Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great sea and sky techniques
Terry begins by a brief overview of materials and colours - he says buy the best quality paints and papers and this is something I agree with. He outlines the colours he uses and shows which to mix to make some good sea colours. Terry has his own range of brushes on sale and I found it useful that he showed the marks each one can create.

The painting section...
Published on 13 Oct 2007 by Jeannie Zelos

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Sea Is OK but....
The sea part of this book is very helpful with some great tips, but the sky is mentioned only in passing. All the colour mixes rely on using Terry's own range of paints, and instructions relate to his range of brushes.

What I found REALLY irritating is that despite Terry telling you how important level horizons are, the publishers have put in lots of pictures...
Published on 30 Nov 2009 by D. Brown


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great sea and sky techniques, 13 Oct 2007
This review is from: Terry Harrison's Sea and Sky in Watercolour (Paperback)
Terry begins by a brief overview of materials and colours - he says buy the best quality paints and papers and this is something I agree with. He outlines the colours he uses and shows which to mix to make some good sea colours. Terry has his own range of brushes on sale and I found it useful that he showed the marks each one can create.

The painting section begins by explaining - with pictures- basic watercolour techniques such as wet in wet and lifting out, then moves on to a useful section on how to paint different seas, from calm water to crashing waves, and goes on to cover many of the elements for creating sea paintings, such as rocks, reflections and shorelines in separate detail. I found this very useful as it allows any combination of sea paintings to be created, and the instructions were very clear and easy to follow. The latter section of the book contains three demos, using many of the techniques already demonstrated and each one is very clear about what step, colour and brush to use next.

An excellent soft back book for those interested in creating sea and sky paintings in watercolour, with clear easy to follow instructions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Sea Is OK but...., 30 Nov 2009
By 
D. Brown (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Terry Harrison's Sea and Sky in Watercolour (Paperback)
The sea part of this book is very helpful with some great tips, but the sky is mentioned only in passing. All the colour mixes rely on using Terry's own range of paints, and instructions relate to his range of brushes.

What I found REALLY irritating is that despite Terry telling you how important level horizons are, the publishers have put in lots of pictures without straightening the horizon (this is a photo fault not an artist fault)

Overall an OK book for beginners starting to learn to paint the sea, but for sky painting look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great tips, 9 July 2009
By 
R. Edwards - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Terry Harrison's Sea and Sky in Watercolour (Paperback)
This book has got some great tips especially for doing rocks which i have always struggled to do. Also the step by step guide is brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars have seen better., 3 Nov 2010
By 
J. Chambers "rafbod" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terry Harrison's Sea and Sky in Watercolour (Paperback)
As much as I like Terry Harrisons work I was not overly impressed with this book. He was pushing his own products a bit.eg his brush range and colours. There was not much on skies and the technique demos were a little small.
I think Arnold Lowery's "Sea and Sky in Watercolour" is a better treatment of the subject.But thats a personal opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 14 Mar 2010
This review is from: Terry Harrison's Sea and Sky in Watercolour (Paperback)
I have other Terry Harrison books and as usual this one is easy to follow and with practise you can produce impressive reults.
Terry has his own range of brushes which he mentions. I don't own any of his brushes and produced results with normal brushes.
A quality product as usual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seaand Sky in Watercolour,Terry Harrison, 9 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: Terry Harrison's Sea and Sky in Watercolour (Paperback)
Another great easy to understand and practice book.Terry makes every step so simple for the layman or professional alike,you know some artists holds back a few little secrets and we wonder why or how our paintings don't have that finished look,but not Terry or the editors who compiled this book.top of the class book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Watercolour, 6 Nov 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terry Harrison's Sea and Sky in Watercolour (Paperback)
Exellent book for beginners and more advanced artists. Abound with examples, techniques and tips.
Colour guides given but no actual pallettes. Good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tery Harrrisons Sea and sky in watercolour, 15 April 2009
By 
Mrs. S. Hale - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terry Harrison's Sea and Sky in Watercolour (Paperback)
This is a wonderfull book with it's step by step instructions on how to get the likeness of the watercolour picture you are looking at. this gives you deeper understanding of how to get the look you want on other pictures you wish to paint . Many thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Terry Harrison's Sea & Sky in Watercolour, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terry Harrison's Sea and Sky in Watercolour (Paperback)
This is a good book with plenty of step by step instructions on watercolour painting Sea and Sky. However, as I bought this author's Complete Book of Watercolour Landscapes from Amazon at the same time I found that all the information in this book is included in his 'Complete Book...'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars sky watercolour book, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terry Harrison's Sea and Sky in Watercolour (Paperback)
Yes, excellent, purchased for my wife, she loves it, and the bonus of it being "signed" a nice personal touch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Terry Harrison's Sea and Sky in Watercolour
Terry Harrison's Sea and Sky in Watercolour by Terry Harrison (Paperback - 4 April 2007)
Used & New from: 8.45
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews