Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars9
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 50 REVIEWERon 18 December 2015
This story is the 156th release in the Big Finish Main Range, and features the Sixth Doctor, as played by Colin Baker. The story begins with a scene on present-day Earth, with Flip Jackson (who had played a role in the story The Crimes of Thomas Brewster) catching the late bus home with her boyfriend Jared. Their trip home is interrupted when a spaceship flies overhead and crash lands some distance away. Flip is determined to find out what’s going on, and they head over there. Much to her surprise, the occupant of the spaceship is familiar to her. From there, Flip and Jared find themselves in the middle of a sci-fi epic all of their own, as old and new acquaintances are made, time is travelled, and the Tardis travellers all find themselves at the scene of one of the greatest battles in Europe.

It’s hard to write much about this story without giving away spoilers. Suffice it to say that Colin Baker, as the Sixth Doctor, and Terry Molloy, as Davros, are absolutely brilliant. Davros and the Doctor are very very old enemies, and the history of their relationship, and all the bitterness and underlying hatred that exists between them is brought to the fore throughout this story.

The setting, and the peripheral characters in the story are really well portrayed, and the historical setting, which I thought might spoil some of my pleasure in the story, really did play well to the resolution. I think the weak links for me were Flip (as played by Lisa Greenwood) and Jared (as played by Ashley Kumar). I did not find them to be strongly written, or interesting characters; in fact I found them both quite annoying. That aside, this is a story that is to be relished for the brilliant showing by Colin Baker and Terry Molloy, and supported by a good cast, excellent production, and very apt music throughout.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A new Doctor Who audio play featuring Colin Baker as the Doctor. It's the first in a trilogy that gives him a new companion. Philippa 'Flip' Jackson. A young girl from present day London.

Flip and her boyfriend Jared met the sixth Doctor before, in Dr Who 143 the Crimes of Thomas Brewster (Dr Who Big Finish). But those who haven't heard that story should be able to get into this one quite easily.

It runs for four episodes which are spread over two cds. The episodes run from thirty to thirty eight minutes in length [approx].

The story sees Flip and Jared - just as the former is starting to yearn for a bit more from her life - when he emerges from an escape capsule after a spaceship crash. But he's on the run from Davros and the Daleks. Who turn London into a battlground and force Flip and the Doctor into a desperate fight for survival.

There are far bigger things going on here though. What Davros is really interested in is happening almost two hundred years beforehand. At the battle of Waterloo.

Can Flip and the Doctor keep history on course?

As an introduction to a new companion this is an excellent piece of work. Flip is a strong character and very well acted, and very brave at points. Lisa Greenwood who plays her has very good chemistry with Colin Baker.

The other main thrust of this is the relationship between the Sixth Doctor and Dalek creator Davros. The two are great foes because they are intellectual equals. Terry Molloy, who played the role in the show on tv back in the 1980's returns to the part, for a story that really considers the relationship between the two in a way that has never been done before. And really adds great depth to it.

It Also lets Colin Baker and Terry Molloy stretch their performances into wholly new areas.

The historical aspect of this is also fascinating, thanks to great performances from the actors playing Wellington and Napoleon, and superb incidental music does make some of the battle sequences very gripping at points.

The episodes are all on the long side but they're all so involving that you barely notice. And listening to them absolutely flies by.

A really strong start to what should be a very good trilogy.

Disc one ends with just under twenty minutes of the musical score from the story.

There is a trailer for The Fourth Wall (Doctor Who) the next story in this trilogy, right after the end of part four on disc two.

And five minutes of interviews with cast and crew right after that. These are a lot shorter than usual, probably because of the length of the episodes, but they are still quite good and worth a listen.
11 comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2015
The Sixth Doctor hitches up with Flip (whom he'd met briefly in an earlier adventure)....or does he?
Tour-de-force performances by Colin Baker & Terry Molloy, plus a lovely debut from Lisa Greenwood as the latest spunky, big-hearted, streetwise girl to travel in the TARDIS. (Have we had a few too many of them?)
I won't write too much about the plot, as there are so many surprises and twists that I'd be spoiling it by attempting to summarize.
Let's just say that Napoleon and Wellington feature in it, the latter played by an old thesp who bears an uncanny resemblance to the Duke but has sadly never (to my knowledge) played him on stage or screen.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 February 2012
A densely packed story with the return of Flip (from The Crimes of Thomas Brewster) and more notably (perhaps) Terry Molloy as Davros. A good romp through the battlefields of Waterloo and lots of humour sprinkled in (I laughed out loud on the train when Flip met Napoleon).

There is a plot twist that I spotted early and this did nothing to spoil my enjoyment; the resolution is solid and on the evidence of this episode there is plenty of mileage in the latest companion.

My only complaints were around how brutal some of the opening scenes were and how matter of fact the characters were in the face of bloodshed. The humour did help lighten the mood and I imagine on a re-listen I might score this higher.

We await The Fourth Wall eagerly!
33 comments6 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2015
‘The Curse of Davros’ was written by Jonathan Morris and directed by Nick Briggs. This audio drama was recorded on 6 and 7 June 2011. The destruction of Flip's flat and the death of the humans who had been occupied by Daleks would be referred to as the Thames Mead Massacre and would be dealt with by Charlie Sato in the Companion Chronicle ‘Mastermind’.

Publisher Summary: “It's been a year since Philippa "Flip" Jackson found herself transported by Tube train to battle robot mosquitoes on a bizarre alien planet in the company of a Time Lord known only as "the Doctor".
Lightning never strikes twice, they say. Only now there's a flying saucer whooshing over the top of the night bus taking her home. Inside: the Doctor, with another extra-terrestrial menace on his tail — the Daleks, and their twisted creator Davros!
But while Flip and the fugitive Doctor struggle to beat back the Daleks' incursion into 21st century London, Davros's real plan is taking shape nearly 200 years in the past, on the other side of the English Channel. At the battle of Waterloo...”

Nick Briggs’ direction was mostly good but confusing at times. The music is good but fails to make much of an impact. Like the story itself it’s all rather hit and miss.

Lisa Greenwood is great as Flip (Philippa) Jackson; she manages to be amusing at times without being cringe worthy, although she does have a habit of undermining tension at times. Flip makes the perfect companion, someone who is bored of the mundanity of her existence and finds the Doctor. Nice they have given Flip such a good introduction story as a companion, having briefly appeared in ‘The Crimes of Thomas Brewster’. After Flip’s boyfriend Jared is allowed his mind back he allows us an insight into the state of a Dalek mind, and with later events we are told how Davros’ existence is filled with constant pain. The interplay between Davros and the Doctor is scintillating in latter scenes. Davros’ sadistic streak is brought to the listener’s attention when he orders Daleks to self-destruct or orders the Supreme Dalek to increase its brain electro-stimulation by a factor of ten as a punishment.

What makes this great is the characterisation. Allowing us an insight into the mind set of various characters with the use of mind swap technology and it’s put to great effect. But it’s far from perfect as the tone is quite light hearted at times and lacks sufficient realism and tension. The battle of Waterloo element is rather odd and at times feels out of place but at the same time it’s an attempt at something different; I am grateful for that. Apparently Davros is big fan of Napoleon. Odd. Despite certain flaws this is still very entertaining.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2012
A great historica romp for the Dr. I wondered if Davros was being over used, but actually, it works brilliantly, he is more like the Master, trying to change the course of history. There is history, philosophy, action, adventure and humour. Well done the big finish team.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is the hundred and fifty sixth release from Big Finish in their range of full cast audio adventures starring classic Doctor Whos. It stars Colin Baker as Six and Lisa Greenwood as Phillipa ‘Flip’ Jackson. There are four episodes, roughly 30-40 minutes each, complete with cliffhangers and original theme music between each. Two episodes per disc on 2 discs, and a short booklet with some pictures of the cast and production notes. There are some interviews with cast and crew at the end of the second disc and a few minutes of the soundtrack at the end of disc 1.

This is the first in a trilogy of adventures that features new companion Flip Jackson, reintroduced here after her supporting role in ‘The Crimes Of Thomas Brewster’. And what a reintroduction! She rescues the Doctor from a spaceship that just happens to crash nearby when on her way home from a night out. Pretty soon the two are being hunted by Daleks across London. But the real story is happening 200 years ago at the battle of Waterloo, just what do Davros and the Daleks want with Napoleon?

This is an energetic tale that gives us a fun and interesting new companion who provides a real contrast to previous companions Evelyn, Peri, Charley and Mel. Flip works well with old Sixie, and there is a real chemistry between Greenwood and Baker.

More importantly is the chemistry between Baker and Terry Molloy as Davros. Their relationship is taken to a whole new level here, as each gains a better understanding of their adversary. Each actor is on the top of their game, bringing out the subtleties of the characters they are asked to play. The interaction between them is simply delicious.

This is an exuberant, confident, fun and mind bending tale from Big Finish that will go down as one of their classics. The only slight let down is that the interviews with cast and crew at the end of disc two concentrate on the new companion, and there is no room for a chat with Baker or Molloy about how they achieved their incredible performances. No matter though, this is still a stonkingly good story and worth 5 stars.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2012
My initial impressions of this audio drama were not favourable - Phillipa 'Flip' Jackson's grating Estuary English and an opening that reminded me of 'The Ultimate Adventure' immediately set my teeth on edge, however by the time of the unusual arrival of the Sixth Doctor, my interest had been piqued, especially by his unusually clipped phraseology and slightly forced manner.
By the time the play had finished, I was still struggling to get over what is a very vacuous and one-dimensional companion for The Doctor; certainly compared with the likes of Evelyn Smythe and Charlie Pollard, but the play itself is a decent if unspectacular effort, with what is arguably one of the greatest reveals the series has ever seen at the end of disc one.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2012
I'm yet to find any of the Big Finish stories that I hate, and that continues with this months releases. It's great to have Davros back and the twists in the plot are great.
A great addition to any BF collection
0Comment2 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.