Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars It's not dated, it's retro! ;)
Jenny Dowde and Renate Kirkpatrick have both recently written books on freeform knitting and crochet, but this one (first published over 2 decades ago in 1986) is on another level altogether, and will liberate your creativity in all-new ways. Although brief, one of my favourite parts of this book is the first chapter which includes card-wrapping, cardboard loom weaving,...
Published on 14 July 2012 by neverendings

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, But ...
I absolutely loved this book because the projects were so inspiring and the information about stitches, yarns etc answered lots of my own thoughts/questions on the subject.

However, those projects I particularly bought the book for (namely the cobra p48; the sheep p61 and the vegetables p104-107) don't come with sufficiently detailed instructions for someone...
Published on 9 May 2011 by Textile Figure Artist


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, But ..., 9 May 2011
This review is from: Jan Messent's Have You Any Wool? (Search Press Classics) (Paperback)
I absolutely loved this book because the projects were so inspiring and the information about stitches, yarns etc answered lots of my own thoughts/questions on the subject.

However, those projects I particularly bought the book for (namely the cobra p48; the sheep p61 and the vegetables p104-107) don't come with sufficiently detailed instructions for someone without lots of experience to make up and so I was ultimately disappointed. Otherwise I would have awarded it the full 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Yes we have, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jan Messent's Have You Any Wool? (Search Press Classics) (Paperback)
As someone said "No patterns" but a great source of inspiration.
Perhaps not for someone without some fibre working skills but a very useful starting point for projects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's not dated, it's retro! ;), 14 July 2012
This review is from: Jan Messent's Have You Any Wool? (Search Press Classics) (Paperback)
Jenny Dowde and Renate Kirkpatrick have both recently written books on freeform knitting and crochet, but this one (first published over 2 decades ago in 1986) is on another level altogether, and will liberate your creativity in all-new ways. Although brief, one of my favourite parts of this book is the first chapter which includes card-wrapping, cardboard loom weaving, needleweaving and god's eyes. These are very simple techniques, and the brief introduction here is enough for the creative thinker to realise they suggest all sorts of possibilities.

Subsequent chapters cover knitting and crochet, but not in the same way as the authors mentioned above: knitting is combined with card-wrapping, crochet evolves into cacti (long before the current amigurumi craze anthropomorphised everything). Just don't come to this book expecting a project book (although a few patterns are included). All the techniques and methods are explained, and lots of illustrative photos show you what you might achieve, but Messent's focus is on developing your own creativity, encouraging you to keep a notebook and develop your own ideas. A patterns section explores the different effects you can create using different stitches and textures; a colour section shows you how to develop yarn colour schemes from photos, and how to blend and combine colours in original ways. A knitted/card-wrapped colour wheel illustrates the basic colour wheel terminology. Working from nature you will be inspired to create three-dimensional shapes and tactile textures.

If you have an interest in textile crafts and even an ounce of latent creativity, by the time you've finished reading this book, I guarantee it will be unleashed! (Thank you, Search Press, for reissuing this classic!) N.B. Look out for 'Wool 'n Magic' by the same author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 'hundreds of witty and wonderful ways of using up oddments of yarn', 11 May 2012
By 
sally tarbox (aylesbury bucks uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Jan Messent's Have You Any Wool? (Search Press Classics) (Paperback)
I quite liked this book which says it's 'a knitting/ crochet book with a difference...the projects can be made simple or complicated depending on the ability or imagination of each reader'.
Some of the items seemed a little dated, reminded me of the 70s (but this was published 25 years ago!)
How to knit a textured wall hanging...a cactus in a pot...crochet toadstools...little knitted sheep and gardens (reminded me of Messent's other book 'Knitted Gardens' which is definitely superior to this one)...various little figures including a knitted Assyrian king! Total assortment of unusual ideas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book but a little dated, 16 Oct 2010
By 
Jo Bennie (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Jan Messent's Have You Any Wool? (Search Press Classics) (Paperback)
Good and inspirational but quite dated, although some great ideas about using crochet, knitting, needleweaving and wool wrapping to create.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jan Messent's Have You Any Wool? (Search Press Classics)
Jan Messent's Have You Any Wool? (Search Press Classics) by Jan Messent (Paperback - 2 Oct 2008)
Used & New from: £2.92
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews