Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The marvellous mechanical men, 22 Nov 2011
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Silver Turk (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
A new Doctor Who audio story, featuring Paul McGann as the Doctor.

When regular listeners to these last heard the eighth Doctor in a story, his travels with Lucie Miller had just come to an end.To the Death (Doctor Who: The New Eighth Doctor Adventures). But this story takes place a long time before that one. In fact it takes place prior to the very first eighth Doctor audio Storm Warning (Doctor Who), which mentioned in passing that he once travelled with Frankenstein writer Mary Shelley.

In the audio The Company of Friends (Doctor Who) there was an episode which described how they met and how she came to travel with him. This story follows right on from that.

You should be able to get into this easily enough if you haven't heard that, though. Casual listeners might be a little puzzled by a passing reference to some other friends of the Doctor's, but beyond that it's completely accessible.

It runs for four episodes and is spread over two cd's. Each episode runs from thirty to thirty four minutes approx.

After a scary and rather sinister opening sequence involving a frightened man trying to escape someone, and a rather sinister - but beautifully sung - lullably - the story then gets going with the Doctor and Mary arriving in Vienna in the 19th century, at the time of the great Viennese exposition.

One of the wonders of this is the Silver Turk, a marvellous machine that can play musical instruments. Among other things. Only the Doctor knows what it really is. A Cyberman.

But there are other and perhaps nastier threats lurking in the city...

The first episode is incredibly absorbing for the most part, making a great effort to characterise Mary. And it does this superbly. Very much a woman of her time and not someone who just takes all the amazing new things she sees quite in her stride because of that, she is nonetheless practical and moral and determined. All of which comes over well in the writing and the performance of the actress playing her.

It then does go a bit slack for a few minutes whilst trying to get the Doctor to meet the Silver turk.

After that though, although the other episodes are longer than the usual twenty five minutes, this a very absorbing story. Rich in period feel and characterisation, with some superb villainy and a few images of monsters afoot that would look amazing on tv, this does have some great twists and turns and manages to do a Cyberman story that's not quite what you might be expecting. The fact that it's the original version of them from their very first story does allow for that.

At the same time the story does let the Doctor Mary relationship develop very well and leaves the two in the right place at the end.

Solid historical drama with memorable monsters and great imagery, plus some excellent supporting characters, this is a great start to this run of stories.

A trailer for the next, The Witch from the Well (Doctor Who) can be found after episode four on disc two.

There are roughly nine minutes of music from the story at the end of disc one.

The usual interviews that come with these are surprisingly short here. Just a couple of minutes of snippets of interviews with cast and crew at the end of disc two. But they're good. If brief.

Do also be aware that there is a short scene after the end of the closing credits to episode four.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In search of Mondas, 21 Dec 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silver Turk (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
It is no giveaway that this story features Early Cyberman as it is on the audio cover. In nearly all stories, teasers aside, we know the Daleks or Cybermen are going to be in it because of the name or the product cover. It would otherwise have been an even greater revelation if we did not know that the Silver Turk was going to be a Cyberman.

Paul McGann only had one small screen "episode" of Doctor Who, for which we can say that the television movie was ok but the Doctor was fabulous. Big Finish in early 2001 produced a season of four McGann stories, following up with six the following year, such that we have four proper seasons of McGann and many more stories besides including a bespoke range of Eighth Doctor adventures which ran for four series. For anyone who listens to the range, the eighth Doctor has had many fantastic adventures courtesy of Big Finish and The Silver Turk is no exception. The Doctor is joined by newish companion (one small story beforehand) Mary Shelley prior to her writing of novels. It always seems a shame when Doctor Who companions change, but both on television and with Big Finish audios, the next companion brings a whole new dynamic to the TARDIS crew, and Shelley is an inspired choice. This is not so much a change as a different companion as Big Finish have the opportunity, where canonicity allows to thread in additional adventures almost anywhere.

The great thing about the McGann "seasons" of Big Finish audios is that they are the only Doctor Who stories using past Doctors where they can experiment with the theme tune. They always come as a bit of a surprise because they are fresh and triumphant. Naturally they are shorter for audio but that does not detract.

The use of Cybermen in this story is clever. They are feeble but for good reason. They come across chilling as we and the Doctor know that Cybermen become bad very early on, but in this early instance we are provided with constant uncertainty because of naïve optimism, which is not necessarily misplaced in the setting it is in.

The 2011 series 6 of Doctor Who was excellent all bar the dumbed-down episode Closing Time which underused the Cybermen. The Silver Turk is a far better example of a Cybermen tale and a far more worthwhile Doctor Who adventure; and probably the strongest example (using the same monster as a parallel) of where audio adventures can be better than television ones.

An excellent Doctor Who product and one that I am already looking forward to hearing again. If one has not heard previous McGann adventures, this could be a good place to join.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Silver Turk - not a very good piano player, 19 Dec 2011
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silver Turk (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
I admit to being a bit puzzled - the first episode of this story, we are treated to tantalising glimpses of the "Silver Turk" - the marvellous automaton which can apparently play chess, and play the piano. And when the Doctor finally reveals what it actually is ... it's not much of a surprise because it's drawn on the cover of the cd!!!! And quite clearly advertises Nicholas Briggs playing the Cybermen. Why would you do that? Rather defeats the purpose really of building up the suspense for the listener. However, that's a small quibble, as the Cyberman, while certainly integral to the story, are by no means all that waits in the darkness!

This story slides rapidly in gothic horror; visitations by coaches that have strange horses making their appearance right at the beginning of the story, along with strange nursery rhymes, strange exhibits at a local "Exposition"; and mysterious murders, and even more mysterious strangers in the Vienna nights. The Cyberman's purpose and mission on Earth becomes slowly clearer, and the story winds up to a macabre ending with all sorts of unforeseen matters unfolding to the listener.

The character of Mary Shelley - I'm not sure I can really get a feel for her as a companion to the Doctor - she has some trouble with being in her `future' and with the Doctor showing no compassion to the Cyberman - I haven't heard any other stories with her in, so it may be that I need to hear more of her character to understand the relationship. Clearly the Doctor is intrigued by her as the author of her novels which are known to us now; so that would explain his interest in sharing the universe with her further.

All up, while the (gasp!) unveiling of the Cybermen is a bit of a damp squib, the story does not rest too heavily on this discovery; the story is multifaced, multi-threaded and moves quite quickly along on its own momentum. A very good story I thought; the right mix of humour, horror, and uncertainty to make it a gripping listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Forget silver, this is pure Gold!, 30 July 2014
This review is from: The Silver Turk (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
Now with a young Mary Shelley as his companion, the Eighth Doctor decides to take the TARDIS on a trip to late 19th century Vienna, home of pastry, waltzes and now, the Vienesse Exposition, a showcase for all the marvels of the modern age. In particular, the enigmatic automata 'The Silver Turk', a seemingly sentient machine who can play music and games. However, as the cover indicates, there is more darker forces at work here than just mechanical miracles....

Despite botching the major twist out the gate thanks to the cover art, Platt's four-parter is still well worth the purchase. Given the chance he never received on television, McGann elegant and gentlemanly Eighth Doctor has thrived on Big Finish audio, and this is no exception. Joining him is Julie Cox as THE Mary Shelley, and her refinement yet also vocality makes her a perfect match for McGann. However, the star of the show is veteran Nicholas Briggs as the Cybermen, here in their earliest incarnation. They still have a tinge of humanity as opposed to their later, much colder voices, and Briggs exploits this, making the Cybermen, mangled and battered though they are, both threatening yet oddly sympathetic, much like the Dalek in, well, 'Dalek'.

Indeed, Platt's script does follow in that general footstep of the frightening yet sympathetic monster (doubly fitting given Shelley's presence), but now with a period flavour, and while this may lose some points for originality, the story deftly balances tension, humour, thrills and even moments of touching emotion. As if that isn't enough, the technical crew do another solid job, recreating the elegance of Vienna in audio form, classical music, horse-drawn carriages and even the odds ticks of mechanical automata.

As for extras, like most BF Audios, each half ends with a making of/interviews with some of the cast and crew, so business as normal. To cap off, 'The Silver Turk' is truly a great serial, proving yet again a triumph of concept and execution in equal measure, and when you can get the audience to feel some sorrow for beings like the Cybermen, that's really commendable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Silver Turk: Why are you here? It’s certainly not to give piano lessons!, 26 Mar 2014
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silver Turk (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
This is the hundred and fifty third release from Big Finish in their range of full cast audio adventures starring classic Doctor Whos. It stars Paul McGann as Eight and Julie Cox as Mary Shelly. There are four episodes, roughly 25-30 minutes each, complete with cliffhangers and original theme music between each. Two episodes per disc on 2 discs, and a short booklet with some pictures of the cast and production notes. There are some interviews with cast and crew at the end of the second disc and a few minutes of the soundtrack at the end of disc 1.

This is the first of a trilogy of adventures that welcomes Eight back to the Big Finish main range (after four successful series all of his own) and teams him up with Mary Shelly, whom he met over thirty releases ago in his last main range outing, Company of Friends.

From the off there is a feeling that this is something special. I just LOVE the new arrangement of the theme tune used here, and hope that BF find plenty of opportunity to use it many more times. Another point in the dram’s favour is that it takes us back in time in the Eighth Doctor’s history, pre Lucie Miller, pre Charlotte Pollard, pre all the dark stuff that has happened to him, so we get the enthusiastic breathless romantic full of tiggerish energy and bounce that was lost as this Doctor saw too much of the dark side of the universe. Contrasted with this bouncy, fun Doctor is a very dark story opening, one that sent a real chill down my spine. It’s a great decision on the part of Big Finish, and gives us one of the best releases for a long time.

The Doctor and Mary Shelly arrive in Vienna, where they hear of a magical automaton, the Silver Turk of the title. Meanwhile some very grisly murders are taking place. It’s not long before the Doctor and Mary are getting to the root of a dark mystery, as they come to grips with a real puppet master.

The production is excellent. As can be seen form the front cover, Cybermen are at the heart of the story, and we are treated to some pre-Tenth Planet Cybermen who are used in a brilliant fashion by Big Finish, doing something quite new with them and evoking sympathy. We see them through the eyes of the naive Mary Shelly, who has some great character moments with them. There are brilliant set pieces, brilliant ideas (the marionettes are a simply wonderful idea that I found really creepy and hope there is room for another appearance in Big Finish for these)

It’s a production bursting with energy, ideas and ambition and has the talent to realise all three. It’s also thought provoking, and definitely the best thing BF have released for quite some time. 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Eighth Doctor Cyberman Adventure, 19 Feb 2014
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Silver Turk (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
CD Info.
2xCD of a 4 episode story, Running time 120 minutes approx, Trailer, Music, Behind the scenes.

Trivia.
1)In the Eighth Doctors timeline this adventure is set before Storm Warning.
2)This adventure follows on directly from The Company Of Friends:Mary's Story were the Doctor first encountered Mary Shelley.
3)Marc Platt also wrote the Cybermen audio adventure Spare Parts.

Story Synopsis.
The Eighth Doctor takes Mary Shelley who will one day become a famous British writer on her first trip in the Tardis were they accidentally end up 57 year's in Mary's future of 1873 Vienna.

While there the travellers investigate the Vienna Exposition inside is a automaton known as the Turk who has superior intellect as it can play music & board games against human opponents.

But for the Doctor the Turk goes by another name as it is one of the Timelords greatest enemy's known as a Cyberman!

The Cyberman wishes to rebuild himself & return to his home planet of Monda as the Doctor & Mary are drawn into the mystery of who is controlling the Cyberman as the duo discover that the Cyberman isn't the only horrors they will encounter.

Timelord Thoughts.

If Big Finish want to adapt a sequel to a classic tv adventure who do they call?

Marc Platt apparently as Mr Platt is known for writing superb follow ups to classic tv adventures from Spare Parts to The Butcher Of Brisbane, Eldrad Must Die to The Silver Turk.

This is another brilliantly written Cyberman adventure by Marc Platt who has written a Intriguing mystery as slowly through episode 1 Platts writing builds up to the eventual Cybermans reveal.

The pacing is excellent as the story decends into gothic horror which Doctor Who does extremely well on a audio medium with this story getting quite sinister in places.

Paul McGann gives an Outstanding performance as the Eighth Doctor in this audio adventure & unlike his seventh incarnation his Doctor likes to whizz about the galaxy & appreciate it's magnificent wonders & with a new compainion in tow named Mary Shelley.

Mary Shelley seems to work quite well in this adventure played by Julie Cox & I guess time will tell how this character will unfold in later audio adventures.

The Cyberman are of The Tenth Planet type as seen on the cover but Nicolas Briggs hasn't resorted to there campy voices of that adventure & has added an uncertain quality into the Cybermans voice.

This is one of Big Finishes best Cyberman audio adventures & equally on par with Marc Platts other Cybermen story Spare Parts.

Gothic chilling horror at it's audio best & a highly recommended purchase to Doctor Who fan's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mary Shelley's first trip in the TARDIS with Vienna and Cybermen!, 12 Feb 2014
This review is from: The Silver Turk (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
`The Silver Turk' is a four-part story and is the start of a trilogy of adventures with Paul McGann as the Eighth Doctor.

I like Paul McGann's Doctor and it's great to have his resurgence in Big Finish audios to make up for his only TV appearance. At the time of listening to this play, I hadn't listened to many of his audio adventures. So it's a nice treat when I subscribed to Big Finish to have this first adventure in a trilogy of adventures with Paul McGann's Doctor and an unlikely new companion.

The Eighth Doctor's life has greatly expanded in various horizons and especially in his audio adventures he's had a long run of adventures. Initially he had a long run of adventures with Charley Pollard and then had a new-series style set of stories with Lucie Miller. This time now, we take a sidestep in a trilogy of stories featuring the Eighth Doctor where he has adventures with a literary gothic author Mary Shelley (played by Julie Cox).

This story follows on from `Mary's Story' in 'The Company of Friends' where the Eighth Doctor first meets her.

I'm not very familiar with the works of Mary Shelley , other than knowing she wrote `Frankenstein' that famous gothic horror novel everyone knows about. I also didn't understand how she came to be travelling with the Eighth Doctor first. That was before I listened to her actual first meeting with the Doctor in `The Company of Friends'. Once it had been established Mary had met the Doctor before, I was able to get into this story easily and you just as well get this story standalone as well as subscribing to Big Finish to get a free download of `Mary's Story' anyway. I wasn't sure at first if the Doctor was to take a historical figure as his companion to travel in time and space. But I grew to like it in the end and it seemed alright anyway.

I enjoyed listening to the Eighth Doctor and Mary Shelley in `The Silver Turk' as they work so well together and are a perfect fitting, making Paul McGann's Byronic nature stand out well. Paul McGann and Julie Cox who play the characters seem to enjoy working with each other, and it's great to have that especially in an audio production.

The story opens with a brand new theme music for `Doctor Who' by Jamie Robertson who also provides the music for this story. It's an exciting new theme tune that's rich in music, although I do prefer the David Arnold theme when it concerns the Eighth Doctor stories.

This is Mary Shelley's first trip in the TARDIS, and the Doctor takes her to Vienna. Mary's absolutely delighted and astounded, until she finds out that the Doctor slightly jumped off the mark and gone 57 years in the future from 1816 to 1873. They witness the Vienna Exposition where art and culture is at its highest. But something's amiss as there are people being dragged off the streets, captured and brutally murdered with their eyes gouged out. The Doctor and Mary are intrigued by this and investigate further until events lead up in connection to a automaton playing chess called the `Silver Turk'. But as the Doctor discovers much to his horror, there's a lot more to this mechanical half-man half machine than he appears and knows what it is. It turns out...to be a Cyberman!

This story feels like a proper classical drama with its nineteenth century setting and with its music and atmosphere, making it really enjoyable and intriguing to listen to like those authentic period dramas the BBC makes. It's pretty good story by Marc Platt, that contains lots of ideas and lots of plot threads interconnecting with each other.

I like Mary Shelley played by Julie Cox. I don't know much about Mary as a historical character and who she is, but from listening to Julie's performance I could really get into the character. Julie's really lovely with a clear voice and a warm personality. I really enjoyed hearing her as Mary. I've seen Julie only recently in an Agatha Christie Miss Marple film with Geraldine McEwan. Mary's an interesting character sympathising with the monster, as we would expect her when she's writing `Frankenstein'. I like her scenes with the lone Cyberman she sympathises with Gramm. I also like how she disagrees with the Doctor and is appalled by his disregard for the Cybermen when she pities them and he doesn't. It's an interesting portrayal of this historical character and great to listen to with Julie performing as Mary.

I enjoyed listening to the Doctor in this as well. Paul McGann excels in the part and is very enthuastic when it comes to show Mary the wonders of Vienna and confronting his old enemies the Cybermen. His Byronic character suits him well for 19th century Vienna and he gels pretty well with Mary Shelley's character. I like how he tries to persuade Alfred Stahlbaum to listen to him regarding the Cyberman posing as the Silver Turk. I enjoyed it when he gets annoyed with the Turk's pianoforte performance with its `clunk, clunk, clunk' and not believing it for one minute. He reveals the Turk's identity as a Cybermen at the end of `Part One', making for one exciting cliffhangers. Paul McGann's energy shines throughout and it's clear he's enjoying doing these stories and enjoys exploring an interesting relationship with his new companion Mary Shelley. Even when Mary smashes the Doctor's sonic screwdriver, he's full of amazement.

Gareth Armstrong guest stars as the story's villain in `The Silver Turk', playing Dr Johan Drossel. Who fans will know Gareth well for playing a character in the Tom Baker story `The Masque of Mandragora'. He's great as a villain in this. Drossel is an inventor of marionettes - puppets - that really life-like and horrifying. He keeps a rogue Cyberman to kidnap people off the streets and kill them. He wants the Silver Turk from Alfred Stahlbaum who he claims stole it from him. His motives are mysterious, but he provides such a richness to his voice and performance making him so dramatic. He's a villain with charm and clarity and is really interesting to listen to. It's no easy to kill him, as Stahlbaum discovers in `Part 2' and he gets into a fit of anger towards the end when his Cyberman Gramm opposes against him and refuses to obey him.

Another guest star is David Schneider playing Ernst Bratfisch, a horse and cab driver. Bratfisch is an interesting character who provides help to the Doctor and Mary out on the streets of Vienna. He's seen and heard what's happened with the murder victims and has seen a horse and carriage with no driver and a strange horse. He gets to take part in the adventure, helping the Doctor sort out Count Wittenmeier in prison and waiting for him out of Stahlbaum's `playhouse' where the Turk is. He's rather reluctant to listen to the Doctor's explanations in `Part Three' and rides off on his horse and carriage, not able to take the explanations in. David Schneider plays Bratfisch with such believability making him a real 19th century character with wife and children. It's such a shock and shame he got killed in `Part Three'. But he comes back as a puppet which is quite disturbing.

There's Albert Stahlbaum played by Christian Brassington in this story. He's a rather misguided and arrogant sort of character who's pretty full of himself and has high delusions of grandeur. He has a fancy for the Countess Mitzi Wittenmeier who he used he know when he was young and they were both one-time sweethearts. He's under the delusion he invented the Turk himself, and is shocked and becomes difficult when either the Doctor threatens the Turk or when Drossel abuses his welfare. He's sometimes hard to persuade as far as the Doctor is concerned, but he eventually is able to help and turns out to be a good person despite his flaws. There's an intense rivalry between him and Drossel all throughout. I love it when Stahlbaum's feeding the Cyberman who's the Turk cabbage soup and that moment when the Cyberman spits it out all over his shirt makes me laugh every time I hear it. He's besotted with Mitzi and is wondering whether he's going to win her heart in the end.

There are the Wittenmeiers - Mitzi and Rolf - who are the count and countess. Mitzi is played by Claire Wyatt (who I've heard in a few Fifth Doctor and Nyssa audio stories such as `Return to the Web Planet' and `The Boy That Time Forgot') and Rolf is played by Gwilym Lee.

The Cybermen are interesting and rather strange in this story. There are two Cybermen and are the `Mondas originals' according to the Doctor. These Cybermen are from 'The Tenth Planet' as can be shown on the CD cover with their cloth faces and exposed human hands. They're not my favourites since they have strange voices and a strange design to them with cloth faces and hair dryers on their heads.

Marc Platt wrote these Cybermen before since he did the classic audio story 'Spare Parts' with the Fifth Doctor and Nyssa, making reference to that story in this and decided to use them again for Mary Shelley to encounter.

They have names, though Cybermen don't usually have names but in `The Tenth Planet' and `Spare Parts' they did. They are Gramm who is working for Drossel; and Bremm who is the Silver Turk that plays piano and chess owned by Stahlbaum. These two Cybermen were the first ones to arrive from Mondas to Earth, years ahead before Mondas comes into contact with Earth in 1986.

These are what I call the `confused' Cybermen in terms of their voices. But Nicholas Briggs who does the Cybermen voices, provides a different edge and tone to their voices compared to `The Tenth Planet' ones. They're not so musical and confused as before. In fact, they are more emotional than ever. The Cybermen I know and love are supposed to be emotionless mechanical zombies and unfortunately they're not in this one. It got me confused as to why this was the case, although the Cybermen were damaged on crash-landing makes more sense. But they're so melodramatic in this one when hearing them.

I just found it strange when the Cybermen was groaning in pain or upset, and it made me wonder what happened to their emotional inhibitors and why they weren't blowing up. I thought Gramm's scenes with Mary Shelley were effective, but I'm not so sure when Gramm told Drossel to `Go to hell!' since that isn't what a Cybermen would normally say. Also when Gramm becomes angry and raises his anger to a shout discovering his comrade Bremm is still alive as Drossel lied to him that he wasn't. So, this is not so great a Cyberman story as we would usually expect. But it's an interesting one where Mary Shelley is concerned sympathising with the monster.

Drossel makes life-like puppets of some of the characters in this, including ones of the Doctor and Mary. I found it eerie, strange and rather disturbing when hearing these puppets like with Mary when she kept repeating `Doctor! Doctor' and the Doctor going `Mary, is that you?'. I found it disturbing when they have plucked-out eyes inserted into these puppets, especially the puppet Doctor goes `I am waiting for my eyes'. I can just imagine it, looking so horrible. I didn't understand the sense in this from Drossel, though I suppose he is a mad man after all. I like it when the real Doctor and Mary encounter their puppet versions and Mary's horrified and the Doctor's concerned and annoyed with the fact they hadn't got his hair and looks like. I like it when the puppets Mary and Doctor collided with each other, since Mary went for the `wrong' Doctor.

By the end of the story, the Doctor and Mary have defeated Drossel and destroyed all his puppets and the Cybermen are dead. The Doctor offers to take Mary home due to an emotional outburst from her earlier threatening to leave. But Mary wishes now to join the Doctor further in her travels since he promised her `the stars'. This is great way to end the story as the Doctor and Mary become friends again and re-establish a connection between them allowing them to have more adventures in time and space.

There's a post-credits sequence to listen out for at the end with Mitzi and Alfred Stahlbaum introducing a new act - the Silver Doctor. Now what can that be, hey?

The CD extras on this story are as follows.

At the end of Disc 1 , there's a suite of incidental music for `The Silver Turk' composed by Jamie Robertson. The music for this story is so dramatic and cinematic, feeling like a proper orchestra. The music makes the story feel more of a period piece and classical drama with its gothic tones added into the mix.

There's also included in the suite a rendition of lullaby performed by Claire Wyatt as Mitzi, which is very melodic and sweet yet very chilling with its strange and gruesome lyrics. I didn't understand why Mitzi was singing this to her baby daughter at the start of the story and it didn't make much sense.

On Disc 2 at the end, there's a trailer for the next story `'The Witch from the Well' with Mary Shelley and the Doctor.

There's also a brief selection of behind-the-scenes interviews with Nicholas Briggs, Paul McGann and Julie Cox, which is very brief and took my completely by surprise. Of course if you want to hear more of the behind-the-scenes, you'll have to subscribe to Big Finish like I've done to get more `extended extras' which has more interviews with the cast and crew. These `extended extras' provided more insight in the story, and I didn't understand why most of the interviews were featured on the standard disc. There's also a PDF document of the script for `The Silver Turk' if you subscribed with Big Finish.

So `The Silver Turk' is a fascinating and enjoyable experience to listen to. The Cybermen aren't great, but it's a great way to start off Mary Shelley's travels in the TARDIS with the Eighth Doctor. Truly an enjoyable story, and one that feels like a classic drama itself due to its historical setting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars (Silver) Turkish Delight, 12 July 2012
This review is from: The Silver Turk (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
I have to admit that the Eighth Doctor audios have been my least favourite of the Big Finish monthly Doctor Who releases. However, this one's a doozy! Reminiscent of the 2005 TV episode Dalek, it brings a battered and isolated representative of one of the Doctor's biggest foes to the forefront of an emotive and dramatic story; along with novelist Mary Shelley, travelling as the Doctor's companion, a chirpy hansom cab driver, a misunderstood aristocrat and his neurotic wife, and a sinister 'inventor', the Cyberman wreaks havoc as it attempts to rebuild itself and return victorious to home planet Mondas.
Atmospheric music, great performances, and a budding rapport between The Doctor and Shelley, mean that this is a hugely entertaining and gripping audio play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Silver Turk (Doctor Who)
The Silver Turk (Doctor Who) by Marc Platt (Audio CD - 31 Oct 2011)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews