Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Start
This is a good book to start you off in the new hobby or craft of needle felting. Good clear step by step instruction. Some simple east projects and nice photography.
Published on 8 Mar 2009 by L. Robinson

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Absolute basics
Just as the title says, a beginner's guide.
If you have never needle felted before and you need to know about materials, tools and very basic techniques, with very basic projects to get you started, this is the one for you.
Prior to purchase, I already had a beginners knowledge and experience of the subject and hoped that this book would suggest how to develop...
Published on 1 Feb 2012 by Carole B


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Start, 8 Mar 2009
By 
L. Robinson (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to Needle Felting (Paperback)
This is a good book to start you off in the new hobby or craft of needle felting. Good clear step by step instruction. Some simple east projects and nice photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beginners guide to needle felting, 2 Nov 2010
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to Needle Felting (Paperback)
This is a very clear instuctive book and well photographed, very helpful. I have tried some of the designs and have been pleasd with the result. Have not had a lot of success with the bird but I shall keep perservering. On the whole a great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beginners Guide to Needle Felting; a great start, 13 April 2011
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to Needle Felting (Paperback)
A good little book that gives a basic introduction to the craft. I had been introduced to the craft by a friend so wanted something to explain the technique again and give me a more inspiration. This book fulfilled both those requirements. There are enough projects here to keep me felting for a while, and also ideas that I could, with a bit of thought, expand myself. I have tried the cards first as they are the easiest to do, and then I love the cup and saucer featured on the front cover. The cup could be filled with small items to make a thoughtful gift. Would recommend this book for what it says it is a "Beginners Guide"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Absolute basics, 1 Feb 2012
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to Needle Felting (Paperback)
Just as the title says, a beginner's guide.
If you have never needle felted before and you need to know about materials, tools and very basic techniques, with very basic projects to get you started, this is the one for you.
Prior to purchase, I already had a beginners knowledge and experience of the subject and hoped that this book would suggest how to develop basics skills a little further. It didn't, so a little disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good starter., 25 Nov 2011
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to Needle Felting (Paperback)
This is the second book I had bought on needle felting. This one was better, clearer and more descriptive with handy tips for new needle felters. The book has some nice project ideas- I have already used a couple of ideas and adapted them to the things I want to make. Very helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beginners Guide to Needle Felting, 3 Mar 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to Needle Felting (Paperback)
Needle felting is yet another hobby I would like to try. This book is good value for money, easy peasy explanations, user friendly illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good starting point for needlefelting, 19 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to Needle Felting (Paperback)
A good introduction to the craft of needlefelting covering both two dimensional and three dimensional objects. I feel this gives sufficient detail for someone new to this craft but also inspiration to try out new ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beginner Guide to Needle Felting, 18 Dec 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to Needle Felting (Paperback)
Good basic beginners techniques. Easy instructions and the projects are fun and explained fully, a good starter for those just beginning this craft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring and easy for the beginner, 11 May 2012
By 
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to Needle Felting (Paperback)
There are plenty of easy, step-by-step instructions. The projects give you a quick summary of what can be achieved. I like the landscapes and dolls best.

I would like to find alternatives to raw wool, as sometimes you can't always get it ie live in urban surroundings. I would also like alternatives to wool, perhaps alpaca....Is it restricted to natural wool or can it be used for synthetics etc. However, it tells you clearly what to do when you do use raw wool which was helpful.I would like more about wet felting as I didn't quite understand the benefits of this.

The book is read in an enthusiastic way which was enjoyable.

I do really recommend this book! Now I want another one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BINGO!, 1 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to Needle Felting (Paperback)
This is an excellent book. The glowing review just above "about the author" is actually true. I ordered five other books on felting before this one, thinking this was too simple. The other books are very good and have broadened my felting knowledge and techniques considerably and maybe that's a good thing, but this is what I wanted in the first place. I'm ordering another one now for my daughter, and maybe another still for my sister. The other books concentrate on traditional wet felting and address needle felting almost as an aside. This one focuses entirely on needle felting and is a good deal more sophisticated than it appears. Hallalula.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beginner's Guide to Needle Felting
Beginner's Guide to Needle Felting by Susanna Wallis (Paperback - 25 Sep 2008)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews