Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Real How To Do!, 19 Oct 2005
By 
J. Brewer (Newcastle upon Tyne United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Draw and Paint Fairies (Paperback)
This is an excellent book, both in concept and execution.I bought it a couple of weeks ago and its already been used to produce pictures!
The "Getting Started" section covers equipment and media,use of colour and much more...even experienced artists can gain something from these pages.
The second section is devoted to drawing the specific subjects of the book...fairies, and includes how to draw faces, hands, wings etc with proportion and classic poses also covered...as well as fairy fashion and habitats.
Swipe files are included so the aspiring artist,from beginner to more advanced,can copy relevent bits to create their own fairy.
The Techniques section takes a step by step approach to producing a variety of pictures using different media.
The final section is a gallery of fairy art by some of the best in the business.
The text is interesting and informative...and never condescending.
Even if you're not in to fairies the book is a good guide to drawing and painting techniques for many aspects of the natural world.
This book is worth every penny of the very reasonable price from Amazon.Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book that Covers all you need, 19 Feb 2007
By 
Kezwick "Kez" (Armadale, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: How to Draw and Paint Fairies (Paperback)
This is a book that covers just about everything you need to know, do, draw and paint. With simple informative step by step instrutions, that dont treat you like an idiot. You will very quickly be creating, changing and dreaming up new ways to paint and draw Fairies.

I cant rate this book highly enough...this should be sold as the definative handbook on how to do.

Great value for money and if you buy no other book than this you will not go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful!, 26 Dec 2006
By 
M. Allcock "mystic flower" (Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Draw and Paint Fairies (Paperback)
I love this book - its got gorgeous artwork and easy to follow step-by-step techniques to help you improve as an artist. The amount of colouring techniques shown make it great help for any style of artist, not just the fantasy/faerie orientated. The thing that really makes it stand out from the crowd is its emphasis on originality - there are "swipe files" included, showing different hands, feet, costume, lips, eyes etc - encouraging the reader to play with their artwork, developing their own style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Magic., 21 Dec 2006
By 
Cynthia Adams "krafty" (East Tilbury, Essex. United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Draw and Paint Fairies (Paperback)
Excellent details and shows you a variety of expressions on faces,even down to feet fingers and wardrobe to draw.There are even templates for you to copy if you wish to.Hghly recommend this to Fairy lovers everywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical!, 12 July 2011
By 
Yvonne Green "Rainbows In Beverley" (Beverley, East Yorkshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: How to Draw and Paint Fairies (Paperback)
Excellent book this one. Beautiful to look at and a joy to have around. Not to mention the fact that I couldn't draw anything, never mind a fairy, before this and now I'm already on my way to producing passable drawings. The instructions are clear and easy to understand and the 'swipe files' mean that you can copy or trace various features, faces, body parts, costumes etc. to make up designs that are unique to you. Some of my fairies have developed into quite interesting 'characters!' Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What you need to get started, 16 Aug 2009
By 
Fantini Lavinia (Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Draw and Paint Fairies (Paperback)
This book is very useful if you want to draw fairies: it teaches you how to draw (and paint) the basics, then becomes more and more difficult and challenging but at a slow pace which will allow you to learn everything you need before proceeding.

There are lots of useful tips, from how to mix colours to get the right skin tone to using your imagination to see flowers, leaves etc. as fairies clothes or acccesories.

The only thing I didn't like was seeing the same style for almost all the book. I'd have appreciated it more if examples of fairies drawn or painted in different styles were shown earlier in the book, maybe explaining which elements for every painting could be used for inspiration. I found the focus on the same style again and again a bit boring after a while.
Also, I don't like the "copy/trace my drawing" thing; I think that giving a theme to work on, give tips and suggestions and then showing one of the author's drawing as an example would have been much more useful to discover one's style, not only imitating the author's one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars inspiring and fun, 29 Sep 2008
By 
This review is from: How to Draw and Paint Fairies (Paperback)
I bought this book as my little neice kept asking me to draw fairies for her and my results lacked magic. This is a great book for getting started with, particularly if you're not that good at drawing people and faces.I found the instructions clear and easy to follow and the gallery of complete artwork really got my imagination going. If you are not a confident artist the easily copied examples of eyes, lips, hair, clothing etc can be mixed and matched in your own drawings to get you started and give you confidence. My own fairy drawings are much improved and my neice a very happy little girl
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good book, 14 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Draw and Paint Fairies (Paperback)
This is a good book that explains several techniques in a comprehensive way. The only problem is that often the faces of the fairies are schematic and stereotyped, often expressionless . It is our task to give the right soul to our creations. Still offers some good ideas and good exercises. However is a great, good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a beautiful book! Whether you want to draw fairies or whether like me you just want to look at them (I may, 3 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: How to Draw and Paint Fairies (Paperback)
This is a beautiful book. Whether you want to learn to draw fairies or just spend ages looking at them. I am not a natural artist and in truth found the instructions for drawing fairies hard to follow - but will SLOWLY persevere. If you are an experienced artist you will simply LOVE this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent tutorial, 28 April 2009
By 
Mrs. P. Thompson (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Draw and Paint Fairies (Paperback)
It took me about a month to decide which fairy tutorial to purchase and finally decided on this one. Am I glad I did. Very well thought out and laid out to follow. Well recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Draw and Paint Fairies
How to Draw and Paint Fairies by linda ravenscroft (Paperback - 15 Sep 2005)
Used & New from: 4.69
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews