Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good way to start
I found this book a great way to start getting into painting with acrylics. You get a good breakdown of how to use the brushes to create the desired effects and gives demonstrations with a basic pallette for you to follow and perfect the techniques.

I found this a good book to help with with the basics and how to build from that. I would recommend this book to...
Published on 5 Aug 2009 by G. L. Hughes

versus
26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A sales pitch for Terry's brushes
Having purchased Terry's Brush with Watercolour sometime back and found it quite inspirational I decided to buy this one. What a let down. The examples are boring and the techniques used are just a sales pitch for his own brushes. Even in the 'Watercolour book' there where examples that were obviously done in acylics yet you forgive them because they gave you ideas for...
Published on 3 Oct 2004


Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A sales pitch for Terry's brushes, 3 Oct 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Brush with Acrylics (Practical Art Book from Search Press) (Paperback)
Having purchased Terry's Brush with Watercolour sometime back and found it quite inspirational I decided to buy this one. What a let down. The examples are boring and the techniques used are just a sales pitch for his own brushes. Even in the 'Watercolour book' there where examples that were obviously done in acylics yet you forgive them because they gave you ideas for your own projects. However, this book, apart from the pictures, must have taken all the time it takes to do a search and replace in a word processor to exchange 'watercolour' with 'acrylic'. Very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Salesman or Artist ?, 17 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Brush with Acrylics (Practical Art Book from Search Press) (Paperback)
The trouble with Terry Harrison (like some others I could mention) is that he is a salesman first & an art teacher second.
This book is virtually a manual on how to use his acrylic brushes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good way to start, 5 Aug 2009
By 
G. L. Hughes "gillh2" (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brush with Acrylics (Practical Art Book from Search Press) (Paperback)
I found this book a great way to start getting into painting with acrylics. You get a good breakdown of how to use the brushes to create the desired effects and gives demonstrations with a basic pallette for you to follow and perfect the techniques.

I found this a good book to help with with the basics and how to build from that. I would recommend this book to anyone wanting to learn the basics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brush with Acrylics, 7 July 2011
This review is from: Brush with Acrylics (Practical Art Book from Search Press) (Paperback)
I WOULD HAVE LIKED TO HAVE AT LEAST 5 OR 6 RAW TASKS WITH INSTRUCTIONS ON WHAT COLOURS TO USE, AND ANY OTHER SUGGESTIONS THAT WOULD HELP IN THE PAINTING OF AN ACCEPTABLE PAINTING..

IT WOULD HAVE BEEN HELPFUL, IF I HAD BEEN TOLD TO MIX THE ACRYLICS WITH WATER, AND A REFERENCE TO WHAT CONSISTENCY THE MIX SHOULD BE, ITS NOT HELPFUL JUST TO SAY THIN THE ACRYLICS WITH A LITTLE WATER.

THANK YOU FOR PROVIDING ME WITH THE OPPORTUNITY TO LEARN TO PAINT.
E,G,RICHARDSON
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brush with Acrylics, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brush with Acrylics (Practical Art Book from Search Press) (Paperback)
Great book, was really pleased with the tips on various paint methods for a beginner It has been a guide, would recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great tips, easy to follow instructions, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brush with Acrylics (Practical Art Book from Search Press) (Paperback)
Being a fledgling artist I found the instructions and tips in this book easy to follow, would highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terry Harrison's acrylic painting book step by step instructions., 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brush with Acrylics (Practical Art Book from Search Press) (Paperback)
Terry shows you step by step how to achieve professional paintings that everyone compliments you on.Terry has included illustrations for each stage,showing what you can achieve. He shows you what materials to use, and how to use them. I Couldn't believe that painting was this simple. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful lessons, 11 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brush with Acrylics (Practical Art Book from Search Press) (Paperback)
Lots of helpful hints and easy to follow pages & pictures
Would recommend this book to a fellow beginer artist
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brush with Acrylics, 20 May 2009
By 
Watson Bale (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brush with Acrylics (Practical Art Book from Search Press) (Paperback)
So easy to use and has simple instructions. Anyone can become proficient at Acrylics by using this book as a reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brush with Acrylics (Practical Art Book from Search Press)
Brush with Acrylics (Practical Art Book from Search Press) by Terry Harrison (Paperback - Oct 2004)
12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews