Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Valhalla - You seem to have a bit of a terrmite prrroblem
This is the ninety sixth release from Big Finish in their range of full cast audio adventures starring classic Doctor Whos. It stars Sylvester McCoy as a companionless Seven, and has welcome guest appearances from Philip Jackson (who really should do more of these!) and Susannah Yorke. Episodes are roughly 25-30 minutes each, complete with original theme music between...
Published 18 months ago by Victor

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't Quite Deliver On It's Potential
CD Info.
2xCD.
4 episodes.
Running time 120 minutes approx.

Extras.
Trailer.
Behind the scenes interviews.

Valhalla.
Doctor: Seventh Doctor
Main enemy: Our Mother/Registry
Main setting: Valhalla, Callisto.
Writer: Marc Platt.

Trivia.
1)The late Susannah York played Lara In Superman,...
Published 2 months ago by Timelord007


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't Quite Deliver On It's Potential, 5 Jun 2014
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Valhalla (Big Finish Adventures) (Audio CD)
CD Info.
2xCD.
4 episodes.
Running time 120 minutes approx.

Extras.
Trailer.
Behind the scenes interviews.

Valhalla.
Doctor: Seventh Doctor
Main enemy: Our Mother/Registry
Main setting: Valhalla, Callisto.
Writer: Marc Platt.

Trivia.
1)The late Susannah York played Lara In Superman, Superman II & voiced the part in Superman IV The Quest For Peace.
2)Duncan Wibsey is a Big Finish regular who has appeared in the following Big Finish Doctor Who audiobooks to date.
LIVE 34.
Valhalla.
The Nightmare Fair.
Lurkers at Sunlight's Edge.
The Crimes of Thomas Brewster.
The Feast of Axos.
The Sentinels of the New Dawn (Companion Chronicles).
The Demons of Red Lodge.
Heroes of Sontar.
The Guardians of Prophecy.
The Sands of Life.

Plot Synopsis.
In Valhalla, Capital of Callisto, Jupiter's premier moon, anything and everything is for sale. But Valhalla is in trouble due to Earth granting independence and cutting off the supplies. The Doctor who claims to be retired visits the Job Centre and finds power cuts, barcoded citizens and monthly riots and a termite problem.

What secrets does Valhalla hold & can the Doctor if he chooses to unravel them in time to save the humans who are struggling to survive against the sinister creatures beneath the surface of the planet.

Timelord Thoughts.
Writer Marc Platt who wrote,the Seventh Doctor tv adventure Ghostlight has written an uneven audio adventure here showcasing a poorly written Seventh Doctor & a uneven script that has inspired moments of brilliance.

The trouble is with Valhalla it starts with a cracking first episode that does deliver a great sense of mystery & wonder about the secrets of Valhalla only to fall apart during the remaining 3 episodes as the story becomes bland & lacklustre devoid of any tension or drama in what soon becomes a run of the mill monster of the month Doctor Who adventure plus a very simple conclusion to the overall story.

It's a shame as there are flashes of brilliance especially the opening first episode that draws in the listener into believing this is going to be something quite special especially the scenes were the Doctor finds a dead body & doesn't seem to care about what's going on gives a darkness to the storyline that McCoy handles superbly.

A good performance from Susannah York as villain Our Mother/Registry lifts this play from out the doldrums yet good performances can't hide the scripts failings & in the end we sadly get a run of the mill Seventh Doctor adventure.

Overall not the worst Seventh Doctor story I've heard but Big Finish have delivered far better story's for this Doctors incarnation than this.

Timelord Rating.
6/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Valhalla - You seem to have a bit of a terrmite prrroblem, 1 Mar 2013
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Valhalla (Big Finish Adventures) (Audio CD)
This is the ninety sixth release from Big Finish in their range of full cast audio adventures starring classic Doctor Whos. It stars Sylvester McCoy as a companionless Seven, and has welcome guest appearances from Philip Jackson (who really should do more of these!) and Susannah Yorke. Episodes are roughly 25-30 minutes each, complete with original theme music between each, and cliff hanger endings. Two episodes per disc on 2 discs, and a short booklet with some pictures of the cast and production notes. There are also some excerpts of the music track on the end of disc one, and interviews with cast and crew at the end of disc 2.

This is an excellent production from Big Finish. It's a tale that just keeps you slightly off balance for the whole run time, just as soon as you think you have a handle on it, it changes again. A companionless Seventh Doctor arrives in Valhalla, an earth colony on Jupiter's moon Callisto. The Doctor is feeling his years (I get the feeling it is set well after his association with Ace and Hex, towards the end of this regeneration) and appears to be looking to settle down and retire from his peripatetic life. But Valhalla has problems, and it seems that only the Doctor can help. But was it his plan all along?

I love this characterisation of the older, weary Doctor. So far removed from the pratfalling twerp who emerged in Time and the Rani. McCoy plays it with just the right note of seen it all, done it all melancholia coupled with a menacing and dark undercurrent. When called upon to give the Doctor depth rather than just bellowing `Haaaaace' all the time he can really deliver, and gives one of his top ten performances here. Of especial note is a scene where he observes someone finding the body of a friend, and he has to convince himself to care and help. It's dark, and works very well.

There's a cracking story here, fleshed out by star turns by Philip Jackson and Susannah Yorke among others. The direction is tight, and the audio production really excellent. Right up there with the production of the Gathering. There is always something going on, more often than not just a constant slight scratching that suggests insects scuttling around in the skirting boards. It's really well done.

In all 5 stars for this excellent production. Dark, unsettling, with a great performance from McCoy. It's a joy.

As is Big Finish's now established custom, there are bonus interviews with cast and crew at the end of the second disc. There are some musical cues at the end of the first disc. To be honest these don't do much for me, but some might enjoy them. The interviews are better than those on earlier releases as both interviewer and interviewees get the hang of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Valhalla, 27 Nov 2007
By 
Jane Aland (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Valhalla (Big Finish Adventures) (Audio CD)
Marc Platt has written some of the best Big Finish audios for Doctor Who, usually displaying incredible wit and invention, so it's odd that 'Valhalla' is so traditional and uninspired. The story features a human colony under attack from giant termites and for all intents and purposes might as well be a 2nd Doctor 'base under seige' tale. We get a few allusions to capitalism, but these are very much an afterthought, and the genuinely interesting ideas (such as organised ticketed riots) are very few and far between. One of the more interesting aspects is the 7th Doctor travelling without any companions this time, and the first episode where he seems to have retired is by far the strongest, though this turns out to be something of a red herring. The performances are often stilted, and the expositionary dialogue ('look - a giant termite!') doesn't help.

'Valhalla' isn't a terrible story, it's just a by-the-numbers 'Doctor Who vs Monster of the Week' play, which for Marc Platt is a huge dissapointment. Not awful, just very, very average.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Distinctly ungodly, 1 April 2009
This review is from: Doctor Who - Valhalla (Big Finish Adventures) (Audio CD)
Yes I agree that this Big Finish audio is a big disappointment. After Colin Baker I find Sylvester to be the best served of all the audio Doctors in terms of the quality of the stories and the performances of the actor himself. This is however a bland and generic Doctor Who story; having said that, I have listened to all 117 Big Finish monthly Doctor Who releases and there are only a handful of duds, so perhaps we can forgive Nick Briggs et al and hope that this is only a brief dip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jovian pest control, 19 July 2007
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Valhalla (Big Finish Adventures) (Audio CD)
In a run down city on callisto, a moon of jupiter, humans struggle to survive. when they face a threat from below the surface of their world, who can help them? The doctor. If he chooses to.

Another audio adventure for the seventh doctor, this one featuring him sometime after he and his most recent companions have parted, thus he's all alone and a little lost for purpose. This comes over very well in the first episode, when the doctor is shiftless weary and looking for purpose.
There are some decent supporting characters, workers on this world, who are quite well written and well played by the cast. Although one of them does do so much moaning they get a bit annoying.

The pace drops off somewhat in the second episode which doesn't really go anywhere, and the doctor's motivations do get a bit clouded. You have to work at this story to get the most out of it, but things do come together quite well by the end, with matters being resolved in typical fashion. There are some strong scenes at the finish as the doctor confronts a few issues about himself and someone gets a chance to travel with him.

A decent audio for the doctor although it's a bit stretched at four parts, and would have worked better as a three parter.

The now usual audio extras have slightly shorter interviews than usual, which actually works well as it paces them better, and lots of the incidental music as a stand alone score.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars For a man of Marc Platt's pedigree this is abysmal!, 5 Aug 2007
By 
Mr. D. Harris "duncle" (Bath, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Valhalla (Big Finish Adventures) (Audio CD)
What a crashing disappointment. Platt has authored 2 of my all-time favourite Dr Who stories: the TV 'Ghost Light' and the audio 'Spare Parts'. And now he has written one of the most generic, bland and cliched stories I've ever heard. The central idea gets lost in the first 10 minutes, the plot ambles along so predictably that I'd worked out the ending before the close of episode one and the Doctor is so badly drawn I'm amazed that Platt had worked on a Sylvester McCoy story before. The reason the Dr is even here in this out-of-the-way backwater is skirted around and the one intriguing thought that comes up is covered over as soon as it appears.

The direction is nervous throughout the entire story, as if the Director isn't actually sure what he wants and where the story is going, the vocal beats are too histrionic at some points and too muted at others and the entire thing feels like a story to fill up the quota rather than anything more engaging.

Since it appears to be a barrel-scraping exercise I gave it a barrel-scraping one star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What is it with some reviewers....., 4 Sep 2007
This review is from: Doctor Who - Valhalla (Big Finish Adventures) (Audio CD)
Valhalla has quite a list of good points:

(and actually after listening to this audio again, i liked it more!)

the first is hearing Susannah York. I like her, shes a really good actress and she gives a great performance on this audio.

the second is hearing Sylvester Mccoy, he gives yet another stellar performance as the Doctor. He is always believable and credible as the old time lord. in fact if i was pushed i would have to say he is my fav doctor on audio.

the script is intelligent and well written. A good insect infestation theme well performed.

i like Jevvan, shes a good character.

I like this story. Yes, it might not be The Gathering or No Mans Land, and it may not be quite as big as Marc's earlier Spare Parts, but it is still better than most rubbish on tv these days, thats for sure.

Well thats not hard is it....?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who - Valhalla (Big Finish Adventures)
Doctor Who - Valhalla (Big Finish Adventures) by Marc Platt (Audio CD - 31 May 2007)
12.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews