Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The plants of peril
Down the years, many stories have been written for Doctor Who that, for various reasons, didn't make it to the tv screen.

Now, thanks to Big Finish adapting some of them to audio, we can hear what might have been.

The Rosemariners features the Second Doctor, Jamie and Zoe. It was originally written by Donald Tosh. Who had a somewhat stressful time as...
Published on 12 Nov. 2012 by Paul Tapner

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK
Nothing spectacular here.all in allI couldn't really get into killer roses though! Now Krynoids are another matter! Average when all's said and done!
Published on 14 April 2013 by S. Phythian


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The plants of peril, 12 Nov. 2012
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rosemariners (Doctor Who: The Lost Stories) (Audio CD)
Down the years, many stories have been written for Doctor Who that, for various reasons, didn't make it to the tv screen.

Now, thanks to Big Finish adapting some of them to audio, we can hear what might have been.

The Rosemariners features the Second Doctor, Jamie and Zoe. It was originally written by Donald Tosh. Who had a somewhat stressful time as script editor on the show back in William Hartnell's third year. At the time he submitted this story, other commitments interfered and prevented him from carrying all the way through. But now, decades later, he's adapted the story for cd.

It sees the TARDIS land on a space station which has been used as a research base. It's now being closed down, and only one crewmember still remains. The closure is being supervised an alien being called Rugosa. Commander of a group of beings called the Rosemariners. He seems to have an agenda. And strange and terrible things are happening.

Can the Doctor find the secret of the Rosemariners and the strange plants that are there? Because the whole universe is in danger...

This adopts the format of other lost story cd's from the first and second doctor eras, in that it's a talking book with a lot of narration but that certain scenes are performed by actors. Fraser Hines [Jamie] and Wendy Padbury [Zoe] share the narration duties. You quickly get used to hwo it switches back and forth between them. And they also reprise their roles when it comes to dialogue. And do the voices of other characters. As anyone who has heard other cd's in which Fraser Hines has done the voice of the second doctor will know, his take on the character is amazing, as he sounds just like Patrick Troughton.

Guest voices come from David Warner as Professor Biggs, the remaining crew member, and Clive Wood [Roman commander in the two part season finale of Matt Smith's first season as the Doctor on tv] as Rugosa. David Warner is typically excellent. But Clive Wood is absolutely superb, having a fantastic voice that really suits his character.

The story runs for four parts, each roughly thirty minutes in duration [and is spread over two cds]. Being that it is set in a closed environment with a small cast of characters, it does feel so very much in keeping with it's era. But it does take a little while to click, given that the first three episodes feature precious little action, and lots of talking. Although there are some superbly creepy moments.

There's a lot of plot elements and you do have to work a little to get into this one. But it does come together very nicely in the final part, with some excellent set pieces - action and otherwise - and some good resolutions of all the various plot strands. The final scene is also well in keeping with it's era and should leave you with a smile on your face.

It's not quite the best lost story, but it is slightly above average. And worth a listen.

Given that this is the last story of the current batch of these [there will be more in due course], there's no trailer for any future stories on here. The only extra is just over twelve minutes of interviews with cast and crew on the final track of the second cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beware the Roses! - An Adventure with the Doctor, Jamie and Zoe!, 13 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rosemariners (Doctor Who: The Lost Stories) (Audio CD)
I've really enjoyed listening to `The Rosemariners', a lost story of `Doctor Who' from Big Finish with the Doctor, Jamie and Zoe.

I bought this four-part story on a 2-disc CD in February 2013 to celebrate the Patrick Troughton years of `Doctor Who' for the 50th anniversary. After enjoying 'Prison In Space' so much, I was really looking forward to getting back into the world of the Second Doctor era and the feeling of late 1968. And I wasn't disappointed as I enjoyed Frazer Hines doing his authentic personation of Patrick Troughton's Doctor again as well playing Jamie along with Wendy Padbury playing Zoe. It was a delightful treat and although not matching the same style as `Prison in Space' it was an engaging and captivating adventure to follow.

This story is written by Donald Tosh. Donald Tosh?! Yes, that's right! Donald was the script editor for `Doctor Who's' third season with William Hartnell during 1965-66. He had written this story in mind for Patrick Troughton's Doctor with Jamie and Zoe. Sadly he didn't develop the story further and was shelved for many years. `Doctor Who Magazine' suggested to Donald Tosh that he send his story to Big Finish for the `Lost Stories' range and he readily submitted it. Big Finish happily welcomed Donald Tosh' story and everybody was on board to see this lost TV story turned into a Big Finish audio with pleasing results.

The story of `The Rosemariners' has the Doctor, Jamie and Zoe in the TARDIS arriving on Space Station 454 (I was almost going to say 456, but that's `Torchwood' isn't it, ha, ha). They meet Professor Arnold Biggs, a xeno-biologist who has an interest in floral plants including roses and orchids. Showing an interest in the Professor's work, the Doctor and he are soon taken to the planet Rosa Damascena, where the green skinned Rosemariners live. The Doctor and the Professor are forced to find a cure for a certain called `rose dream' under Commander Rugosa. It all has the seeds of a conspiracy and dastardly plot to rule the universe involving deadly roses. Can the Doctor and his friends stop the Rosemariners in time?

Donald Tosh's inspiration for this story came from when he was building a rose garden at his home during the time he devised this story in the 1960s. I like Donald's use of a rose garden and the floral plants as a deadly danger as it makes for a pretty creepy and disturbing `Doctor Who' story. I had no idea roses were so deadly when unsupervised, as they're so beautiful, lovely and seductive with their scent. And that was the point of Donald's story and how he involves the Rosemariners in using them. It's a frightening thought of the rose sucking you in and trapping you in its vine-like grip like Colbert getting devoured and killed in Episode 1 and Jamie getting trapped and caught in the vines and being poisoned by thorns in Episodes 2 and 3.

I was thrilled to be hearing Frazer and Wendy being the narrators again as well as playing the Doctor, Jamie and Zoe in this story. This follows the same pattern as how `Prison In Space' was performed with part-narration in the third person and a mixture of dialogue from the main and guest characters. With the addition of David Warner and Clive Wood as guest actors in the story, it feels more full-cast compared to a companion chronicle which makes a nice change and feels very refreshing to listen to in the story.

I really like Frazer Hines doing the Doctor in these Big Finish audios. Frazer really does a good interpretation of Patrick Troughton as I've said before in other reviews, and it makes me feel that Patrick is there recording the story with his fellow actors. I like it when the Doctor walks in and discovers Jamie and Zoe tampering with the TARDIS as they land. I also like the Doctor interacting with Biggs and the two spark off each other with David Warner engaging with Frazer's interpretation of the Doctor as they talk about orchids and xeno-biology. I like how in this story the Doctor suspects something's wrong with Rugosa, Colbert and the whole situation. The Doctor's more serious in this story rather than the impish clown he appears to be in other stories.

Frazer is equally good as Jamie in this story. I like that comedic moment in the first TARDIS when Jamie tries to press a switch on the TARDIS console and inadvertently causes it to land and gets him in trouble. Jamie shares more scenes with Zoe when the two leave the Doctor and Biggs talking engrossed about xeno-biology. Jamie gets to wear a prison guard's uniform and even wears trousers which is surprising. Jamie gets to more curious in this adventure despite his lack of scientific knowledge. His curiosity gets the better of him when he's caught by one of the rose plants and gets thorns poisoning him. But fortunately Jamie manages to survive, saved by the Doctor and even gets into a fight with Colbert.

It was great listening to Wendy Padbury in this audio adventure of `Doctor Who'. She's lovely playing Zoe in this story, and gets to share a lot of scenes with Jamie for the first two episodes. Jamie and Zoe discover the missing scientists who have been locked away by the Rosemariners and discover them with headsets and bracelets. Zoe tries to compliment Jamie on him wearing trousers which doesn't work so smoothly as she hoped. Zoe is the one who screams and calls out to the Doctor telling him that Jamie is in trouble when the rose plants attack him. Zoe also gets into trouble as she had to keep constantly bluffing her way to Colbert when decoding messages in the control room, and it was enjoyable listening to those scenes as Wendy is playing against herself (since she plays Colbert as well).

Yes that's right! Wendy plays another character in this story. She plays Colbert, chief executive officer of Earth Station 454 with a French accent. I found it interesting Frazer didn't voice Colbert as Wendy's playing a male character in Colbert. But Wendy currently lives in France and is building a house at the moment when I saw her at a convention. It sort of made sense since Wendy's picked up the French accent and do a really good French accent for audio, so it was a natural choice for Wendy to play a French man. It was a horrific moment when Colbert gets killed being devoured by the rose plants. But it was more disturbing when a duplicate of Colbert appears afterwards to bluff his way to Biggs and the Doctor.

I was thrilled to hear David Warner as Professor Arnold Biggs in this story. David's a brilliant veteran actor who I remember seeing in the `Star Trek' films and has done a number of `Doctor Who' audios with Big Finish. He's now done a TV episode of `Doctor Who' with Matt Smith called `Cold War'. I just found out he had worked with Patrick Troughton in `The Omen' film apparently. Hearing David Warner in a `Doctor Who' Lost Story from Big Finish with the Patrick Troughton Doctor and his companions was an absolute treat. I really like the character he plays in Biggs who is a good guy and becomes with the Doctor, Jamie and Zoe. His knowledge of plants and xeno-biology is put to good use when getting out of a tricky situation.

I enjoyed listening to Clive Wood as Rugosa in this story. Clive has been in the TV series of `Doctor Who' before this, playing the Roman commander in `The Pandorica Opens' opposite Matt Smith and Alex Kingston. He plays another commander in this story who is an alien and a rather villainous character. Rugosa is one of the Rosemariners who lures Colbert getting killed by the rose plants and gets the Doctor and Biggs to work for him. Rugosa wants the Doctor and Biggs to find a cure for this `rose dream' the Rosemariners seem to be suffering from. We unravel layers about Rugosa's true nature and finding out exactly who he is and why he's using these rose plants to take over the universe. I like Clive Wood's deep sinister voice for Rugosa and the evil laugh he makes during a moment of triumph.

There are a number of references to previous Dalek stories in this adventure. The Doctor tells Jamie and Zoe about the Daleks responsible for the Mary Celeste ship featured in 'The Chase'. And there are also some deadly plants featured in this story that originate from the planet Kembel in 'The Daleks' Master Plan'. Since Donald Tosh script-edited the mammoth 12-part Dalek story during his time on Season 3 of `Doctor Who', it's only right that he should include those references. And they are really nice references to those Dalek stories which I liked connecting the whole thing together.

At the end of Disc 2 of this CD release, there are some behind-the-scenes interviews with the cast and crew on the making of `The Rosemariners'. These interviews are conducted by producer David Richardson and are with Frazer Hines; Wendy Padbury; David Warner; Clive Wood and director Lisa Bowerman. I enjoyed listening to these interviews and you could tell there was a happy atmosphere between the cast as they enjoyed making this story so much and sharing good thing about the Patrick Troughton days and going to conventions.

So `The Rosemariners' is a very enjoyable `Who' adventure that was a pleasure listening to and kept me captivated throughout. It's not as great as `Prison in Space' in my opinion. But Donald Tosh writes a really engaging story that evokes the Patrick Troughton era and with Frazer and Wendy narrating and performing throughout as their character, and David Warner and Clive Wood guest starring in it you can't go wrong. I came away happy after listening to this adventure, and I'm sure you will too.

The next story for the Doctor, Jamie and Zoe is 'The Krotons'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mysterious & Enjoyable Second Doctor Lost Story Adventure, 28 Oct. 2013
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Rosemariners (Doctor Who: The Lost Stories) (Audio CD)
Positive.
Frazer Hines excellent interpretation of the late Patrick Troughton.
A very intriguing script by Donald Tosh.
David Warner is becoming Big Finishes main guest actor & delivers one of those great performances here.
Clive Wood genuinely creepy tones add chills to the character of Rugosa the Rosemarnier.

Negative.
Bit off pace here or there but nothing huge to complain about.

Trivia.
David Warner is fast becoming the go to guy as he's now done several Big Finish Audios, From playing the Doctor twice in the Unbound series, To The Children Of Seth, 4 episodes of Fourth Doctor Adventures series 2 add this audio adventure & appearing in series 7 episode Cold War.

Audio Info, This is a 4 part adventure on 2 CDS running time 120 minutes with extras including a trailer, Incidental music & Behind the scenes interviews.

Review.
The Doctor, Jamie & Zoey land on an all but abandoned space station named Earth 454 were the station has now been turned into a medical base for Botanical reserach.

The only resident on the abandoned station is Xeno Botanist Professor Arnold Biggs.

Helping to evacuate the Base is a Alien called Rugosa a Rosemariner but is he all he appears to be?

Strange & mysterious event's are taking place on the base, Event's that are unexplainable, But could this have anything to do with Rugosa or are the plants having a strange effect on there recent strange happenings inside the base & what is the mystery of the Roses?

The Doctor, Jamie & Zoey with Help from Professor Biggs try to solve the mystery of who exactly are the Rosemariners & there true intentions as the universe is once again in great peril.

This is the typical second Doctor Base under siege adventure set on a abandoned soace station, Not the most original set up but this is a superb well told story written & adapted my Donald Tosh.

Originally meant for tv but now adapted for audio this is a great lost adventure that is intriguing adding to the mystery.

Frazer Hines captures the mannerisms of second Doctor Patrick Troughton perfectly & also reprises his role as Jamie.

The narration is split between Frazer Hines & Wendy Padbury here playing Zoey whom is also very good & doesn't come across as a smart alec like her performance on the tv series.

David Warner is excellent as Professor Arnold Biggs whom brings his acting experience to the fold here & delivers another great audio performance.

Rounding things off is Clive Wood as Rugosa whos creepy tones adds a layer of chilling intrigue to the Rosemariner.

Pacing is a little slow here & there but this is a minor quibble to an otherwise excellent lost story adventure released on audio at long last.

Recommended to fan's of The Second Doctor era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Rosemariners, 6 Jun. 2013
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rosemariners (Doctor Who: The Lost Stories) (Audio CD)
This is another in the excellent Lost Stories series, stories from earlier Doctor eras which never made it to the small screen, here recreated, and voiced mainly by one or two characters from the original era, together with guest stars. In this story, Frazer Hines as Jamie, and Wendy Padbury as Zoe are in a story with the Second Doctor (admirably voiced by Frazer Hines). The Tardis lands rather unexpectedly after Jamie fiddles with some controls, and the crew find themselves on an Earth satellite, Earth Station 454 which is being closed down. They find themselves alone, apart from xeno-botanist Professor Arnold Biggs. But what do the Rosemariners really want? And is Commander Rugosa really the good guy?

This is a great Second Doctor story, and as with all winners in this series, you can really `see' the action taking place as it would have on the small screen if the story had made it into the classic series. This is, to me, the key to these older `classic era' stories - that they feel `real' to the era and the Doctor to which they relate. And this is a winner. The story itself has its twists and turns, and Jamie and Zoe are great in their roles. The Doctor is wonderfully portrayed in this story, and brilliantly voiced (and characterised) by Frazer Hines who obviously clearly remembers the mannerisms of his old friend Patrick Troughton and brings them to life in this.

The guests, David Warner as Arnold Biggs and Clive Wood as Rugosa are great. Rugosa's voice is wonderfully portrayed, and you can picture his larger than life form as the Rosemariner. The story has just the right amount of humour, Doctor Who canonicity (is that a word?), tension, aliens, Earth futuristic sci-fi. Great stuff; totally recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ... Who TV series and only got to appreciate it better when I started reading the Target books, 5 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rosemariners (Doctor Who: The Lost Stories) (Audio CD)
This item was delivered much later than the estimated delivery time but was well worth the wait as the storyline had elements that reminded me so much of the Troughton season of Dr Whos- well I have only those surviving stories that have been released on dvd to go by as I was born during the Tom Baker years and remember being so terrified by Terror of the Zygons that I stayed away from Dr Who TV series and only got to appreciate it better when I started reading the Target books!
Rosemariners is neat tale and Frazer Hines is an excellent stand in for Pat Troughton. Actually I don't why Big Finish doesn't just make full play dramas of the 2nd Doctor's adventures since Frazer Hines can play Pat and Jamie at the same time !!
The same goes for the First Doctor too since Peter Purves does a really spot on impersonation of William Hartnell's Doctor!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rosemariners (Doctor Who: The Lost Stories) (Audio CD)
Nothing spectacular here.all in allI couldn't really get into killer roses though! Now Krynoids are another matter! Average when all's said and done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rosemariners (Doctor Who: The Lost Stories)
The Rosemariners (Doctor Who: The Lost Stories) by Donald Tosh (Audio CD - Sept. 2012)
£11.14
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews