Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Starmaking Machinery
It has taken 13.7 billion years, but the Universe has finally produced a coffee-table quality book to commemorate the Big Bang and its consequences. _Bang! The Complete History of the Universe_ (Carlton Books) by Brian May, Patrick Moore, and Chris Lintott is not massive, as coffee-table books go, but its big format is perfect for the dramatic sorts of pictures that the...
Published on 31 Dec. 2006 by R. Hardy

versus
20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No illustrations in the kindle edition
So much for the stunning illustrations: there were none. The kindle version of this book has just a few black and white star maps and these are of poorer quality than those seen in Patrick Moore's books over 30 years ago.
Published 19 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Bang! The Complete History of the Universe, 26 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a concise and readable history of our Universe, the "Sky at Night" format from the beginning of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 8 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Patrick Moore always explained everything in simple terms and this collaboration with Brian May and Chris Lintott makes fascinating reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good, introductory overview., 31 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A readable but non- trivial introduction to astronomy and astrophysics. However, there is a slight tendency towards a "hand-waving" and "broad brush" approach and over-simplification in parts, where the absence of even basic mathematics inhibits deeper and more rigorous understanding of the topic. Provide the reader is aware of this, this is a good overview.
Tomos
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A womderful introduction to space, time, and all that..., 10 July 2014
By 
I. A. Wright "Ian Wright" (Didcot, Oxon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A more normal size book, updated and reduced in size from the original coffee table tome, Bang! Explains in mostly layman's terms the story of this universe, from beginning to end. Over the years, I've bought the first, second, and fourth editions. The third edition sneaked past me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars five stars, 29 Nov. 2007
By 
Amazon Customer "hamble" (somewhere in west europe) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this book is basically a history of the universe, starting from the planck time-length through to 13,700,000,000 years later and the present day, which is where the speed of light limits its scope.

it's told in language that is easy to understand, although it does skim over the details a little (i'm actually quite interested in the maths of molecule-making), and all-in-all is a thoroughly fascinating read.

the pictures, photos and diagrams are highly informative and gorgeous to look at. i can't imagine what the up-to-date version of this book has to offer, but the first published one i bought was great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent, informative book on the history of the universe and beyond!, 6 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well written, easy to understand and explains clearly areas of astrophysics to a wide audience. I would recomend this book to anyone who has an interest in space and how the universe began.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Astonomy and the universe for all, 19 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A superb book written in a manner which makes it very easy to read. You don't need to be a scientist or an astronomer. Abook about the universe in which we live ideal for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Big Bang, 14 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Readable and intended for the popular market and as such is a good present for a young astronomy enthusiast. Set out in a time sequence following of the age of the universe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really like, 29 Aug. 2009
By 
I bought it without knowing exactly what it was like, but it really catch me. It has a scientific content suitable for almost anyone. I would recommend it as an introduction to astronomy and science in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A small book with a lot of info. Struggled ..., 2 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A small book with a lot of info. Struggled with it sometimes, but it is invaluable for reference and intrigue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bang! The Complete History of the Universe
Bang! The Complete History of the Universe by Brian May (Hardcover - 16 Oct. 2006)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews