Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The job of a lifetime
It's been a while since the last audio story to feature the Eighth Doctor Death in Blackpool (Doctor Who: The New Eighth Doctor Adventures). But now he's back. And he's travelling on his own.

Not, it would seem, for long.

An advert has been placed advising that a traveller in time and space needs a new companion. The Doctor thus arrives to meet the...
Published on 16 Aug 2010 by Paul Tapner

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Dramatically Vacant
So, The Doctor's set up a set of challenges in order to select a new companion, in the manner of The Apprentice. Cue lots of metafictional pondering on what makes a good companion. If you like comic episodes, you'll enjoy this, but I found it a bit too cringy. Yes, Paul McGann can do comedy but he's an excellent actor, evidence of which can be heard in another of the...
Published 6 months ago by Miss Scarlett


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The job of a lifetime, 16 Aug 2010
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Situation Vacant (Doctor Who: the Eighth Doctor Adventures) (Audio CD)
It's been a while since the last audio story to feature the Eighth Doctor Death in Blackpool (Doctor Who: The New Eighth Doctor Adventures). But now he's back. And he's travelling on his own.

Not, it would seem, for long.

An advert has been placed advising that a traveller in time and space needs a new companion. The Doctor thus arrives to meet the four candidates in a meeting room at a hotel. But there can only be one winner. So the only way to find the best candidate is to set them to dealing with tasks.

In the meantime people are disappearing and giant robots are running around.

There's a lot more going on at this hotel than meets the eye.....

This runs for two episodes of roughly twenty nine minutes each, and is complete on one disc. And it's different to any Doctor Who story you've ever heard before.

It's also a lot of fun.

There's an obvious spoof of the apprentice here, but it's never highlighted too much as it's just one element of the story. It's not a story that too much can be said about because there are an astonishing amount of twists and turns. Some interesting development for all the characters. And some intriguing hints as to a story arc that will doubtless be followed up in subsequent audio stories.

The eventual winner turns out to be quite an interesting character and their motivation is a wonderfully written and well acted scene. You'll find yourself glad that they're onboard the TARDIS, and looking forward to finding what happens next.

This is an entertaining start to the latest run.

There are fifteen minutes of so worth of interviews with cast and crew on the four tracks at the end of the disc.

And a trailer for the next story in the run at the start Nevermore (Doctor Who: The New Eighth Doctor Adventures). And you can listen to that without any spoilers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Situation Vacant, 15 April 2011
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Situation Vacant (Doctor Who: the Eighth Doctor Adventures) (Audio CD)
The key good points in this story for me were that it left many unfinished threads to be revisited - who set up the advertisement and interviews, who appears to be one step ahead of the doctor - that we have to wait to find out.

In the meantime, there is almost a distraction in this tale of the Doctor apparently looking for a 'new apprentice'. I'm not a fan of The Apprentice so I didn't enjoy this story quite as much as others have; but that doesn't detract from the good writing or the excellent performances from the characters; many of whom have pivotal roles to play in what must have been quite difficult characters to portray convincingly in such a short space of time. The casting is brilliant; and the setups for future stories is great; just this story seemed to have a little of the 'filler' in it for it to be what I would consider a fantastic Doctor Who story.

Well worth listening to; and the extras and interviews are very interesting as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Situation Vacant - A fun adventure as the Eighth Doctor chooses a new companion, 30 Aug 2010
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Situation Vacant (Doctor Who: the Eighth Doctor Adventures) (Audio CD)
After the deep and moving events of `Death In Blackpool', this is a fun little adventure in which the Dr chooses a new companion. Four applicants have replied to an advert in a magazine, for a time travelling companion. What follows is an entertaining tale in which the Dr subjects the four candidates to an Alan Sugar style series of tests, whittling the candidates down one by one as they reveal very good reasons why they are unsuitable for the job.

It's a fun adventure, as layers and layers of obfuscation are gently pulled away, leading up to the eventual selection of the companion, and an unexplored plot point that hopefully will be picked up and resolved at some point in the series.

It's a great idea, and works well. It delivers a thoroughly entertaining light hearted tale, and in the end gives us a companion that I think will work well with Paul McGann's No. 8. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You're Hired!, 26 July 2010
By 
Tony Jones "Tony" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Situation Vacant (Doctor Who: the Eighth Doctor Adventures) (Audio CD)
Following Death in Blackpool there is a vacancy in the TARDIS to accompany the eighth doctor, and what better way to fill it than testing out four new candidates Apprentice style! Needless to say this story is a lot of fun and allows Paul McGann great license to trot out his best Lord Sugar impression. That with a smattering of monsters, robots and challenges makes for some great listening.

As an experience I enjoyed this so much I listened to it twice; first pass once I spotted the emerging Apprentice spoof I was chuckling all the way through. I won't give away the end, suffice it to say that all the candidates are great and I didn't remotely spot who the winner would be.

Lucie Miller may be gone, but the eighth Doctor continues in style!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Dramatically Vacant, 20 Jan 2014
This review is from: Situation Vacant (Doctor Who: the Eighth Doctor Adventures) (Audio CD)
So, The Doctor's set up a set of challenges in order to select a new companion, in the manner of The Apprentice. Cue lots of metafictional pondering on what makes a good companion. If you like comic episodes, you'll enjoy this, but I found it a bit too cringy. Yes, Paul McGann can do comedy but he's an excellent actor, evidence of which can be heard in another of the adventures, Death in Blackpool.

This is one for big fans only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Situation Vacant (Doctor Who: the Eighth Doctor Adventures)
Situation Vacant (Doctor Who: the Eighth Doctor Adventures) by Eddie Robson (Audio CD - 15 July 2010)
10.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews