Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed this
Its not classic Big Finish Doctor Who, but as light relief I found myself really enjoying this lighter story featuring 7th Doctor, Ace and Hex (Hox). Don't be put off by the negative reviews, try it and cast aside your reality to enjoy some meaningless fun.
Published 9 months ago by SherburnInElmet

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Charming but Dispensable
When Doctor Who does comedy the results are usually variable to say the least and usually quite divisive. Look at the reception `Love and Monsters' received in Series Two of the new television show for a good example of this.

For this reason I approach stories such as `The Dark Husband' with a sense of apprehension. Experience has taught me not to expect to...
Published on 17 Jun 2008 by Andrew Brack


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Charming but Dispensable, 17 Jun 2008
By 
Andrew Brack (Atlanta, GA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dark Husband (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
When Doctor Who does comedy the results are usually variable to say the least and usually quite divisive. Look at the reception `Love and Monsters' received in Series Two of the new television show for a good example of this.

For this reason I approach stories such as `The Dark Husband' with a sense of apprehension. Experience has taught me not to expect to like a story and then I am pleasantly surprised when I do.

Perhaps the biggest surprise for me when listening to this story was how little I found myself laughing. This was not the fault you might expect it to be - instead of a stream of one liners, David Quantick serves up gentle character moments that fit the tone of the Ace-Hex relationship perfectly.

The story is however as fluffy as you might expect a comedic Big Finish story to be. Those comedic aspects diffuse much of the dramatic tension when our heroes are placed in peril; aliens are much too silly to be taken seriously and some of the plot twists can be predicted by the listener simply asking themselves "how could this get any sillier?".

The overall result is a thoroughly charming audio adventure (snot jokes aside!) that manages to capture the characters well and gently amuse for well over a hundred minutes. This is a fun and charming addition to this year's line up of Big Finish releases, however in a year that is packed with departures, new companions and returning villains I suspect that this will be the release that many will choose to skip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Appallingly Adventure That Left Me In The Dark, 13 July 2014
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dark Husband (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
Doctor Who: The Dark Husband.
Doctor: Seventh Doctor.
Companion(s): Ace, Hex.
Main setting: Tuin.
Writer: David Quantick.
Director: Nicholas Briggs.
Release number: 106.
Format: 4 Episodes on 2 CDs.
Running time 120 minutes.

Extras.
Trailer.
Behind the scenes interviews.

Cast.
The Doctor - Sylvester McCoy.
Ace - Sophie Aldred.
Hex - Philip Olivier.
Ori - Danny Webb.
Irit - Andy B Newb.
Tuin - Benny Dawb.
Bard - Katarina Olsson.
Bard - Sean Connolly.
Trivia.
1)Ace mentions the musical groups Right Said Fred & The Rolling Stones.
2)Tuin is known as the Brewery of the Galaxy as its beer houses boast 1,400 different varieties of ale.
3)Glastonbury Festival appears to still be running in the 2020s.
4)Andy B Newb and Benny Dawb are anagrams of Danny Webb.
5)Ace compares being surrounded by torch-bearing natives to the fate of Frankenstein's monster in the novel Frankenstein, During his Eighth incarnation, the Doctor would later meet the novel's author Mary Shelley at the Villa Diodati near Lake Geneva in Switzerland in June 1816, She became one of his companions, travelling with him for several years. (Audio: Mary's Story, The Silver Turk, The Witch & The Well, Army Of Death).

Plot Synopsis.
A week-long respite from a prolonged & bloody war, the Festival of the Twin Moons of Tuin makes Glastonbury look like a church fete... or so the brochure says. The Doctor & Ace are looking for rest & recreation while Hex is looking for the beer tent.

But eternal enemies the ginger-haired Ri & the coot-bald Ir are plotting to turn their Festival truce to their own advantage, Only the Dark Husband might stop the celebrations turning to horror... but who is the Dark Husband? & what terror awaits him on his wedding night?

If anyone knows any just cause or impediment... speak now. The lives of billions depend on it.

Timelord Thoughts.
Doctor Who at times contains moments of humour but here it tries to tell a 4 part story as a comedy romp type adventure it falls flat on it's face which is exactly what happens in this awful Seventh Doctor adventure The Dark Husband.

Just what were the writer David Quantick & the script editor thinking (Oh they weren't obviously) when they greenlight production on The Dark Husband?, It's a hideously cringeworthy embarrassing farce while the alien menace The Ri & Ir are insipid ridiculous appalling creatures who approach marriage & war in the most unconvincing plot I've ever heard in Doctor Who or any other Sci-Fi series for that matter, I wanted to eject this adventure from the CD player & throw it in the bin as it's an embarrassment to Doctor Who as the Star Wars Holiday Special is to George Lucas superb saga.

This story should be banished from existence as Sylvester McCoy gives potentially his worst ever performance as the Doctor that's including Paradise Towers while Sophie Aldred as Ace basically just shouts a lot even Philip Olivier as Hex is badly characterised & delivers an awkward performance.

Overall, There's nothing to recommend The Dark Husband, David Quantick has never written another Doctor Who adventure (Thank God) & this story is well known for being loathed by the majority of Doctor Who fan's, yet I was hoping I could find something in this adventure to merit a little praise but alas the only thing of merit in this adventure is the closing theme music, Avoid at all costs.
Timelord Rating.
1/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Dark Husband: Oh Dear. Oh dear oh dear oh dear., 21 Mar 2013
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Dark Husband (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
This is the hundred and sixth release from Big Finish in their range of full cast audio adventures starring classic Doctor Whos. It stars Sylvester McCoy as Seven, Sophie Aldred as Ace and Philip Olivier as Hex. There are 4 episodes, roughly 25-30 minutes each, complete with original theme music between each, and cliff hanger endings. Two episodes per disc on 2 discs, and a short booklet with some pictures of the cast and production notes.

I really cannot describe this production. It is awful. Even worse than Nekromantiea. In my mission to listen to and review all of the Big Finish Doctor Who releases, this is the one that I was dreading having to listen to again.

The Doctor, Ace and Hex land on a planet that seems to be one huge war grave, and are soon mixed up in the big war between the Re and the Er. It transpires that Seven came to the planet for a reason, and wants to try and the war by marrying someone.

Around this weak premise, which seem so to owe a lot in places to Jim Henson's Dark Crystal, is built a script that tries to be funny instead of thrilling and falls wide of the mark. It's plain awful. The script writer has no idea how to write for the regulars, turning Hex into an intergalactic Chav in search of beer and a party and Seven into a bellowing version of his earlier `clown' persona rather than the scheming `Dark Doctor'. The jokes are just unfunny. Which is a shame, because there are a lot of them in there. The cast treat the material with the contempt that it deserves and phone in performances. Often they are given lines such as `Oh dear oh dear oh dear', `there should be a better way', `get me out of here' and `that's just not funny' which they deliver as though they are comments on the production.

I find it amazing that someone at BF read the script and thought it was a good idea to produce it. I find it even more amazing that once produced someone listened to it and though it worth releasing, as it does some damage to BF's excellent reputation for quality.

There are CD extras here, with some interviews with cast and crew. Really? No CD extras on landmark releases such as The Girl Who Never Was and The Bride of Peladon, where such interviews would have been worthwhile and interesting, but they decide we'd like to know more about this abomination? Weird. Mind you, it is interesting to hear McCoy, Aldred and Olivier trying to be nice about the script.

A real stinker. Avoid at all costs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars glastonbury in space, 10 April 2008
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Dark Husband (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
Another audio adventure for doctor who. this one features sylvester mccoy as the seventh doctor, sophie aldred as his companion ace, and philip olivier as his companion hex - a character who was created especially for audio and has been in quite a few stories with the doctor and ace.

As usual this contains two discs, with two story episodes on each. The episodes do run a little longer than the usual twenty five minutes. and both discs end with approx fifteen minutes of interviews with the cast and crew, and the last track on disc four is five minutes of the music from the story.

This story involves the doctor and his companions visiting the planet tuin. Advertised as holding the most amazing festival ever it looks like just the place for a nice break from what they usually go through. but they land in the middle of a war zone, and find that there's more to this planet than meets the eye. and certain sacrifices will have to be made to end the fighting...

Written by top tv comedy writer david quantick, this strives to be fairly humorous. And that part just about works. It's not laugh out loud funny but comedy coming from character based situations, and there are some decent moments as a result. The alien world is very strange and well realised and populated by two warring species. The truth about them is a good twist in part four.

But this story is a bit too long, and drags at points, especially in part two. The fact that it's also not laugh out loud funny may mean some people don't find it involving.

There's a fair amount to like here, but whilst it's not bad, it's not the strongest audio ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Stupid, just stupid!, 10 April 2008
This review is from: The Dark Husband (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
To be honest this is downright silly. The Doctor, Ace and Hex are, at Ace's behest, seemingly going to a planet where they can have `fun' for a change rather than battle enemies and thwart invasions. However, once they arrive Ace realises that the Doctor has manipulated them into coming to the planet Tuin in order to interfere in the planet's politics - two warring factions (the clumsily named `Ir' and `Ree') are set on destroying one another.
The tone is set early on with Ace and Hex being chased into the TARDIS by an angry `snot beast' and the young Scouser subsequently being covered in `snot'. Things go from bad to worse when a warrior of the Ree (sounding like Brian Blessed bellowing for all he's worth) captures the time travellers and an Ir soldier (sounding like Richard O'Brien in full snake whispering mode) arrives in a big spaceship. Much of the remainder of part 2 is spent listening to the two `warriors' (one hairy and one completely bald for extra comedy effect) bicker and snape at one another whilst The Doctor twinkles and twitters and eventually decides to get married to `the shining bride' in order to end the war.
As a big fan of the Seventh Doctor on audio I was disappointed to say the least. The last few audio CDs featuring the TV Doctors have been uniformly excellent but this is just lame. Come on Big Finish, you can do better than this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed this, 12 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Dark Husband (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
Its not classic Big Finish Doctor Who, but as light relief I found myself really enjoying this lighter story featuring 7th Doctor, Ace and Hex (Hox). Don't be put off by the negative reviews, try it and cast aside your reality to enjoy some meaningless fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, just truly awful, 15 Sep 2012
By 
This review is from: The Dark Husband (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
I want to make one thing clear, this review does not reflect on the actors in any way whatsoever, they did the best they could with an awful script. Getting to that script; Clunky, badly written, terrible dialogue and "jokes" that would make a Christmas cracker blush.

If you're a real Dr Who fan then please don't buy this, it's one of the reasons Dr Who was taken off the air.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dark Husband (Doctor Who)
The Dark Husband (Doctor Who) by David Quantick (Audio CD - 30 Mar 2008)
£13.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews