Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Girl Who Never Was: Good evening gentlemen - is this 1942?
This is the hundred and third release from Big Finish in their range of full cast audio adventures starring classic Doctor Whos. It stars Paul McGann as Eight, India Fisher as Charlie and guest stars Anna Massey and Danny Webb. There are 4 episodes, roughly 25-30 minutes each, complete with original theme music between each, and cliff hanger endings. Two episodes per...
Published 17 months ago by Victor

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shame : (
I was really looking forward to this story. I had high expectations, and listening to it, the story was greatly paced and interesting. However Danny Webb's awful AWFUL Australian accent really ruined it for me. It is one of the worst Australian accents I have ever heard. It really grated. I almost didn't listen to disc two due to it. Which is shame as I usually rate Danny...
Published on 2 April 2010 by DUSTY


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Girl Who Never Was: Good evening gentlemen - is this 1942?, 21 Mar 2013
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Girl Who Never Was (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
This is the hundred and third release from Big Finish in their range of full cast audio adventures starring classic Doctor Whos. It stars Paul McGann as Eight, India Fisher as Charlie and guest stars Anna Massey and Danny Webb. There are 4 episodes, roughly 25-30 minutes each, complete with original theme music between each, and cliff hanger endings. Two episodes per disc on 2 discs, and a short booklet with some pictures of the cast and production notes.

Following the events of `Absolution', Charlie asks the Doctor to take her home so that she can end her travels with him. He reluctantly agrees, and they head towards Singapore in 1932, where Charlie was headed when the Doctor rescued her from the R101. Of course, things don't go to plan, and suddenly the two are thrown into an adventure across time as they investigate a mysterious ship that keeps appearing and disappearing, and an old lady in the twentieth century who claims to be called Charlotte Pollard...

It's an excellent tale for the pair, and fine high note for their partnership to end on. There is plenty for each to do, as they are separated some 60 years apart. India Fisher in particular really shines as Charlie. Paul McGann is superb as Eight, especially in his scenes with the older Charlotte. Towards the end of the story they rediscover some of the old fun that marked their partnership, and even though you know they will part company before the end of the play, the story keeps playing around with you and altering your expectations. The final end, when it comes is numbing, and a beautiful set up for the new direction that Charlie is to take within the main range of Dr Who releases. Those of you with sharp ears will detect a clue as to her new direction in the final theme music.

In all an excellent swan song for what, once upon a time, had been one of my favourite Dr/companion pairings, but one that had lingered too long and become stale, especially following the return from the divergent universe. But not an end for the characters, with Charlie staying in the main range and taking a bold and exciting new direction. 5 stars.

It is a shame that there are no cd extras with cast/production team interviews as are common on contemporary releases, as I think there would have been some interesting insights to be had with this landmark release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The End But The Moments Been Prepared For!, 13 April 2014
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl Who Never Was (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
CD Info.
2xcd of a 4 episode audio adventure.
Running time 120 minutes approx, Behind the scenes interviews, Trailer.

Trivia.
1)Make sure you keep listening there a post credits teaser scene.
2)Danny Webb played Mr Jefferson in Tenth Doctor two part story, The Impossible Planet/The Satan Pit.
3)David Yip had a small appearance in Fourth Doctor story Destiny Of The Daleks.
4)India Fisher is the voiceover on UK Masterchef.
5)Paul McGann's son Jake McGann appears in this story in a small role.

Synopsis.
After the loss of C'rizz Charley calls time on her adventures with the Eighth Doctor & demands to be taken home but instead the Doctor & Charley end up being split up in between 1942 & 2008 on board a mysterious lost battleship seemingly lost in Singapore were one of the Doctors deadliest enemy's the fearless Cybermen await & by this story's conclusion the friendship between the Doctor & Charley will never be quite the same again.

Timelord Thoughts.
A cracking good yarn this one is by writer Alan Barnes which sees a change in dynamic between the Eighth Doctor & Charleys relationship with a superb post credits teaser that hints at what's to come in the near future or past which is a excellent twist by writer Alan Barnes.

Paul McGann gives a very grounded heartfelt performance here as the Doctor bringing a unique range of emotions to his incarnation of the Timelord especially the final scene of the Doctor reading Charleys letter which is the most gut wrenching tearjerker Big Finish have produced on audio to date.

India Fisher as Charley Pollard gives a heartfelt performance here & her scenes with Paul McGann are heartbreaking especially in a scene near the end of the story yet just when you think it is all over...

The only quibble I had with this audio adventure was the climax with the Doctor & the Cybermen which I felt needed more of an impact as the Cybermen were very well written by Alan Barnes in this adventure yet the climax could've been tightened somewhat as the Doctor does very little here resulting in a slightly underwhelming conclusion.

This sees the end of the Eighth Doctor & Charley adventures & it is sad to see them go there separate ways but theres a nice uplifting surprise just around the corner & I wonder just who it can be?

Great story, Great production values by Big Finish & a great Cyberman adventure well worth purchasing if you enjoy Doctor Who on audio.

Timelord Rating.
8.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charley's final adventure with the Eighth Doctor and against the Cybermen!, 29 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl Who Never Was (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
`The Girl Who Never Was' is the final adventure with Charley Pollard in her adventures with the Eighth Doctor. She never wanted it to end, and she gets to join the Doctor in facing the Cybermen in this four-part story.

Charley, played by India Fisher, had been Paul McGann's Doctor Who companion since the beginning when Big Finish decided to do a series of audio adventures with the Eighth Doctor in 2001. From `Storm Warning' to `The Girl Who Never Was', Charley has always been there at the Eighth Doctor's side in her adventures through time and space. But as the Eighth Doctor was about to enter into new territory with his new companion Lucie Miller (Sheridan Smith), it was time to end Charley's story that had been running for so long. It's a well-deserved departure for Charley, and I'm sure for many fans would be a heart-breaking one.

This story follows on directly from `Absolution' where it ended with the shocking death of C'rizz, who was with the Doctor and Charley in the latter adventures of this series. Charley is shocked by C'rizz's death and more so by the Doctor's reaction to it since he has to move on. Not willing to accept the Doctor's reaction, Charley asks the Doctor to take her home.

The Doctor takes Charley home, and after much pleading and arguing, the TARDIS arrives in Singapore. This was where Charley was supposed to head for during her trip on the airship R101 in 'Storm Warning'. But it turns out the Doctor's got it wrong again, as he's landed the TARDIS in the right place but the wrong time. It's 2008 in Singapore when it should have been 1931. Angry at this, Charley leaves the Doctor whilst he's trying to sort out the problem. Eventually the two of them meet up and get to solve a mystery together for one last time as it takes them on a battleship in an ocean near Singapore in separate time zones from 2008 to 1942 to the year 500,002 itself.

This is a bracing adventure that is quite a one to follow and keep up with since we're shifting from various time zones from 2008 to 1942. But Alan Barnes manages to get across a well-deserved companion such as Charley who he has enjoyed writing since the first time in `Storm Warning'. It's fitting that the writer of Charley's first adventure should pen this final tale of her adventures with the Eighth Doctor. Usually that doesn't happen for so many companions, unless you get a really good writer who knows the character inside out. It's a complex tale, but it has a rather nice historical Earthbound setting on an ocean ship.

The story's guest cast is pretty good. There's Danny Webb who plays the story's villain Byron. Danny Webb has been in the TV series of `Doctor Who' with David Tennant, where he played Mr Jefferson the security officer in `The Impossible Planet'/'The Satan Pit'. Byron's a smuggler and he's rather a sly dodgy character for the Doctor and Charley to face off with mysterious motives. Danny plays two versions of Byron - one who is Byron Senior with Charley in 1942 and Byron Junior with the Doctor in 2008. Both have similar personalities and objectives which got me confused a little, but Danny plays both Byrons with such believability. His Australian accent for both these Byrons are superb, and put me in mind of Tegan whenever he said `rabbits' on occasion.

There's Amanda Root who I loved listening to in this story. I know Amanda for playing the main lead in a BBC production of `Persuasion' back in 1995. To hear her in a `Doctor Who' story from Big Finish was such a treat and I was intrigued to see and hear her in more things other than `Persuasion' and wondered whether she'd do a `Doctor Who'. In this story at first she's playing a sailor boy called Simons. But it turns out she's actually a stowaway disguising herself as one of the crew and is in actual fact Madeleine Fairweather. Madeleine gets to share an adventure with Charley during this adventure, and also gets to meet up with the Doctor towards the end. I really have enjoyed listening to Amanda in this, who's got such a sweet lovely voice for audio and is great at playing period characters as she does in this one in 1942. It was a real treat, and it's great to know her from a classical period drama before `Doctor Who'.

A notable guest star is Anna Massey who plays Miss Pollard. Yes, Miss Pollard! The Doctor comes across her in 2008 when he's trying to find Charley and get back the TARDIS. He's curious about who she is. Miss Pollard doesn't seem to recognise the Doctor. But how can that be when she's supposed to be a future version of Charley. She happens to be the father of Byron Junior in 2008. This is very strange, and it got me puzzling when I heard this. But there's a lot more to Miss Pollard than we listeners may think, and it took me by surprise to find out exactly who she is. Anna Massey pulls off a marvelous performance in this audio play and it's the first time I've heard in anything like this.

Jake McGann also appears in this story as a `Young Man', who is Paul McGann's son and would later play Susan Campbell's son (Carole Ann Ford) in later Eighth Doctor stories starting with 'An Earthly Child'.

The story's monsters in this play, as you guessed from the cover, are of course the Cybermen. I enjoyed these Cybermen in this story. They are 'The Invasion' Cybermen with a mix of new series voices and a hint of 'The Tenth Planet' Mondas Cybermen voices somewhere. I like it when they're stomping around with metallic footsteps in this story. They don't appear until the end of `Part Two', but are certainly glorious when they come into the story properly. They're onboard this battleship where the Doctor and friends find them as does Charley and Madeleine. They're on the ship with their own agenda and are intent on converting everyone aboard the ship. They even convert Byron Junior at some point, as they inject him with metallic implants that's sort of Borg-like when I imagine it.

There's also a Cyber Planner in this story who soon transfers his mind into Charley's and converts her into one of them. She gets implants when she's becomes the Cyber Planner and it's a really chilling moment when we hear Charley cyberfied in the cliffhanger for `Part Three' with Madeleine shocked. This is years before 'Nightmare in Silver' came along with Charley getting Borg-like implants when becoming Cyber Planner, and India is really chilling and frightening when I heard her in that monotone sort of voice and was thinking the Cybermen really had got her in this one. It was an exciting yet chilling moment.

The Cybermen are still allergic to gold when threatened with gold ingots aboard the ship, which is a bit annoying as it's always an easy way out against these metal meanies. But they still keep their menace in this story all the same.

This story of course is all about Charley and her final adventure she shares with the Eighth Doctor. She gets separated from the Doctor most of the time in this story, but she really handles it well. Charley shares an adventure with Madeleine whom she recognises reminding a little bit of herself when she stowed away aboard the R101 in her first story. She recognises and remembers the Cybermen from 'Sword of Orion' and is willing to go against them from what she remembers about them from the Garazone System. I liked it when Charley plays a prank on the Doctor in the first episode which made me laugh. I also found that moment in `Part Four' when the Doctor tries to erase her memories like he would later do with Donna Noble in `Journey's End', yet she manages to retain her memories since her adventures with the Doctor is something she doesn't want to forget.

And the Doctor as ever excels and is played remarkably well by Paul McGann. He doesn't want Charley to leave and is working out the mystery with the time zones and the mysterious battleship containing Cybermen next to Singapore. He's curious about Miss Pollard (played by Anna Masey) and wonders what her connection is to Byron. Paul fits the story really well and is finding himself in a tricky situation when trying to save Charley and stop Byron. It's a marvelous performance on Paul McGann's part and his scenes with Charley are truly moving and intense moments.

The last scene is with the Doctor when he's lost Charley and he tries to find some trace of her but can't. He eventually returns to the hotel in Singapore 2008 where Charley left a message for him. The Doctor takes the letter from the receptionist and reads it. It's a message that Charley gives that's so heartbreaking and affects the Doctor deeply. It's a beautifully written message from Charley on how much she enjoyed her adventures with the Doctor and that she `never wanted it to end'. The Doctor, heartbroken with the loss of Charley, leaves the hotel knowing that everybody leaves him in the end.

There is a post-credits sequence to listen for after the credits. So don't stop. There's still more.

Charley's story isn't over yet. After being washed up on the shore when the Cyber ship crashed, Charley continues writing her memoirs of an Edwardian adventuress. She's lost and alone. The Doctor's nowhere to be found. She needs rescuing. So she sends out an SOS message to anyone who can hear it. `Dot dot dot, dash dash dash, dot dot dot.' That message is continually being sent out. Never stopping, never ending....

...until Charley hears the TARDIS. It whooshes and grinds, echoing close to her. Charley is filled joy and is brought to tears. She runs to where the sounds coming from to eventually finding the TARDIS. She bangs at the door, calling out the Doctor's name. The TARDIS doors open and she enters inside, so happy! But it isn't the Doctor! Not her Doctor! Charley is surprised and taken back. It's the wrong console room she's entered in. She looks to the man at the console in mild shock and surprise, thinking he was someone else. Who is he? Who is this Doctor's TARDIS she's forced her way into. Who could it be? I'll give you a clue. It's in the end theme music that follows after this.

Find out what happens to Charley next in 'The Condemned'.

The CD extras on this audio adventure are as follows. There's a coming soon trailer at the beginning for a Fifth Doctor story called `The Bride of Peladon' with Peri and Erimen.

There's also at the end of both discs some behind-the-scenes interviews focusing on the making of `The Girl Who Never Was' with cast and crew such as Paul McGann, India Fisher, Barnaby Edwards (the director), Nicholas Briggs (the voice of the Cybermen), Danny Webb, Anna Massey and many more.

There's also some trailers for some recent Doctor and Charley adventures with C'rizz such as 'Memory Lane' and 'Absolution'.

In the story, there's a jovial sea-shanty sung by the crew of the mysterious battleship next to Singapore called `Botany Bay' with lyrics and sung by Tim Sutton who appears in this story as Colville (not related to Sarah Sutton I don't think and certainly not me unfortunately).

`The Girl Who Never Was' is a well-deserved story to finish off Charley's adventures with the Eighth Doctor. It's a sad and moving end for Charley and it's a great to finish off her adventures with Doctor Eight against the Cybermen. But it's clear that Charley's adventures aren't over yet as there's more to come with another set of adventures following this with a completely different Doctor...

For the Eighth Doctor, he carries on his adventures such as meeting three of his earlier selves in `The Four Doctors' as well as meeting up with his new companion Lucie Miller in 'Blood of the Daleks - Part 1'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars And so concludes an era..., 18 Jan 2008
By 
Andrew Brack (Atlanta, GA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Girl Who Never Was (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
Big Finish's Eighth Doctor has been through a lot in the last twelve months. He has gained a new companion on BBC7 and in the Monthly Series release before this, 'Absolution', he lost C'Rizz. This story follows on from that story and picks up the threads it left dangling. It is a story about the end of a relationship and coming to terms with that.

It is entirely appropriate that we end as we began - with Alan Barnes. He created Charley in the audio adventure 'Storm Warning' and shifted their relationship forward in 'Neverland'.

The script for 'The Girl Who Never Was' is much more complex than that of 'Storm Warning', spreading its narrative over multiple time zones. Complicated narrative structures can sometimes be the kiss of death for an audio as the medium requires concentration and engagement at the best of times but this holds up nicely with strong lead and guest performances keeping attention and a few superb twists along the way.

It is a script that draws together on what has come before however so unless you have heard previous Eighth Doctor and Charley stories you will likely feel lost and much less engaged. Likewise if you have never liked this pairing the story will likely leave you cold as much of its appeal is linked to its audience hoping that the Doctor and Charley do not part on bad terms.

In fact the strong emotions of Charley and the Doctor superbly contrast with the cold, emotionless Cybermen who serve as the physical threat to the Doctor and Charley. They sound excellent (Cyberfans: picture The Invasion Cybermen with Tenth Planet voices) but in many ways they are not the focus of this story. However I felt that this worked well and ensures that there is an action story there alongside the emotional journey of the Doctor and Charley.

'The Girl Who Never Was' is a very enjoyable audio adventure, mixing character drama and the return of one of the most popular 'monsters' in the Doctor Who canon. Whilst it will not suit those who have not been following the Eighth Doctor and Charley arc closely, for those who have it is a touching and emotional close to a memorable era of Doctor Who.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goodbye Charley, we'll miss you, except..., 11 Oct 2010
By 
Tony Jones "Tony" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl Who Never Was (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
I have just caught up with this tale, having been a few years late in discovering Big Finish, and yes there was a lump in the throat and a tear in the eye despite my knowing what happens next (sort of until I listen to The Condemned).

Regardless of sentimentality, I was astonished by how good this was on many levels, and really provides further evidence to me that in many ways these Big Finish audios are better than the TV doctor in terms of narrative effort. And I include the ninth through eleventh Doctors in that.

In particular:

* The actors stay fresh - after a lot of stories (and I skipped Zagreus onwards) there is a lot of energy between the characters still
* The narrative is wonderful - a tightly choreographed dance between Charley in 1943 and the Doctor in 2008 (dipping in and out of 500,002) with Cybermen, someone who may be Charley when older but with amnesia and all sorts of other characters
* As ever the smallest part and most minor sound have all been thought about and all work to produce a whole

Suffice it to say that this is another gem from Big Finish. If you like me are a more recent convert to these tales, BUY THIS ONE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The end of an era..., 22 Jan 2008
This review is from: The Girl Who Never Was (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
Doctor Who audio adventures are the best out in the whole world of who these days, the big finish team love to do brilliant and exciting stories that keep you hooked, even if the story has sad undertones. So we have had a load of brilliant adventures with the eighth doctor and Charlie Pollard, played brilliantly by India Fisher. But nearly all good things come to an end.

The cybermen are very much in the background in this story, but that does not mean this story isnt terrific. This story has very strong characterisation. The tight dialogue between the Doctor and Charlie is right on the nail for me. Paul is as excellent as ever. But i love the cyberplanner. A touch of the invasion, without being too much of a touch if you get what i mean. I love the cyubermen voices in this story too, somewhere between the new series and the tenth planet.

The elements all come together and gell to make the death of Charlie very moving and unexpected. The last scene with the doctor reading the note Charlie left for him is one of the best scenes in big finish who ever. This story definitely has class with plenty of fresh ideas and great acting. An enjoyable romp! Im glad to see that India hasnt finished quite yet though, for she is back in The Condemned, cant wait til thats out...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shame : (, 2 April 2010
This review is from: The Girl Who Never Was (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
I was really looking forward to this story. I had high expectations, and listening to it, the story was greatly paced and interesting. However Danny Webb's awful AWFUL Australian accent really ruined it for me. It is one of the worst Australian accents I have ever heard. It really grated. I almost didn't listen to disc two due to it. Which is shame as I usually rate Danny Webb as an actor. Why not just hire an Australian actor to play an Australian, aren't there enough of them in the UK doing Panto?? Apart from that it was quite a good story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars journey's end, 14 Jan 2008
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Girl Who Never Was (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
Another audio adventure for the eighth doctor who, and his companion charley pollard. the story is four episodes long, each of twenty five minutes duration, spread over four discs. and each disc as usual ends with roughly fifteen minutes worth of interviews with those involved in the production.

This is the last story for charley. that is not a spoiler because those who have been following the range will be aware of this, and the blurb on the box makes it clear. It follows on directly from the end of the preceding eighth doctor story, absolution, so this is not a story to come in on if you've not been keeping up with the range.

But it's an excellent one for her to go out on. arriving on earth lands the tardis crew straight into a mystery involving a ship lost off singapore. some people are after it's cargo. but there's far more on board than meets the eye.

This is one of those stories where the plot involves time travel and paradoxes and you will have to keep your wits about you in order to concentrate on it, but it benefits those who do, because there's a great story and plot here, and all the cast are superb.

There are two great cliffhangers. The first is spoiled if you read the cast list on the back of the box. and the second by the cover picture on the box.

And when you get to the end of episode four, do not turn the cd off right away. let the disc play to the very end. That's all I can say without spoilers.

A very strong audio indeed, one of the best eighth doctor ones, and a fitting finale for charley
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Girl Who Never Was (Doctor Who)
The Girl Who Never Was (Doctor Who) by Alan Barnes (Audio CD - 30 Dec 2007)
13.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews