Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Starmaking Machinery
It has taken 13.7 billion years, but the Universe has finally produced a coffee-table quality book to commemorate the Big Bang and its consequences. _Bang! The Complete History of the Universe_ (Carlton Books) by Brian May, Patrick Moore, and Chris Lintott is not massive, as coffee-table books go, but its big format is perfect for the dramatic sorts of pictures that the...
Published on 31 Dec. 2006 by Rob Hardy

versus
20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No illustrations in the kindle edition
So much for the stunning illustrations: there were none. The kindle version of this book has just a few black and white star maps and these are of poorer quality than those seen in Patrick Moore's books over 30 years ago.
Published 21 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok but not as good as expected, 28 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was readable but quite a lot of the subject matter was repeated albeit in explaining another subject area.
Would not have bought having read it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book but no illustrations in Kindle version, 17 May 2014
By 
Mister G (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
The text is superb - it is a good book - but it is galling to read reviews about how great the illustrations are only to discover that the Kindle version has none. I suggest buying the physical version of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hardback superb. Give the kindle version a miss, 23 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have based my rating on the hardback edition which I previously owned but gave away. The illustrations in that are superb and helpful as is the clear, well written explanation of the history of the universe and Big Bang. This is great for adults and older children because it does not seek to baffle or confuse, but clarify, explain and demonstrate in straightforward but interesting terms. Well worth the price for the hardback. BUT do not buy the kindle edition if you want the illustrations as these are missing. I was furious when my kindle version was delivered and discovered it contains just text. I would definitely not have bought if this had been clearly stated. So be warned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read - very informative, 16 Dec. 2011
By 
R. Smith "grebe123" (Harrogate) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Highly recommended read for a beginner , like me, to astronomy. A good insight into the universe on a level which is easy to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very well written, 22 Sept. 2014
By 
StarryNight (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bang! The Complete History of the Universe (Hardcover)
A really accessible book about the history of the universe with stunning images. I highly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Very well written but could be more gripping, 2 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I started reading this, and was enjoying it too!, But about quarter of the way through a paused and three years later I'm still looking forward to going back to it. I want to read it as it is interesting and very well written for such complicated theories, but its been about 3 years and I still haven't gone back to it...even though I want to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 16 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought for my son who is studying cosmology, I read it too and it's a fascinating guide to the universe. The science isn't too difficult, the authors are ready to admit when we just don't know and discuss alternative viewpoints.

One question. Does the paper version include diagrams that aren't in the Kindle edition?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Review on BANG, 14 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Easy to read and understand. Looking to the future there are many possibilities and this part is fairly useless. However the rest is informative...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good clear explanation of the timeline of the universe, 4 Jun. 2014
By 
Raymond Sullivan (north Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is good as a lay read on the history of the universe from the big bang through to the ultimate end. The authors are careful to explain that the theories presented are the best currently known. Recommended reading for anyone with an interest in this subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A full history of the universe, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Easy to understand and very informative.If this is your thing you will be kept reading as new information is constantly given.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bang! The Complete History of the Universe
Bang! The Complete History of the Universe by Chris Lintott (Hardcover - 1 Oct. 2007)
£20.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews