Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Daleks Return In The Conclusion To The Stockbridge Trilogy
Positive.
1)Peter Davison & Sarah Sutton are on superb form as the Doctor & Nyssa in this final part to the Stockbridge trilogy.
2)The Daleks are Back.
3)Zombies in Doctor Who at long last.

Negative.
Some of the story's plot strands lead nowhere & the Daleks do feel a little tagged onto the plot.

Trivia.
Keith Barron has...
Published 8 months ago by Timelord007

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Plague of the Daleks: Should be exterminated...
This is the hundred and twenty ninth release from Big Finish in their range of full cast audio adventures starring classic Doctor Whos. It stars Peter Davison as Five and Sarah Sutton as Nyssa. There are four episodes, roughly 25-30 minutes each, complete with cliffhangers and original theme music between each. Two episodes per disc on 2 discs, and a short booklet with...
Published 13 months ago by Victor


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Daleks Return In The Conclusion To The Stockbridge Trilogy, 6 Dec 2013
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plague of the Daleks (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
Positive.
1)Peter Davison & Sarah Sutton are on superb form as the Doctor & Nyssa in this final part to the Stockbridge trilogy.
2)The Daleks are Back.
3)Zombies in Doctor Who at long last.

Negative.
Some of the story's plot strands lead nowhere & the Daleks do feel a little tagged onto the plot.

Trivia.
Keith Barron has appeared in Doctor Who before with Peter Davison in Season 20's Enlightenment.
Liza Tarbuck is the daughter of Jimmy Tarbuck & she is quoted as saying she is a self confessed Doctor Who fan.

CD Info.
2 x CD of a 4 part adventure, Running time 120 minutes, Trailer, Behind the scenes interviews.

Review.
The Doctor & Nyssa arrive in Stockbridges future were Stockbridge is now a failing tourist attraction yet there is something very strange going on?

Why are the crow's attacking?, Why is the weather's seasons changing so rapidly, Why is it when the rain comes it seemingly has a changing effect on the residents of Stockbridge as they turn into ravaging attacking zombies?

And finally just what are the Daleks doing in Stockbridge?.

Writer Mark Morris delivers a great script here that delivers intrigue, Scares & the return of the Daleks which Mark Morris script delivers on all three accounts.

The mysterious goings on within Stockbridge past,Present & future is constantly engaging for the listener & very appealing as a trilogy as this story finally concludes the trilogy making it going out on a high.

Peter Davison delivers a great performance as the Fifth Doctor who seemingly is under the strain of the event's going on around Stockbridge, The standout scene for me was when his Doctor appears to be under the Dalek control is mesmerizing.

Sarah Sutton also deserves praise as Nyssa as she witnesses the transformation of a villager into a zombie & faces the Daleks once again & has had a huge involvement within this overall trilogy & shares great chemistry with Peter Davisons Fifth Doctor.

The Daleks do feel slightly tagged onto the plot but still they deliver fear & up the ante in scares as they hatch there latest diabolical plan of controlling the universe always make the Doctor lift his game when he faces off against his greatest enemies.

This is a scary & intriguing story as writer Mark Morris delivers a highly fast paced adventure that adds great mystery, Chills, Zombies & Daleks.

A fine conclusion to the Stockbridge trilogy & a must buy for fan's of Big Finish Fifth Doctor adventures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Plague of the Daleks: Should be exterminated..., 16 July 2013
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Plague of the Daleks (Audio CD)
This is the hundred and twenty ninth release from Big Finish in their range of full cast audio adventures starring classic Doctor Whos. It stars Peter Davison as Five and Sarah Sutton as Nyssa. There are four episodes, roughly 25-30 minutes each, complete with cliffhangers and original theme music between each. Two episodes per disc on 2 discs, and a short booklet with some pictures of the cast and production notes. This is the third in a trilogy of three linked adventures centred around the village of Stockbridge. There are some interviews with cast and crew at the end of the first disc. There is a treat for regular listeners in the form of the tenth 10 minute segment of a twelve part adventure called `The Three Companions' on the end of disc 2.

Following the events of `Eternal Summer', Five and Nyssa find themselves far into Stockbridge's future. IT is now no longer a village as they recognise it, but a tourist attraction, and a failing one at that. As ever there is something odd going on, with mysterious attacks by birds and a rain that seems to be a bit on the acid side. It is not spoiling anything to say that the Daleks are behind it all, with some megalomaniacal scheme to take of the universe.

Following the excellent first two instalments of this trilogy, this is a disappointing failure. The story is so-so. The Daleks could have been any alien species, and seem to have been shoehorned in just to try and draw in the punters. Davison and Sutton, excellent in the previous two releases sound bored and go through the motions. There is an excellent guest cast featuring Liza Tarbuck and Who veteran Keith Barron, but sadly these two decent actors are totally wasted and cannot bring any life to their 2D characters, no matter how hard they try. There are some moments that work well, but the story is badly structures, and just as you feel it is building to some crisis the tension is completely lost by jumping to an unnecessary flashback scene.

It's pretty hard to listen to. As a standalone release it would have got maybe three stars. But as the conclusion to an otherwise excellent trilogy it is totally overshadowed by it's forebears and only gets two stars from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Plague of the Daleks: Should be exterminated..., 16 July 2013
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Plague of the Daleks (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
This is the hundred and twenty ninth release from Big Finish in their range of full cast audio adventures starring classic Doctor Whos. It stars Peter Davison as Five and Sarah Sutton as Nyssa. There are four episodes, roughly 25-30 minutes each, complete with cliffhangers and original theme music between each. Two episodes per disc on 2 discs, and a short booklet with some pictures of the cast and production notes. This is the third in a trilogy of three linked adventures centred around the village of Stockbridge. There are some interviews with cast and crew at the end of the first disc. There is a treat for regular listeners in the form of the tenth 10 minute segment of a twelve part adventure called `The Three Companions' on the end of disc 2.

Following the events of `Eternal Summer', Five and Nyssa find themselves far into Stockbridge's future. IT is now no longer a village as they recognise it, but a tourist attraction, and a failing one at that. As ever there is something odd going on, with mysterious attacks by birds and a rain that seems to be a bit on the acid side. It is not spoiling anything to say that the Daleks are behind it all, with some megalomaniacal scheme to take of the universe.

Following the excellent first two instalments of this trilogy, this is a disappointing failure. The story is so-so. The Daleks could have been any alien species, and seem to have been shoehorned in just to try and draw in the punters. Davison and Sutton, excellent in the previous two releases sound bored and go through the motions. There is an excellent guest cast featuring Liza Tarbuck and Who veteran Keith Barron, but sadly these two decent actors are totally wasted and cannot bring any life to their 2D characters, no matter how hard they try. There are some moments that work well, but the story is badly structures, and just as you feel it is building to some crisis the tension is completely lost by jumping to an unnecessary flashback scene.

It's pretty hard to listen to. As a standalone release it would have got maybe three stars. But as the conclusion to an otherwise excellent trilogy it is totally overshadowed by it's forebears and only gets two stars from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Daleks in Stockbridge!, 10 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plague of the Daleks (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
I've enjoyed the `Stockbridge' trilogy so much. The third and final part of this set of stories set in that lovely English village, `Plague of the Daleks', is the most thrilling, exciting and chilling Doctor Who stories ever to listen to. Unlike the comical historical romp 'Castle of Fear' and the sensational present-day piece (sort of) 'The Eternal Summer', this story set in the future with a dark tone, elements of gruesome horror added into it and certainly is a `thriller' as was the intention for it to be.

The story starts with the Doctor and Nyssa arriving back in Stockbridge after escaping the time bubble from `The Eternal Summer'. They find themselves at the last point of Stockbridge's history, as the village has now become a historical heritage centre in the last surviving outpost for humanity on Earth. The Doctor and Nyssa come across Isaac Barclay (played by `Enlightenment's' Keith Baron) and his daughter Lysette (played by `The Infinite Quest's' Lisa Tarbuck) who run the heritage centre and are guides for tourists for who come to visit Stockbridge from outer space.

This story kept my interest going with the shifting seasons, attacking crows, `Nth generation' clones and the mind-wandering Mrs Withers of the Green Dragon. It added mystery and suspense to the story as it progress and it certainly is full of action and adventure. Having the Doctor and Nyssa driving the story forward and seeing events from their point of view in `Part One' was really refreshing. I enjoyed listening to their friendly banter when they make their way through `winter'; get attacked by crows; enter into a house and come out again to find themselves in `springtime' with a cricket match being played.

Mark Morris has said on the CD extras that he seems to have a reputation for being the `zombie' writer, as it turned out he wrote a Torchwood novel about zombies called `Bay of the Dead'. But this particular `zombie' story kept my interest throughout as the chilling scenes when rainclouds break open and rain hits the clone villagers and making them turn into zombies. It was very gruesome when listening to the scenes of zombies biting other people or zombies making an attack. The sounds of zombies seem to imply more graphic violence than the TV series would ever have done back in the 80s.

Before listening to this story proper back in February 2010, I had just met my favourite Doctor Who actress, Sarah Sutton (Nyssa of Traken) , who I found very lovely and extremely kind and friendly. That would be the first of many visits to see Sarah and it was well worth it. I'm very pleased I was listening to this set of stories set in Stockbridge at the time since Nyssa gets so much to do and is given strong stories and challenging situations to deal with. I've recently had this story as well as 'The Eternal Summer' signed by Sarah, and in telling her the Stockbridge stories were my favourites, she also stated they were her favourites too and was very glad I like the Big Finish audios so much. I wish they were television stories really.

For `Plague of the Daleks', it seems to me that Nyssa's story is far more interesting than the Doctor's. She drives most of the story forward when she joins Lysette Barclay and her party of tourists being shown around Stockbridge. Nyssa gets to witness the horrific transformation of one of the tourists (Mr Linfoot) being turned into a zombie after being infected by the rain. She gets to encounter the Daleks first in this story at the end of `Part Two' when going down into crypt. And also she gets to lead Lysette into the Dalek's `larder' and both of them work together in order to try and stop them and save the Doctor.

Nyssa certainly demonstrates her ability to work things out; take charge of situations and keeping everyone calm when things start going awry. Nyssa doesn't shy with tackling with dangerous situations and she is able to keep a cool head when taking charge. I was thrilled by that sense when she sees the Dalek coming out of the crypt first time in the story, as she remembers them from previous encounters like 'The Mutant Phase' and 'Renaissance of the Daleks'. I certainly gave me the shivers when hearing that. Sarah certainly must be very pleased to have the Daleks in the audio realm since she was denied that in the TV series. At least it is now confirmed Nyssa did meet Daleks when travelling with the Doctor, as she's now had five Daleks (including the three mentioned earlier, `The Elite' and `The Five Companions').

I enjoyed the Doctor's story in this as well. Peter Davison's Doctor goes under a lot of strain as he tries to solve the problem of why the clone villagers are turned into zombies and what's in the rain. And when one drop of rains hits the Doctor's skin, the Doctor does everything he can to keep control before bumping into the Daleks. I really like that scene when it appears that the Doctor is under Dalek control after succumbing to collapsing on the floor of the Dalek base. It put me in mind of 'The Evil of the Daleks' when the Doctor passed through the archway and seemed to be 'Dalek-fied'. Of course the Doctor's not human, and when he takes the TARDIS with Dalek on board into the time vortex and throws the Dalek out, it gave me reassurance that everything was okay. I also enjoyed the scenes where the Doctor tries to help Isaac break free of his Dalek-control and think of his wife and Lysette. It goes to show how `human' and reassuring the Fifth Doctor is when he's trying to help people. Peter Davison certainly ranks as one of my top favourite Doctors, probably my most favourite. I still yet have to meet him.

Peter Davison certainly has had more Dalek adventures compared to the TV series. And if I'm honest, the audio adventures that Peter has with Daleks are far more enjoyable and more interesting and compelling than 'Resurrection of the Daleks'. I don't whether that's because audio seems better than TV, or whether he gets to share those Dalek adventures with Nyssa that makes them exciting, compelling and more enjoyable. I liked listening to the stories Peter told on the CD extras about his memories of Daleks both when he was youngster and when he did them on telly.

It was nice to hear Keith Barron on this audio adventure, since he played Captain Striker from `Enlightenment'. Isaac Barclay is certainly down to Earth, compared to Keith's `eternal' performance. You really believe in the character of Isaac when he's welcoming visitors to Stockbridge, making complaints about the futuristic version of `the national trust', and when he's helping the Doctor get to the environmental control centre with an environment suit and the Earth ship for tourists. I really sympathised with Isaac when he revealed the loss of his wife and how he came to Stockbridge when the Doctor tries to break the Dalek's control of him. It doesn't make it any better when the Daleks exterminate Isaac after his control is broken from them. I really liked the character and knew it was inevitable that the Daleks would kill him in the end.

I liked Lisa Tarbuck's Lysette Barclay as well. I'd only seen 'The Infinite Quest' once and didn't know much about her. But from hearing Barnaby Edward's and I think Mark Morris' comments about her, she certainly seems to be a fine actress and a true professional. I enjoyed Lysette's scenes with Nyssa as she gets to be her companion and join her on the adventure to stop the Daleks. Like Isaac, Lysette certainly is down to Earth and very interesting as a character and a personality. I didn't expect that twist when Lysette is revealed to be under Dalek control and threatens Nyssa with a gun to exterminate her. The final scenes where Lysette destroys Stockbridge really hit home as she was too distressed and overcome with grief at losing her father and raging with the Dalek thoughts inside her to destroy the Doctor. It was such a dramatic and horrific way to end the story, and it was so moving and heart-breaking when hearing it.

I like the married couple of the guide tour by Lysette - the Linfoots. Vincent and Alexis Linfoot put me very much in mind of Hyacinth and Richard Bucket (sorry Bouquet) from `Keeping Up Appearances' - where the long-suffering husband has to endure the hideous witch of a wife. I felt very sorry for Vincent since he seems such a nice sort of person whereas Alexis wasn't. I wasn't even more sorry for him when he got caught in the rain and turned into a zombie.

The Daleks don't appear in this story until the end of `Part Two', which was quite a long wait consider this story had the title `Plague of the Daleks' to hype it up. The Daleks as always are as menacing and ruthless as ever. I liked some of the Dalek lines they uttered and really was spell-bound by that inspired scene where one of the Daleks can't function properly after being revived and requests immediate extermination and the two surviving Daleks grant it and exterminate within an instant. I'd seen a few YouTube videos of some animated scenes with the Daleks and really thought they exciting and very well done. It put me in mind of what the story could have looked like if it had been animated. Nick Briggs does a fine job as always with bringing the Daleks to life on audio, and I enjoyed the moments when Daleks have a `frog in their throat' when being exposed to the time vortex, or trying to be revived, or when they're being affected by their own plague.

The end of the story is quite moving, as the Doctor and Nyssa watch Stockbridge being destroyed once safely in the TARDIS and taking off. It really struck a chord when the Doctor was mourning for the loss of his favourite place in the universe and Nyssa tries to comfort him. It really connects these two together when they share about something they've lost and being destroyed. The Doctor's quoting of Oliver Goldsmith's `The Deserted Village' was really touching and mournful at this point in the story. The Doctor has quote the poem before in `Part One' but that was more cheerful and reassuring, whereas this was more sorrowful and solemn.

However, the Doctor and Nyssa carry on and move forward to seek for `happier times and places', and that's why I like this TARDIS team so much since they keep on going and have adventures together. Next stop will be 'The Demons of Red Lodge' in Suffolk, and for me personally a whole set of adventures that I've personally wrote for myself with the Doctor and Nyssa.

The special features on this CD are as follows. There's a trailer for the next upcoming release `A Thousand Tiny Wings' starring Sylvester McCoy. Then there's usual behind-the-scenes interviews with cast and crew. I really enjoyed hearing Peter Davison and Sarah Sutton's reassuring comments about their characters being developed through these stories as well as hearing it from Barnaby Edwards, Alan Barnes and Mark Morris who worked on this story. Sarah certainly makes a very good point about the quality of actors in this story, since they're so good and Barnaby Edwards makes good use of selecting terrific actors of fine quality for his stories.

There's also an episode of `The Three Companions' starring Nicholas Courtney, Anneke Wills and John Pickard. The following episode is the second of Thomas Brewster's story and it gets really exciting when you listen it to. Although you'll have to get `The Three Companions' from the The Specials (Doctor Who: The Companion Chronicles) box set to listen to it as a whole.

So all in all, `Plague of the Dalek' is a fitting conclusion to a tremendous trilogy of stories with the Doctor and Nyssa. I certainly hope it's not the last since there's so much to tell about the Doctor and Nyssa and their adventures together. I know that for sure because I've written for them myself.

Next time for the Doctor and Nyssa is 'The Demons of Red Lodge and Other Stories'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plague of the Daleks, 14 Nov 2012
This review is from: Plague of the Daleks (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
I have not listened to the other two of the "stockbridge trilogy", however I loved Plague of the Daleks. Peter Davison and Sarah Sutton are fantastic and so are the supporting cast. The Daleks are terrifying as they always are and the Zombies are absolutly petrifying. Highly, Highly, Highly reccomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A plague on both your planets!, 6 Jan 2010
This review is from: Plague of the Daleks (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
After the events of The Eternal Summer, The Fifth Doctor and his companion Nyssa are once again whisked away only to return to the town of Stockbridge for the third time in succession. This time they are in the town's future - well from the listener's perspective anyway - and they discover yet more weird goings-on, such as a church with ghostly acoustics, a local pub that seems bustling from the outside but is strangely empty within, and a cricket match that comes to an abrupt halt with the arrival of a spaceship...

Echoes of classic Doctor Who TV adventures abound, from the deserted pub (The Android Invasion), to the cricket match (Black Orchid), and the arrival of space technology in an English backwater (The Visitation). However this is no bad thing, and the eerie atmosphere that writer Mark Morris creates sets the scene for what promises to be another satisfyingly creepy Stockbridge story.

It appears that the Stockbridge of the future has become an intergalactic heritage site, with its inhabitants reduced to ever-renewing clones. The well-meaning but suspect Isaac Barclay, responsible for organising the tours, seems to be in charge, but as events take a sinister turn it becomes clear that the Doctor's mortal enemies are once more manipulating the situation in order to snare the Time Lord.

Although the appearance of the Daleks provides a much needed injection of drama into the proceedings, they didn't really seem that well used here, and the early promise of the story peters out somewhat after their arrival. Despite the added value of zombies - their first Big Finish appearance - this is a pretty mediocre audio adventure, which lets the side down after the two superb previous stories. The latest installment of the ongoing bonus adventure - The Three companions, featuring Victorian scally Thomas Brewster, The Brigadier, and Polly, finally sees the three come together, and we learn some of the secrets behind Brewster's seeming control of The Doctor's TARDIS. Finally, disc 1 contains the obligatory interviews with the story's cast and crew, with amusing anecdotes from Peter Davison and guest star Keith Barron, amongst others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmmmmm, 8 April 2010
By 
Iain McClumpha (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plague of the Daleks (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
The Doctor and Nyssa arrive in Stockbridge and are confronted by strange climate and technological phenomena... and Daleks.

The first two episodes are pretty dull, even though we have zombies lurching around. The story just plods along at a slow pace making me wonder wether I should have some coffee to wake up.
Then at the end of part 2 we get a Dalek. Yay!!

The rest of the story is excellent, with the Daleks up to no good as per usual and giving us yet another fun way to manipulate people.

The Daleks aren't used to their best advantage, and come across as audio versions of the Cult of Skaro... and that bane of the TV series refit - the last Daleks in existance.

But the worst aspect is the writing - there is too much reliance on descriptive dialogue. I have listened to many, MANY BFP audios and none of them come close to this for descriptions. It's almost of the: "What are you looking at?"/"It's a yellow flower" variety.

Not the worst BFP Dr Who audio, but certainly nowhere near the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars rain of terror, 28 Jan 2010
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Plague of the Daleks (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
Latest doctor who audio play to feature peter davison as the doctor and sarah sutton as his companion nyssa. this is the final part of a trilogy set in the village of stockbridge, which has featured in the comic strip in doctor who magazine from time to time.

This story begins where the last one The Eternal Summer (Doctor Who) left off, but despite that those who havent heard it or read the magazine should have no trouble getting into this because it does pretty much stand alone.

The doctor and nyssa find that stockbridge of the future is now a tourist attraction run by a man and his daughter, and most of the population are clones of old residents. just as a tour party consisting of an eclectic group of aliens arrives, a strange rain cloud strikes the place, turning people into zombie like creatures.

And somewhere in the village, the doctor's greatest enemies are waiting...

This runs for four episodes of roughly twenty five minutes each, spread over two discs. The cast are very good, and the pace never lets up for the first three episodes. One irksome point is that a character who is meant to be annoying really is! Whilst this feels like a story from the comic strip, which to an extent is the point, it just never really comes to life at first. There's nothing wrong with it, but there's nothing outstanding either.

However things do pick up greatly in the final part, where some very cunning dalek schemes are revealed, there's some very interesting voice moments for them, a continuity problem from the show is neatly resolved, and there are two powerful moments that are really very sad and melancholy and will live with you for a little while.

Not a bad story, then, and worth sticking with for the final part, but not the best in the range.

There are roughly twenty minutes of interviews with cast and crew at the end of disc one.

The end of disc two sees the nine minute long three companions part ten, latest in a story that has been running over these releases for the past ten of them. Casual listeners wont be able to pick the plot up this late, but those who have followed it may find it takes a little getting used to as character thomas brewster both narrates and has dialogue and it jumps between these styles rather quickly.

But the writer really gets the character of brewster and writes him very well, and this episode does move the plot along nicely and bring a few things together. It will make you want to know what happens next.

For that see the next release, A Thousand Tiny Wings (Doctor Who) a trailer for which is at the start of disc one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Plague of the Daleks (Doctor Who)
Plague of the Daleks (Doctor Who) by Mark Morris (Audio CD - 31 Dec 2009)
12.56
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews