Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Starmaking Machinery
It has taken 13.7 billion years, but the Universe has finally produced a coffee-table quality book to commemorate the Big Bang and its consequences. _Bang! The Complete History of the Universe_ (Carlton Books) by Brian May, Patrick Moore, and Chris Lintott is not massive, as coffee-table books go, but its big format is perfect for the dramatic sorts of pictures that the...
Published on 31 Dec 2006 by R. Hardy

versus
20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No illustrations in the kindle edition
So much for the stunning illustrations: there were none. The kindle version of this book has just a few black and white star maps and these are of poorer quality than those seen in Patrick Moore's books over 30 years ago.
Published 13 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Science made simple., 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought this a very good read . It is written in a straightforward way and treats complicated subjects like Quantum Theory in a way to make them more understandable to the layman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Less Bang for your buck in this edition it seems, 16 Jan 2014
I am only part way through reading and am enjoying so far, but came back to amazon to check if what I received was what I expected. I have a small hardback book of text, with some full colour pages of photos and diagrams interspersed occasionally throughout. While a handy size for reading in the bath, it isn't the 'lavishly illustrated' coffee table book with lenticular cover I was expecting from the other reviews. It has bothered me a few times that the text refers to an image or diagram which I cannot find and it is not referenced. Bit annoying, but doesn't mean this isn't an extremely accessible book on a complex subject. Just be aware of that you might be getting something different to what other reviewers are raving about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bang, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Often the great problem of writing about the cosmos is trying to understand it all. Well, Patrick Moore, Brian May, and Chris Lintott certainly get my vote for that. An uncomplicated text with great detail makes this book an excellent tool for learning. RIP Patrick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I haven't finished this book yet, but it is well-written and I will. It has the same effect on me as all astronomy books - you get drawn into an alternative univese here on earth through a weired way of thinking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bang On, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The best book I have read which attempts to explain what once must have been unexplainable. There are still the moments when you want to know 'But how do they know that" particularly when dealing with incredibly small numbers in the passage of time and space. It is a privilege to be around at this time in history and to learn about how we got to this stage and where our future lies. Unless of course there is something else out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing and entertaining, 30 Aug 2013
Brilliant read, not hard going but easy to follow and extremely informative. Explains a lot of issues in easy to understand chunks of facts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reading, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For anyone that like me that wanted to understand what is up there this is essential reading. May, Moore and Lintott go into great detail without over complicating the text (the only equation mentioned is E=mc2). Everything is covered with helpful diagrams and fantastic images and the brief biographys of some of sciences greatest men make this a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining read, 17 Aug 2013
By 
A. A. Beard (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book clearly explains the current thinking on the start of the universe up to a projected end. Very easy to read and recommended for all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I don't feel quite so stupid now, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Isn't it wonderful when you can educate yourself in what can be a very complicated subject? But it takes talented and expert writers to crack that code and with this gem of a book these 3 authors succeed admirably. Well structured, easily understood and with the bonus of the very good biographies section at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A state-of-the-art guide to the wonders of our universe., 19 Jun 2013
By 
Jazzrook (Purbrook , Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This updated 4th edition(2012) of 'Bang! The Complete History of the Universe' is one of the most accessible books on cosmology/astronomy that I've come across.
After a brief illuminating introduction there is a chronological account of the evolution of the Universe with chapters headed 'Genesis: In the Beginning'; 'And Then There Was Light'; 'The Evolving Universe'; 'Stars and Planets'; 'The Emergence of Life'; 'Into the Future' & 'The End of the Universe'. This is followed by a chapter on Practical Astronomy by Patrick Moore, biographies of key figures in astronomy/cosmology, a time line of the Universe and a useful glossary of cosmological terms.
Brian May, Patrick Moore & Chris Lintott have written an exciting state-of-the-art guide to the wonders of our Universe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bang! The Complete History of the Universe
Bang! The Complete History of the Universe by Chris Lintott (Hardcover - 1 Oct 2007)
£17.06
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews