Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A useful colour guide
A good guide for all budding artists, although he does use colours that I didn't have, but its agood excuse to go and by more.!
Published 19 months ago by Ms. A. Manser

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too Detailed
The vast majority of this book is concerned with what colours are produced when mixing other colours. And it really goes into alot of detail - showing an enormous range of shade & hues.

It covers each colour in the Winsor & Newton acrylic range (but may now be out of date as they have changed a little and new colours have been added) and provides a colour chart...
Published on 6 April 2010 by Biff


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too Detailed, 6 April 2010
By 
Biff - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acrylics (Winsor & Newton Colour Mixing Guides) (Hardcover)
The vast majority of this book is concerned with what colours are produced when mixing other colours. And it really goes into alot of detail - showing an enormous range of shade & hues.

It covers each colour in the Winsor & Newton acrylic range (but may now be out of date as they have changed a little and new colours have been added) and provides a colour chart showing the resultant shade when mixed with various percentages of other colours in the range. It only covers mixing two colours at a time - so no complex mixes are needed.

I'm not really convinced that anyone is going to want this amount of detail or need to mix such specific colours.

You may want to mix a purple/red colour but do you really need to get the exact shades shown in this book - I doubt it. And of course you will never get your mixes in the exact proportions used in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Acrylics - mixing guide, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acrylics (Winsor & Newton Colour Mixing Guides) (Hardcover)
Lots of colour wheel charts - not so much explanation that I was hoping for.
My expectations were the problem here - it is a great book if you want colour wheels!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Acrylic Mixing Guide, 24 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acrylics (Winsor & Newton Colour Mixing Guides) (Hardcover)
I have just taken up acrylic painting as a hobby and thought this would be a great help. I does help but in my opinion it is a little bit to advanced for a complete novice like me. I hope that it will come in useful later on as I become more proficient in using Acrylics later on
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A useful colour guide, 9 Jan 2013
By 
Ms. A. Manser - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acrylics (Winsor & Newton Colour Mixing Guides) (Hardcover)
A good guide for all budding artists, although he does use colours that I didn't have, but its agood excuse to go and by more.!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mix Acrylic Colour, 12 Dec 2010
By 
Phil kendall "Meltemi" (On the edge of Civilization & the Fens) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acrylics (Winsor & Newton Colour Mixing Guides) (Hardcover)
A definitive book that does what it says on the label. A short-cut for those who can't be bothered to try for them selves. A simple 100% Red + 0% Blue with 20% steps in between to 100% Blue + 0% Red...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Acrylics (Winsor & Newton Colour Mixing Guides)
Acrylics (Winsor & Newton Colour Mixing Guides) by John Barber (Hardcover - 29 Jan 2007)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews