Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creepy!
I can honestly say that this is the first bit of Doctor Who that's actually scared me since I was about ten years old! It's very well done indeed, and if there's any weak point at all it's, I'm sad to say, Tom Baker, who does seem to be phoning in his performance. He definitely doesn't come across as he did in the seventies, but then perhaps I'm being unreasonable...
Published on 21 Mar 2012 by kbook

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a true fit to the era it is written for
This does not feel like the natural canonical continuation from The Talons of Weng-Chiang, because Horror of Fang Rock is far more serious as it still has the Hinchcliffe feel, so I feel that Leela is very well judged but the Doctor lesser so, because the script lays on a little too heavy the dialogue style from many stories on.

The story is quite good, but not...
Published on 3 Mar 2012 by R. Le Quin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a true fit to the era it is written for, 3 Mar 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Destination: Nerva (Doctor Who: The Fourth Doctor Adventures) (Audio CD)
This does not feel like the natural canonical continuation from The Talons of Weng-Chiang, because Horror of Fang Rock is far more serious as it still has the Hinchcliffe feel, so I feel that Leela is very well judged but the Doctor lesser so, because the script lays on a little too heavy the dialogue style from many stories on.

The story is quite good, but not brilliant. There are nice characters although the resolution perhaps not ideal. The crew seem too keen to run away. Picking up on hints of Talons (costumes and initial time period) and Nerva (Ark and Revenge) are a good idea but perhaps underused as Nerva was a key element to season 12, so it may as well been any station.

Tom Baker sounds marginally different to the 1970s which is understandable. Relaunching the mid-4th Doctor period is comparable to the relaunch of Blake's 7. Both have been done by Big Finish recently, and I think the B7 one is better. I am more convinced it is the same people and period-fitting scripts with B7 than I am the mid-4th Doctor period.

Big Finish over the last 10 years have bettered the 5th, 6th,7th and 8th Doctor eras over their television counterparts. Following the trend with the 4th Doctor era will be tricky, perhaps impossible and setting this story between two of the best classic Who stories (Talons and Horror) only draws attention to the fact that Destination Nerva is a weaker story with the wrong era dialogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best start, 31 Jan 2012
By 
Iain McClumpha (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Destination: Nerva (Doctor Who: The Fourth Doctor Adventures) (Audio CD)
When the BBC produced their 'enhanced' talking books with Tom Baker as the Doctor (Hornet's Nest) I found it tedious and dull beyond compare. This wasn't the way I wanted to hear the 4th Doctor and bemoaned the fact that it wasn't a Big Finish full cast production.
And then Big Finish announced they were to produce 4th Doctor full cast dramas... well I was over the Moon!

I pre-ordered a couple and this one arrived towards the end of January.
There was the theme I remember from my childhood and I settled back to listen to a cracking story. Only it isn't.

The actual story is slow and plodding, strange for such a short piece, with rather stilted dialogue from all concerned.
Tom sounds a little older but enough like his old self for me to visualise him, same with Louise. Generally the acting is good, as with nearly all of the BF plays, but this is just so boring.
After the initial excitement at the start of the story it just grinds to a halt and becomes a struggle to stay awake.

Hopefully the next release will be more exciting and up to the usual high standard for BF.

But one thing puzzles me - why are these only 2-part stories?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More please! and longer stories too please, 13 April 2012
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Destination: Nerva (Doctor Who: The Fourth Doctor Adventures) (Audio CD)
This is, I think, the first of the full cast audio dramas that Tom Baker was enticed back for (as opposed to the series of Fourth Doctor stories starting with Hornet's Nest). As such, there were great expectations for the re-teaming of Tom Baker as the Fourth Doctor and Louise Jameson as Leela. Would it live up to those expectations? Well - yes, and no, in my opinion.

Firstly, it's great to hear the Doctor and Leela back again - the story picks up when they leave Victorian London after helping Professor Litefoot and Henry Gordon Jago against Magnus Greel and the Peking Homunculus. Still in their Victorian garb, the time travelling duo end up in the middle of a rather unexpected situation - what are the Drelleran doing and why are they warning the Doctor against "the humans"? And how is this linked to a future which holds the newly built Space Dock Nerva (another nod to the "classic" tv series - The Ark in Space)?

This starts off really well - action, aliens, mysterious ailments and even more mysterious humans - and the anticipation is growing - and then it's all over! And that's where it all went wrong - the story is only two episodes - one cd - it built itself up in the first episode, kept building up in the second episode - and then all ended with a fizz and a few convenient quick fixes. The story fails only because of this - it needed to be at least three, preferably four episodes with the same pacing - building up, more explanations required, and more threads to be tied off without the convenience of just having them go away, as they seemed to here.

A shame - a great start, but slightly let down; I can't wait to hear more of the Doctor and Leela - the Fourth Doctor has always been my favourite and I am really wanting to hear more stories with him in it - let's hope they get even more exciting from now on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creepy!, 21 Mar 2012
This review is from: Destination: Nerva (Doctor Who: The Fourth Doctor Adventures) (Audio CD)
I can honestly say that this is the first bit of Doctor Who that's actually scared me since I was about ten years old! It's very well done indeed, and if there's any weak point at all it's, I'm sad to say, Tom Baker, who does seem to be phoning in his performance. He definitely doesn't come across as he did in the seventies, but then perhaps I'm being unreasonable expecting him to! (Having said that, Louise Jameson is her usual pitch-perfect self as Leela).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who: The Fourth Doctor Adventures - Destination Nerva, 13 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Destination: Nerva (Doctor Who: The Fourth Doctor Adventures) (Audio CD)
Destination Nerva has been an enjoyable listen, and my first proper Big Finish audio I bought and I wasn't at all disappointed. Tom Baker and Louise Jameson are on fine form, but the plot doesn't seem to go anywhere as if it is neither here nor there. Normally that would bother me, but as the cast is so strong and it feels like a performance out of 1977, it doesn't detract from the story too much. I have a feeling that the story is part of an arc, so hopefully Nerva should make more sense.

Well worth the 7 I paid for, I could justify paying 11 per audio if they are all as good as or better than this.

8/10.

Roll on The Renaissance Man!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent But Not Outstanding, 23 Dec 2013
By 
Timelord007 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Destination: Nerva (Doctor Who: The Fourth Doctor Adventures) (Audio CD)
Positive.
1)Tom Baker fits back into his iconic role as the Fourth Doctor like he's never been away.
2)Louise Jameson as Leela a wonderful actress expands on Leelas intelligence of her lessons taught by the Doctor.
3)Nerva & a mutation plot always a good yarn.

Negative
This story needed another 10 minutes as it ends abruptly & is not fleshed out or explained clearly which disappointed this listener.

Trivia.
1)Raquel Cassidy appeared in NuWho season six story The Rebel Flesh/The Almost People.
2)This story takes place directly after The Talons of Weng-Chiang.
3) Nerva Beacon appeared in The Ark In Space & Revenge Of The Cybermen in season 12 of Tom's first season as the Doctor.

CD Info.
1x CD, Running Time 60 minutes approx,Trailer,Behind the scenes interviews.

Review.
The Fourth Doctor & Companion Leela answer a distress call arriving at a English manor house arrive in 1895 from there the travellers investigation takes them on a chase against a spaceship that's heading towards Nerva Beacon.

What is the mystery of the spaceship & it's cargo & why is the Doctor so compelled to stop the crew boarding Nerva Beacon?

This has a promising premise & a good first part in episode one but episode two let's the story down somewhat.

Nicholas Briggs has wrote some Gems for Big Finish especially story's involving Daleks but this story runs away from him as everything seems rushed & crammed into a abrupt final 5 minutes giving no breathing space for the plot & throws the pace of the story off.

This story needed about a extra 10 minutes to flesh out & explain the conclusion more thoroughly & it could have then got a better rating by this reviewer.

On the positive side to this audio adventure Tom Baker acts though he never been away easing back into his most iconic role of the Fourth Doctor with ease.

Louise Jameson has the chance in these play's to expand upon her character of Leela being taught by the Doctor as they travel together, I seethere relationship as more teacher/student than Doctor/companion.

The horror in this play is similar in tone to the Hinchcliffe era instead of the lighter humourous tone of Graham Williams seasons & with this story it does build to some gruesome disturbing moments as the spaceship crew mutate & then attempt to break into & mutate the crew of Nerva Beacon.

It's such a pity it loses it way towards the end as it left this listener with a "Is that it" attitude.

Good but not a great start to the Fourth Doctor adventures by Big Finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Destination: Nerva (Doctor Who: The Fourth Doctor Adventures) (Audio CD)
A great start for Tom Baker's Doctor on big finish, and much better than I have heard people say.

It really feels like it takes place mere seconds after Talons of Weng Chiang, however, a little imagination is required, as Tom does sound older.

Don't get me wrong, he sounds great, but does come across as being an older Doctor. While this may seem like a bad thing, it isn't, you really have to understand that different and worse are two very different things.

As for the story itself, the music is very fitting and compliments the 4th Doctor, the monster/s thoroughly menacing and the cast all very good at their respective roles, but don't be fooled by the bright cover, this is a dark story. I imagine the corridors and the metallic rooms of early Nerva (some gaping vast, some tight like those of a submarine) to be dimly lit in military blue. A must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my favourite in season one, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Destination: Nerva (Doctor Who: The Fourth Doctor Adventures) (Audio CD)
Having listened to Tom Baker's Hornet's Nest/Demon's Quest and Serpent's Crest from BBC Audio Go I wasn't sure what I was going to expect from Big Finish? And WOW yes the previous were good and worth getting but this story felt like the whole audio adventure's with Tom Baker just got a more gloss of paint. Infact I would go as far to say one got a bit tense listening part way through, something that not happened since I was a child watching the Alien in the 'City Of Death' ripping off his false human head at the end of an episode.The story is great and there is a feel to 'The Ark In Space' with the destination being on Nerva and an Alien race consuming humans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dull,dull,dull, 27 Jan 2012
This review is from: Destination: Nerva (Doctor Who: The Fourth Doctor Adventures) (Audio CD)
Hate to say it but as with first couple of reviews i'm in agreement this is one dull story,it drifts along going nowhere the debut of Tom Baker should have been better than this,indeed the lost stories boxset is great but this its like porridge all thick and stodgy.

Ok the good points,there's little doubt Big Finish have the "feel" right Baker and Jameson sound as they did back in the '70's and in that resepct it should have got a better story to go with it,but hey ho no point worrying about it now i've no doubt better stories are coming along but this one..no it should have been perhaps released later in the series.

To me,as a massive Big Finish fan i have no doubt that Tom Bakers doctor is in more than safe hands it's just a shame it's got off to a sticky start i expect better next time out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars When I say run, run... RUN!, 28 Feb 2012
This review is from: Destination: Nerva (Doctor Who: The Fourth Doctor Adventures) (Audio CD)
It's nice to hear Tom and Louise together again , but the story is a bit perfunctory. It's a "runaway from the monster" type show, with the usual Nick Briggs' gruff lower class workmen type extras in there. Its not long, though and serves as an okay introduction to the fourth doctor's first season. I hope for better next time! More "Fourth-Doctor-isms" would be nice in future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Destination: Nerva (Doctor Who: The Fourth Doctor Adventures)
Destination: Nerva (Doctor Who: The Fourth Doctor Adventures) by Nicholas Briggs (Audio CD - 31 Jan 2012)
9.47
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews