Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous designs but few instructions
If you're looking for an inspiring book full of gorgeous finished art jewellery, this has some of the best beaded eye-candy imaginable. If you're hoping for proper instructions or diagrams so that you can make your own, however, forget it!

This has the prettiest glass bead jewellery I've seen. But contrary to what the title may suggest, it's very light on any...
Published on 27 Dec 2007 by Cat Girl

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lots of pretty pictures, light on the instructions
The book promises 48 gorgeous designs and precise details of materials needed for the projects. What it neglects to mention is instructions on HOW to actually reproduce the pretty pictures. I am not sure how the author thought that readers would be able to reproduce designs designated as "very complex" in four sentences. Recommended for advanced beaders only.
Published on 23 Mar 2009 by ao6gb


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous designs but few instructions, 27 Dec 2007
This review is from: Designs for Beaded Jewellery Using Glass Beads (Paperback)
If you're looking for an inspiring book full of gorgeous finished art jewellery, this has some of the best beaded eye-candy imaginable. If you're hoping for proper instructions or diagrams so that you can make your own, however, forget it!

This has the prettiest glass bead jewellery I've seen. But contrary to what the title may suggest, it's very light on any designs to help you create your own.

I wouldn't recommend this to absolute beginners. The more experienced beader would be able to figure out the basics and adapt them to their own tastes. It's certainly a very tantalising book, full of beautiful photographs of very original and mouth-watering designs! So it could be very useful if you're looking for inspiration rather than direction!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lots of pretty pictures, light on the instructions, 23 Mar 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Designs for Beaded Jewellery Using Glass Beads (Paperback)
The book promises 48 gorgeous designs and precise details of materials needed for the projects. What it neglects to mention is instructions on HOW to actually reproduce the pretty pictures. I am not sure how the author thought that readers would be able to reproduce designs designated as "very complex" in four sentences. Recommended for advanced beaders only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'eye candy', 22 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Designs for Beaded Jewellery Using Glass Beads (Paperback)
Although the reviews said that this book is light on instructions, it only costs the same as a beading magazine so I was prepared to give it a go. There is a complete and utter lack of any 'how to' instructions in this little book and the few lines on every page are basic and vague, as are the lists of materials used. It does mention in the Introduction that it is not a technical manual, rather an inspirational book to ponder over coffee. However, if you can get past that and just take this book as you find it, the items are lovely to look at and could be constructed by an experienced beader quite easily, but a beginner would never be able to cope. I am not sorry I bought it and I'm sure I will be making a few items in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for a beginner but clear instructions all the same, 6 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Designs for Beaded Jewellery Using Glass Beads (Paperback)
This book is not for a beginner, it assumes some prior knowledge of jewellery making. That said, it has clear pictures of the stages. Made two bracelets - swore at 1, but pleased with the results of both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, Clear instructions, 11 May 2014
By 
C. Mitchell (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Designs for Beaded Jewellery Using Glass Beads (Paperback)
I would recommend this brilliant book to beginners and advanced jewellery makers alike. It has beautiful colour pictures and clear instructions for each project.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Lovely to look at, but ............., 6 July 2011
This review is from: Designs for Beaded Jewellery Using Glass Beads (Paperback)
This book has great photos of lovely jewellery designs and very basic "orders" on how to make them. There is nothing in the text about the techniques needed - but then the product description doesn't promise techniques, only details of the materials needed. To faithfully reproduce most of these designs you really need experience in wire work, crochet and knotting, otherwise you will probably have problems! But the designs are inspirational and have given me lots of ideas for my own projects - as such I'm happy I bought this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Designs for Beaded Jewellery Using Glass Beads
Designs for Beaded Jewellery Using Glass Beads by Maria di Spirito (Paperback - 1 Oct 2006)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews