Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When Irish eyes are rather dark
A Doctor Who audio story. It features Paul McGann as the Doctor.

It take place right after the end of the run of audio stories that featured the Eighth Doctor and his companion Lucie Miller. Last of those was To the Death (Doctor Who: the Eighth Doctor Adventures). Whilst you would get more out of this if you heard all of that run, this would actually work...
Published 6 months ago by Paul Tapner

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best story they have done
Not the best story Big Finish has done, it felt half done and I was left feeling that they should have added another CD or two.
Published 12 months ago by Mr. C. Potter


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When Irish eyes are rather dark, 5 Jan 2014
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Eyes (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
A Doctor Who audio story. It features Paul McGann as the Doctor.

It take place right after the end of the run of audio stories that featured the Eighth Doctor and his companion Lucie Miller. Last of those was To the Death (Doctor Who: the Eighth Doctor Adventures). Whilst you would get more out of this if you heard all of that run, this would actually work pretty well as a jumping on point.

All you need to know is

[Minor spoilers]

The Doctor was in a great battle with the Daleks. From which he emerged victorious. But emotionally damaged.

When this story starts, he's off looking for hope. Something to inspire him to keep going. What he finds is a Timelord from the Gallifreyan Celestial Intervention Agency. Who offers him the chance to find hope. Via a mission to investigate a threat to all of time and space.

Which seems to be centred on an irish lady called Molly O'Sullivan. A member of the volunteer aid detachment who helped nurses during World War one.

Once Molly meets the Doctor, her life will never be the same again. But why is she so important?

This is a four part story. Spread over four Cd's. All of which come in their own individual cd boxes inside one larger cardboard one. Each disc is basically one long episode. The only breaks in them being the usual cd chapter ones. Each episode runs from fifty to fifty nine minutes [approx.]

The story does involve the Doctor. The Daleks. And the Timelords. Could it be the start of the Time war, you might ask?

At the time this was released, none of the audio stories were canon. But more recent events have seemingly made them such. Nevertheless, Big Finish's licence doesn't allow them to do anything involved with the new series. So make of it all what you will.

Early scenes are involving emotionally as Paul McGann does superbly convey the state the Doctor is in. He does have a new hairstyle and costume - as a result of events in 'To The Death' although this all being on the cover it doesn't really get referenced in the story. Peter Egan as the aforementioned Timelord does also command the attention right away thanks to a very commanding voice and vocal performance.

The World War one scenes are vivid and gripping because they feel so realistic. There's a great lot of decent characters there as well. And some fascinating history. People having their illusions shattered, and those who have experience of it being hard edged because they've become inured to all that's going on.

Molly - played by Ruth Bradley, who you might remember from the last two seasons of Primeval - is an appealing character from the off also. She has a strong and very appealing voice and her accent is spot on. She's a person who won't ever be awe struck by the Doctor and who can take him down a peg or two when required. She has compassion beneath the hard exterior she's had to develop. She also has a great sense of wonder.

Although this is an epic story in terms of scope, since there are a lot of different locations all over time and space, it's not one of action in the biggest sense. There aren't lots of scenes of huge spaceship battles or Dalek armies. It does end up being primarily a two hander focusing on the relationship between the Doctor and Molly. Both of whom grow and change as a result of contact with the other.

Episodes two and three can feel as if they're becoming run arounds at points. But all these moments serve to strengthen the two leads as characters. So they all have a point.

Which is not just to do that. Because everything does come together very well in part four. When you'll find out that everything was relevant. There are some excellent surprises. And although the final lot of explanations are rather involved, you shouldn't have too much trouble following anything.

This is a big story that does end up being very satisfying and justifying it's length. The Eighth Doctor will return soon in Dark Eyes Two. It should be worth the wait.

There is an extra disc in with the fourth cd, which contains an hours worth of interviews with cast and crew.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pennywhistle and Tardy boxes, 9 Dec 2013
By 
Ms. Sarah E. Tarrant (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Eyes (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
I've been a great fan of Paul McGann's eighth Doctor on audio going right back to his debut in 2001's `Storm Warning'. However when he was side-lined into his own single disc monthly releases I lost touch with this incarnation. Although financially focused on the monthly two disc and companion chronicles titles it was a definite target to somehow budget for the unique `Dark Eyes' box set and the distinctive vocal style of McGann. Having listened to it all this was absolutely the right decision as not only is Paul on top form but also new `companion' Molly O'Sullivan is instantly a memorable and refreshingly forthright Irish character.

I loved opening story `The Great War' due to its period setting and an initially dazed and confused Doctor. I appreciated the time travelling to 1972 and Second World War in second story `Fugitives' and very much enjoyed the alien world and inhabitants plus, initially, Daleks behaving in a very puzzling manor to the Doctor and Molly during third story `Tangled Web'. Personally I found fourth story `X and the Daleks' rather bewildering and somewhat muddled on a first listen but still great fun.

For me new Paul McGann Doctor Who was long overdue and I was delighted to buy a copy at a great reduced price from an Amazon seller. I understand that there are more `Dark Eyes' box sets planned for 2014 & 2015 and on the evidence of this first set this certainly looks like an exciting, imaginative and enjoyable new future for the eighth Doctor which I hope I'll be able to afford... but please lets have something other than Daleks in future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big Finish manage it again, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Eyes (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
Having heard the Eighth Doctor Adventures before with Sheridan Smith as Lucie Miller (don't worry if you haven't heard them it is not really necessary but it can help), I thought Big Finish couldn't do better. They have out done themselves and I wish Nicholas Briggs would write for the TV series.
I won't go too into detail with the story, but I received it really quickly considering it was over the Christmas/New Year period and it is of fantastic quality. I just can't wait for Dark Eyes 2. This is worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exellent Eighth Doctor vs Daleks Mini Series, 16 Oct 2013
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dark Eyes (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
Positive.
Paul McGann whom is exellent as always bringing out a darker weary sombre performance as the Doctor.
Great mini series arc that has four individual storys linking cleverly together.
Nick Briggs this Actor, Writer, Producer, Director & Voice of the Daleks, Cybermen, Ice Warriors & various other monsters is there anything he cant do?, Writes a fantastic follow up to his Eighth Doctor story To The Death.

Negative.
I was hoping for a bit more darkness from the Doctor as seeing that previous events seemed to have changed his view on the universe in To The Death, But hear he soon back to being the usual Eighth Doctor self, But this is a minor quibble.
You need to have heard Lucie Miller & To The Death to get a better understanding of this mini series.

Trivia.
Ruth Bradley appeared in Series Four & Five of Primeval as Jess Parker.
Toby Jones appeared in Amy's Choice & film credits include the recent Marvel movie Captain America The First Avenger.
Toby Jones is the son of actor Freddie Jones.
Paul McGann whom rarely does interviews did a photo shoot displaying his new Eighth Doctor costume for this boxset.

Review.
This is a 4 hour mini series or four CD adventures featuring The Eighth Doctor that links one whole plot arc, So it's best to listern to them in order.

The Great War.

The Doctor is a broken Timelord no longer the optimistic incarnation he once was, His latest encounter with The Daleks have taken it's toll, Emotionally saddened by the recent losses at the end of the events in To The Death, He's a Timelord without any hope.

When the Timelords here of the Doctors recent events they ask him to go on a mission for them, Eventually The Doctor agrees.

Tracking a DNA trace to World War 1 the Doctor encounters a voluntary Aid Worker Nurse Molly O Sullivan whom seems to have the darkest of eyes.
What is the mystery of Nurse Sullivan & why do the Timelords want The Doctor to track her down? & were do the Daleks fit into the grand scheme of things?

Fugitives.

The Doctor & Molly are on the run from The Daleks evading capture they now land in World War 2 still being targeted by the Daleks scout force they eventually travel in the Tardis to Earth 1972, The Doctor has a unusual encounter with a women with instructions for himself that he hasn't written yet?

The Tangled Web.

Molly O Sullivan has had many adventures with the Doctor but there is a mystery about her & in the grand scheme of things why is she so important?, The Doctor takes Molly back to the year 1893 were a strange incident occured when Molly was 2 years old could this be a clue to the mystery?

X & The Daleks.

In this concluding part of the mini series, The Doctor arrives on the planet Strangor a peaceful planet that the Daleks have destroyed & conquered, The mystery of Molly O Sullivan is finally revealed & the Timelords masterplan is about to reveal a shocking conclusion.

This 4 CD mini series is a epic adventure with the exellent dramatic writings of Nick Briggs who's Daleks storys are a constantly surprise to the listerner, Why this man has never written a tv episode is beyond belief?, He really knows how to pace a story arc, Write engaging Dalek storys & add the emotional beats to the storys narrative.

Paul McGann plays a more battle scared Timelord here in a darker place than he's ever felt before, His character has lost hope & the passion for travelling although this isn't played upon as much as I'd have liked Paul McGann is certainly evolving his incarnation of The Doctor not merely playing the same character traits in every story he's in.
Ruth Bradley does well as Nurse Molly O Sullivan whom the Doctor is sent by the Timelords to investigate, She comes over as a strong willed woman with a heart of gold & isn't a typical companion in distress.

Great supporting roles by Toby Jones as Kotris & Peter Egan as Straxus who's characters may have a mystery all to themselves.

The Daleks are effective in this series adding a emotional weight upon the Doctor of past confrontations, They dont merely rant exterminate all the time as Nick Briggs writes them manipulative with cunning that creates a exellent character arc for them.

This is highly recommended boxset & one of the best Eighth Doctor & Dalek releases ever, A classic mini series adventure & one of Big Finishes best releases to date.

This isn't the end of the Dark Eyes saga either as series 2 due for release 2014, Series 3 late 2014 & series 4 2015.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Audio Story Available, 26 Aug 2013
This review is from: Dark Eyes (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
Even if you don't usually like audio books and could never get into the Doctor Who Big Finish or Audio Go ranges you will still enjoy this. It's that good.
This audio story will make Eight one of your favourite Doctors and Molly one of your favourite companions. Outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great box set, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Eyes (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
Brilliant! Why Paul McGann didn't get to play the Doctor on TV more is criminal! Talk about a wasted opportunity!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is how I like My Doctor Who., 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Eyes (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
I really hope that Nicholas Briggs gets a chance to write for the actual TV series - he's on top form with this story. What I like about the audio dramas is that they don't try to be super cool like the TV series, they just focus on telling the best, most dramatic, character focused story they can. If I could afford to subscribe to Big Finish I would, but I mostly have to pick and choose what I think will be the best of the bunch. What I can tell you is that Dark Eyes is outstanding - better than anything I've seen of the TV series in a long time. Just buy it, find some you time, put your headphones on, and let it whisk you away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hope, 29 May 2013
This review is from: Dark Eyes (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
This was the first Doctor who audio adventure I ever purchased and as a result I will hold as the best. The story does what "Doctor Who" does best. It crosses centuries, planets and emotions as the four story arc unfolds. There are referances to (recentley) past stories but it is not necessary to listen to them to enjoy "Dark eyes".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic service, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Eyes (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
A quick service, would reconmend the service. My son loves this item bought it for him as a birthday present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant McGann, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Eyes (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
Great story, daleks on top form, good motivation to the Doc's actions too. The usual timey-wimey twists and turns. recommend it, very entertaining and engaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dark Eyes (Doctor Who)
Dark Eyes (Doctor Who) by Nicholas Briggs (Audio CD - Nov 2012)
40.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews