anything before, but wanting to give it a try.
The beauty of this book is in the step-by-step colour photographs for each of the techniques in the book- they are very easy to follow.

The book begins with some explanations on materials, tools and safety. Again, a very useful section as it allows you to gather everything you need before starting.

I bought this book after borrowing several from the local library that didn't have the kind of information I was looking for, so i would definitely recommend this book. It is for adults, but laid out as simply as a young adult or children's book would be- colour photo's throughout, the suggested projects are enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant book, 15 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shibori Designs and Techniques (Paperback)
I agree with the other reviews, this is a great book. It has details of different fabrics, dyes and tying/wrapping techniques. Lovely colour photographs show the techniques, which are explained in a clear but comprehensive fashion. Shibori is such a huge area, with endless different styles of tying and wrapping but the book simplifies them, and shows, one to a page, how to re-create them. Highly recommended for beginners and improvers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shibori Designs and Techniques (Paperback)
This is a great book, for a beginner or student like my self, it contains facts , techniques, history , recipes, and loads of idears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellant Starter, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shibori Designs and Techniques (Paperback)
Exciting, colourfull and stimulating introduction to some of the techniques of dyeing fabrics, most of which can be done at home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shibori Designs and Techniques (Paperback)
Easy to read , great illustrations, good book to learn the technique . Would recommend to anyone interested in shibori.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Briilint Book, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shibori Designs and Techniques (Paperback)
I am reading this book at the moment and find it insperational, I will be using some of the methods in my workshops thankyou.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect book on Shibori techniques, 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shibori Designs and Techniques (Paperback)
Really nice book. Everything explained clearly with detailed images. Good book if you want to do it at home. I would definitely recommend this to a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shibori Designs and Techniques (Paperback)
It has very good, clear and easy to follow explanations about the unique technique and good pictures. I love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 13 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shibori Designs and Techniques (Paperback)
I had always been wondering... how do they do that? This book delivers all the secrets. With so many beautiful projects to choose from, you wont know where to start. Step by steps instructions are easy to follow and provide great results every time. A great book to have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shibori Designs and Techniques
Shibori Designs and Techniques by Mandy Southan (Paperback - 12 Sep 2008)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews