Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the return of tegan
An audio adventure for the fifth doctor who, in this case reunited with his tv companion tegan jovanka. actress janet fielding who played the latter has said this is the only audio she'll ever do, so this is a one off experience.

Tegan encounters the fifth doctor again, decades after she left the tardis. but one of her friends is involved with dangerous...
Published on 19 Oct 2006 by Paul Tapner

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Goodbye Tegan...again!
Having resisted previous efforts to persuade her to reprise her role on audio Janet Fielding finally gives in and returns as Tegan Jovanka for one story, as the 5th Doctor meets her 20 years after she left the TARDIS. There are some nice character moments between the Doctor and Tegan, but the actual storyline here isn't particularly special. 'The Gathering' is a direct...
Published on 20 Jan 2007 by Jane Aland


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Goodbye Tegan...again!, 20 Jan 2007
By 
Jane Aland (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Gathering (Big Finish) (Audio CD)
Having resisted previous efforts to persuade her to reprise her role on audio Janet Fielding finally gives in and returns as Tegan Jovanka for one story, as the 5th Doctor meets her 20 years after she left the TARDIS. There are some nice character moments between the Doctor and Tegan, but the actual storyline here isn't particularly special. 'The Gathering' is a direct sequel to 6th Doctor and Peri audio 'The Reaping', so doesn't work as a stand-alone adventure, and also ties in to the 3rd part of the trilogy 'The Harvest'. As with those other two stories 'The Gathering' is essentially a Cyberman story, though despite the application of Cyber-technology the actual Cyberman presence in this audio is dissapointingly small. The plot is also far too slight to justify it's running time, with the first disc in particular going nowhere fast, as it replays the same scenes through different characters viewpoints. The one-off return of Tegan may be a special event for the audios, but in the final analysis this is a rather average story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the return of tegan, 19 Oct 2006
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Gathering (Big Finish) (Audio CD)
An audio adventure for the fifth doctor who, in this case reunited with his tv companion tegan jovanka. actress janet fielding who played the latter has said this is the only audio she'll ever do, so this is a one off experience.

Tegan encounters the fifth doctor again, decades after she left the tardis. but one of her friends is involved with dangerous technology. and they might have met the doctor before. it's going to be a birthday to remember for tegan.

this is a direct sequel to earlier sixth doctor audio the reaping, and whilst it possibly could stand on it's own it may help to hear that one first. there are two episodes each of forty five minutes in duration, but they never feel overlong.

Plot wise this isn't quite as good as the reaping and deals mostly with loose ends from that story, but it's an engaging listen, with a great central pairing and some good supporting characters who are quite well played and written. And it follows on from the reaping in having the theme of choices. choices as in those that the people who get the chance to travel with the doctor have to make, whether it's before they join him, or when they leave.

And this is actually part of a loose trilogy because the one loose end at the end of this story ties in with an earlier seventh doctor story called the harvest. they're all well worth getting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tegan reunites with the Doctor and faces the Cybermen, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Gathering (Big Finish) (Audio CD)
This review is for timelord007 as a request and a thanks for supporting me in my reviews.

I enjoyed `The Gathering' starring Peter Davison and Janet Fielding so much! It's a great sequel to a fantastic story before this one. It's not as good as `The Reaping' in my opinion, but it's still a great story all the same. The first episode's rather convoluted with some many plot threads untangling before the episode's conclusion, but it gets better and interesting by the time we get to the second episode. It's well constructed and brilliantly written again by Joseph Lidster who continues to write for this story in particular.

N.B. This story's pretty wibbley-wobbley, timey-wimey. If you want to understand what's going on in this story, please listen to `The Reaping' first. I know this is a Fifth Doctor story before the Sixth Doctor, but trust me it's best if you hear `The Reaping' first.

The highlight of this story is of course the return of one of the Doctor's well-known companions - Tegan Jovanka. Janet Fielding vowed once that she would never return to the role of Tegan since her last appearance all those years ago on telly. But since then she's had a change of heart and just this once at the time she decided to return to play Tegan for one last time for her final meeting with the Doctor. It's a great performance on Janet's part and is a great way to depict Tegan in a more interesting light and making a strong rounded character who comes full circle.

This is a 2 by 60 minute story spread across two discs (120 minutes in total), much shorter than the previous story's length.

As I mentioned in another review, I met Joe Lidster at a convention in Slough last August and talked especially about `The Reaping' and `The Gathering' that he wrote. It came at an opportune time since that convention was organised by Janet Fielding for `Project Motor House' that she's running. I'm really glad I was able to talk to Joe about this story and its predecessor knowing that fact in particular.

The story opens as before in the previous one with various news reports overlapping with each other across various time periods. It's a rather different set up to the previous one since the build up's more subtler as there isn't much music or background noise to add to the atmosphere. It's the knowing that Tegan's in this that makes the story tenser and knowing that it isn't going to be an easy ride as the previous one. The news reports lead us directly to a news/radio channel in Brisbane, Australia on the 22nd September 2006 where it happens to be Tegan's birthday (and also Billie Piper's apparently).

Again we have at the beginning a semi-prologue sequence with Tegan when she wakes up in the morning and gets a phone call from her mum. I can tell from the phone call that it's a rocky relationship between Tegan and her mum, and she's rather drained and tense during that conversation. I like it when she's going `No mum', `No mum, `No mum!' and she can't get a word in edgeways. It's been a long while since Tegan left the Doctor in 'Resurrection Of The Daleks' and life hasn't been that easy for her as she's now 46 years old since we last heard of her. Tegan's sad and rather depressed with her life, and thinks she's got nothing to look forward to especially on her birthday. It's a great way to set up the story with defining Tegan's character at the beginning.

As I said before, the story's rather convoluted especially with the first episode as it's all varying perspective culminating towards the end. But I can try and make sense of it.

The Doctor in his fifth incarnation visits the Gogglebox for the first time inside the moon after dropping off his companions Peri and Erimen in `Monte Carlo' in the story 'The Veiled Leopard'. He meets Alan Fitzgerald (played by Nicholas Briggs). This is the original `Alan' before he was cloned in the future. Alan works at the Googlebox as a student of history and is delighted to meet the Doctor since he's a fan and wants to know more information about him. The Doctor thinks Alan knows too much about him, especially in his future seventh incarnation which I thought was funny. Alan is more enthuastic and lively than his successors in `The Reaping' and he gets to ask the Doctor questions about his certain history such as `The Great Fire of London', `U.N.I.T.' (though we're kept hidden in the dark about the correct dates thankfully), and about some energy spikes occurring on Earth in different time periods. The Doctor's intrigued by this and is keen to find out what those energy spikes are occurring in Baltimore, 1984 and Brisbane, 2006. He sets off in the TARDIS, leaving Alan on the Gogglebox till the next time.

The Doctor eventually ends up in Brisbane, 2006 where he traces the energy spikes to a pharmacy run by one Dr Katherine Chambers (who was Peri's friend in `The Reaping'). The Doctor meets up with Kathy wanting to talk to her. But when Kathy learns that this is `the Doctor' she met all those years ago in Baltimore, she is shocked and horrified, unsettled by the Doctor's presence. The Doctor's curious as to why Kathy seems nervous of him, and she eventually takes him to a bar called `8687' where a friend's birthday takes place. Once they're there, and the Doctor's on the verge of getting to learn more about who Dr Chambers is, in enters the birthday girl and it's Tegan Jovanka. Tegan sees the Doctor and is aghast and shocked, expecting him to be the last person she'll ever meet on his birthday. The Doctor's not too comfortable about seeing Tegan again too, but puts on a brave face for it.

This story has resonances of another story from the new series of `Doctor Who' - 'School Reunion' - where Sarah Jane Smith's reunited with the Tenth Doctor after so long since she last travelled with him in the TARDIS. The same principles apply with Tegan, but it's not a happy reunion as she knows the Doctor's not merely here to wish her a happy birthday despite him obviously saying so. Tegan finds it difficult to reconcile and reunite with the Doctor since the last time she saw him since they hadn't parted on good terms. It's makes for tense drama and I was keen to find out how the Doctor was going to able to tackle this one in reuniting with Tegan again.

I for one have written a story where characters who reunite with each other and find it difficult to reconcile how they parted company and I always enjoy it when companions return to reunite with the Doctor and it occurs in different manners. Nyssa, my favourite Doctor Who companion, recently has reunited with the Doctor after 50 years and it was exciting and intriguing to listen to that too.

I enjoyed hearing Tegan in this story, and Janet Fielding certainly has managed to find her feet in playing the character again. I've had the pleasure of meeting Janet twice at conventions now and it was a treasure to behold meeting her at signings or on the panels. Tegan in this story is still the rather bossy and rather bitchy sort of character we know from the TV series but there's lot more substance in this. We get to see how Tegan's life is reflected after leaving the Doctor since it's rather depressing as she has no friends or family to come to her birthday party. She doesn't get on well with her workmates and finds them rather irritating like Jodi Boyd (played by Zehra Naqvi). Tegan used to have a boyfriend Michael Tanaka (played by Dait Abuchi), but she's recently dumped him for some strange reason.

I think it was rather a shocking moment when Tegan said `This is my life, this is what I do! I work, I sleep and that's it!' It's something the Doctor can't reckon with as he was hoping for her to be so much more as I'm sure many of us were. It becomes shockingly apparent that Tegan's dying when she reveals to the Doctor that she's got a tumour inside her head and it's growing. I couldn't help but feel horrified by that, especially since at the time hearing this Janet was diagnosed with cancer (though thankfully she's recovered now lately). This story presents an interesting side to Tegan, especially when we find out what happens to certain companions to the Doctor after they've left them for so long.

I also enjoyed hearing Peter Davison playing the Doctor in this, who's become a favourite of mine and I've had the pleasure of briefly meeting him once at a convention in August. Peter's Doctor is concerned about these energy spikes that are happening and wants to know more about them. He tries to get to Kathy Chambers and is easily frustrated when he can't get to her and she's avoiding him. She shows concern for Tegan and is disparaged when he finds her being nasty to Jodi and gets her to sit down to talk about `what's the matter'. I love how in this story despite the Doctor's uneasiness with Tegan, he's still able to show concern for her since they were friends once and wants to help her in curing her off this tumour. Whether it's out of sympathy or guilt, he's willing to let Tegan to join him in the TARDIS which goes to show how compassionate Peter's Doctor is in this story.

In this story, we have the return of Kathy Chambers (played by Jane Perry) who was in `The Reaping'. Kathy is much older in this story since the last time we heard her and is a more interesting character going on a hard journey in this story. It turns out it was Kathy that was responsible for activating the cyber technology to blow up killing Peri's mom and Mrs Van Gysegham in the process. Deeply distressed from this, Kathy moves to Brisbane with the help of her university friend James Clarke (played by Richard Grieve) and transfers her brother Nate who's paralysed. Years later, she's set up this pharmacy of hers in order to help people with sickness and has building a new `system' that she and James have been working on. She also is helping and becomes friends with Tegan to cure her of her tumour. When she meets the Doctor, the memories of what happened in `The Reaping' come flooding back to her and she's not comfortable with meeting the Doctor again.

I like how in `Part One', she has scenes with the waiter working at the bar 8687 (played by Jef Higgins), and she tells him the story of what happened to her all those years ago and what has in mind to do in making a big choice. She's unsettled by this choice she has to make, knowing that the Doctor won't like what's doing if she did. But she decides to take a big chance and returns to the bar to take Tegan with her, pointing a gun at the Doctor to prevent him from following her and Tegan back to the pharmacy. It's an interesting character development, making Kathy very different to how we first met her when she was Peri's once old-time school friend.

In this story we also get to meet Eve Morris (played by Janie Booth), the secretary working at Kathy's pharmacy and is chosen to become an integral part to Kathy and James' new system. The character of James Clarke is interesting since he's a jerk, has a screw loose and seems to be working for some organisation. What that organisation is, well you have to find out. Michael Tanaka is also interesting as we get to see a little of Tegan's love life and how he cares for her and worries for her especially when he's distrustful of the Doctor and is unaware of her former girlfriend having a tumour.

This is a Cybermen story, but it hasn't got any Cybermen in it. There is a Cyberman of sorts in this but it's a partially-converted one and it happens to be Kathy's brother Nate. You can see Nate on the front cover of this as a Cyberman, and he looks just like Joe Lidster apparently. Nate is paralysed and can't speak clearly through his distorted electronic cyber voice. He's on his way to becoming a Cyberman with his stomping footsteps echoing in the background. Kathy has been keeping him safe at her pharmacy for some time and is wanting to cure him from his condition since she can't let go. Tegan recognises the technology and so does the Doctor, and they both try to persuade Katy not to carry this thing she's about to do and to let go off her brother, but Katy ultimately refuses as she's keen to use this new `system' she's developed with James to cure Nate.

As I said before, this is a pretty wibbley-wobbley, timey wimey story. `The Gathering' is a sequel to `The Reaping', but it's complicated because this story is with the Fifth Doctor that's before Sixth Doctor. The Fifth Doctor is dealing with something that occurs in his future, whereas for Kathy it's already happened in her past. Kathy is the key character both stories driving the narrative, and it does get confusing when you think about it. If they did on telly it would be interesting having `The Gathering' transmitted first in Peter's last season and then have `The Reaping' in Colin's first season with a repeat of `The Gathering' afterwards. Confused? I don't blame you. I would be if I did what I did with the Star Wars films by listening to these both in chronological order in terms of the Doctor's timeline from Fifth to Sixth.

And the explanation for people saying `Eight six eight seven' in `The Reaping' is revealed. `Eight six eight seven' the name of the bar where Tegan's birthday party was held (also happens to be the numbering for these two CD releases - `86. The Reaping' and `87. The Gathering' - neat thinking on Joe's part when these two came out). The Doctor taps into System at Kathy's pharmacy to trigger a word in order to remember Kathy since he hasn't met her yet in this story and wants to remember his first meeting with her when she meets him again. So he asks System to plant the numbers `8687' to everyone he meets during `The Reaping'. I don't think this is a well-executed idea on Joe's part since Colin's Doctor doesn't seem to remember that adventure in `The Gathering' with Kathy. He obviously knows he's met her somewhere before but can't quite remember where and he doesn't even know what 8687 means during that story either and wonders why everyone keeps saying it. It's a nice idea, but I don't it works to be honest with you.

The music's quite fast in this story especially with its modern setting and the grimy atmosphere of Brisbane where Tegan comes from. It's quite a pacey story and the music and sound effects add to that quality of atmosphere. It also provides a summery complexion to the story.

By the time we come to the end of the story, the Doctor and Tegan manage to stop Kathy by blowing up her pharmacy with Nate inside. Tegan's reconciled and reunited with Michael as they're now back together in their relationship. All seems well apart from the fact James has escaped with a copy of `System'. Where's he gone to, I do not know.

Tegan has one last farewell with the Doctor, and is able to reconcile her differences and make up for the last time they parted company in `Resurrection'. I really liked this sequence where the Doctor and Tegan make up. When the Doctor mentions to Tegan that he wondered whether she was in love in him, Tegan laughs. I'm really glad she reacted in that way as she says `Get real!'. The Doctor and Tegan didn't always see eye-to-eye during their time in the TARDIS, so it wouldn't make sense if it was revealed Tegan actually loved the Doctor. I don't think Tegan ever loved the Doctor. They were just good friends. And I enjoyed that moment when Tegan mentions the `magic' the Doctor showed her and he laughs out loud. I don't think I've ever heard Peter's Doctor laugh as much as that. Tegan doesn't regret her decision to leave the Doctor, and she gives him a hug before they part company and say goodbye properly for one last time since it's likely they'll never see each other again. The Doctor goes in the TARDIS and leaves Tegan to live the rest of her life with Michael and enjoy it. The ending was a great sequence played by two very good actors who know their characters inside and out.

The end credits music rolls up and it's the end of the story. But wait! It's not. We have Phillip Olivier as Hex narrating over the credits talking about how he first meets the Doctor and whether he should take a chance on going travelling with him. This is what happens next as we get a trailer for 'The Harvest' where Hex meets the Doctor and Ace and gets to travel with him in the TARDIS and certain things follow on from this story.

There are more trailers on this CD. On Disc 1, there's a trailer for the Paul McGann adventure 'Memory Lane' with Charley and C'rizz before `The Gathering' starts. At the end of Disc 2, there are trailers for some Cybermen stories including 'The Reaping', 'Spare Parts'(one of my favourites) and 'Sword of Orion'.

Again another great character drama by the pen of Joe Lidster featuring the Fifth Doctor reuniting with Tegan again. It has elements of `Eastenders' thrown into it and is a great character piece for Tegan who's grown older since the last time she's met the Doctor. And it also turns out Tegan didn't die after this adventure. How do I know this? Because Sarah Jane said so in `The Sarah Jane Adventures' story 'Death of the Doctor' where she discovered a 'Tegan' who's fighting for Aboriginal rights in 2010/2011. And Janet Fielding has gone on to play Tegan again in recent years for Big Finish with a new series of stories with Peter Davison, Sarah Sutton and Mark Strickson.

Great story this. You're bound to enjoy it!

The next story with the Fifth Doctor is 'Son of the Dragon'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fifth Doctor Reunited With Tegan For One Final Adventure, 17 Dec 2013
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Gathering (Big Finish) (Audio CD)
Positive.
1)This is a sequel/prequel timey wimey story that link's together with The Reaping written again by Joseph Lidster.
2)This story features Janet Felding as Tegan in her first Big Finish adventure.
3)This has a minor Cyberman link connected with The Reaping.

Negative.
This story listened too without knowing the events of The Reaping will confuse the listener.

CD Info.
2xCD of a 2 part story,Running time 100 minutes.

Trivia.
1)At the time Janet Felding was very vocal this would be her one & only appearance as Tegan, Refering to playing Tegan for Big Finish audios that there was more chance of hell freezing over than her playing the character on a more regular basis, But she has since had a change of heart & is now a regular on The Fifth Doctor main range audios now.
2) The technology mentioned at the end of this story that is spirted away is used in the Seventh Doctor story The Harvest including System voiced by the same actress.
3)The character of James Clake heavily implies he's working for The Forge.
4)The partly converted Cybermans face on this story's sleeve cover is that of writer Joseph Lidster.

Review.
The Fifth Doctor encounters a enthusiastic fan who has found traces of the Doctors previous visits to Earth via the archives.

Apparently the Doctor carries a characteristic energy signature which is unknown to the Doctor as he set's off to investigate this.

Traveling to Baltimore in 1984 & hearing a Police report about a search describing a future incarnation of himself the Doctor leaves knowing his future incarnation is already present in this time.

The Doctor then travels to Australia in 2006 were he meets an old Tardis companion Tegan who is trying to reconcile her every day life from her travels with the Doctor, Who is also hiding a tragic terrible secret about her health from the Timelord.

The Doctor also encounters Katherine Chambers a woman from the Doctor's future who is having to deal with the legacy of event's from the Sixth Doctor's future that could affect his present Fifth incarnation.

This is a very complex story by Joseph Lidster & without having heard The Reaping would make no sense whatsoever.

This is a prequel/sequel to The Reaping & ties into that story as when heard both together makes perfect sense.

Peter Davison gives a great performance once again as does Janet Felding portraying a slightly older Tegan who is harbouring a tragic secret about her health from the Doctor which is dealt with quite lovely in this play.

Writer Joseph Lidster is a clever fellow as he delivers another exciting & intriguing script that is more character driven than The Reaping but is no less enjoyable.

A great story but make sure you hear The Reaping first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Gathering: Oh cr@p, Tegan's back. Be brave heart, it's only for one adventure, 18 Feb 2013
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Gathering (Big Finish) (Audio CD)
This is the eighty seventh release from Big Finish in their range of full cast audio adventures starring classic Doctor Whos. It stars Peter Davison as Five and, in a particularly unwelcome development, Janet Fielding as my second least favourite companion the ever annoying Tegan. There are 2 episodes, roughly 55-60 minutes each, complete with original theme music between each, and cliff hanger endings. One episode per disc on 2 discs, and a short booklet with some pictures of the cast and production notes.

Peter Davison was one of the great Doctors, but hi performance on the TV show was always overshadowed by the annoying companions he was shackled with. Adric and Tegan were, respectively, my least favourite and second least favourite companions of the entire show, and really spoiled a lot of Five's stories. Mercifully, neither had made an appearance in the BF range until now, allowing us to see what a great Doctor Five is when accompanied by Nyssa, Turlough or Peri and Erimem. But finally the inevitable has happened and the annoying and rude mouth on legs Tegan is back. Thankfully they have not yet tried to include Adric in a story - that would probably make me think twice about buying a release.

Anyway, ranting about what happened 30 years ago aside, what is this story like? It starts off very promising, as it forms a story arc with the excellent preceding release, the Sixth Doctor story the Reaping. But it just never manages to get close to reaching those heights. It's a particularly dull tale, in which not a lot happens and when it does it's either uninteresting or so full of plot holes that it seems implausible even by Whoniverse standards. And the fractured narrative structure is really annoying. It's the end of the fors episode, almost an hour in, before anything remotely interesting happens. And then there is Tegan. Never a nice person to start with, here she is characterised as being even more irritating. She's become an even harder character to root for. The writing is poor. Very poor. There is some truly dire dialogue, and though the actors, especially Davison, try hard the material is just awful. Even Davison seems to give up in some particularly embarrassing to listen to scenes where he and an ex-lover of Tegan's lock horns. And as for tying up the loose plot strands from the preceding adventure - well, don't hold your breath, they are tied up but in a totally uninteresting and almost offhand manner.

On top of all this is an awful sound production. There is an intrusive and off putting soundtrack (though it does have the benefit of distracting me from Tegan's bitching) and some lousy sound effects. Not Big Finish's finest 2 hours by quite a long way.

Bad script, bad direction, Tegan, overlong, dull. I have nothing good to say about this release, I really advocate giving it a miss. 1 star.

PS - after the initially good news that Tegan was only going to be in it for this one adventure only, it transpires that she is in three later BF/fifth Doc releases. Oh how I am looking forward to hearing those.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gathering nuts in May, 2 April 2009
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Gathering (Big Finish) (Audio CD)
The much vaunted return of motormouthed Aussie airline stewardess, Tegan Jovanka, actually turns out to be a bit of a damp squib. This audio is a sequel to The Reaping, but is nowhere near as good. The story takes place in present day Brisbane, where we meet Katherine Chambers, who left the United States and is now a doctor who also owns a pharmaceutical company. The company is of course a front for her secret plan which is to use the discarded cyber technology to try to save her brother Nate (crippled in The Reaping) and plans to create a super-computer capable of curing every illness. She happens to know Tegan who (conveniently) is a patient. Everything is going well until one day the Doctor turns up to find out what is going on...
Sadly, Janet Fielding has stated that this will be her first and last Big Finish outing and consequently the sub-plot to explain her demise is pretty poor and feels tacked on. The Fifth Doctor isn't given much scope to make an impression on the listener and the lack of actual Cybermen makes this a real disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Gathering of Friends, 1 Aug 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Gathering (Big Finish) (Audio CD)
Wow! When I heard a rumor, slightly over a year ago that Big Finish was negotiating with Janet Fielding for the 5th Doctor play, I was extatic but cautious because a rumor sometimes ends up being just that - a rumor. So of course I was overjoyed when Big Finish recently announced their September release includes this play and that Tegan will once again accompany the Doctor on another great adventure.

What is interesting about this release is that it's somehow linked with the 6th Doctor's play The Reaping which is also due to be released in September but days before this one.

Both plays even share similar introductions and the images on the cover appear symetrical. Another interesting fact is that Tegan shares a common friend with the Sixth Doctor's companion Peri, with the name of Katherine Chambers.

I've rated it with five stars because this is one release that a true Whovian has to have in his collection.

A must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A return for Tegan, 14 Dec 2011
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Gathering (Big Finish) (Audio CD)
An audio adventure of the 5th Doctor and Tegan

The doctor meets up with Tegan long after she has left the Doctor and as usual gets tied up in an adventure.

The story is a sequal to the Reaping, and whilst it does stand alone it looses a lot without having heard the first adventure. This is also a sad tale of how being a companion can ruin a life, where as elsewhere it has generally been a bit of a celebration of what it can do for someone.

A fairly typical story which whilst moving along at a reasonable speed has little to either recommend or dislike about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not as good as the Reaping., 1 April 2008
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Gathering (Big Finish) (Audio CD)
This story follows the other audio adventure the reaping with Collin Baker but this one has Peter Davidson's doctor in it along with his assistant Teagan (though a older one) For me I feel you definatley have to buy the Reaping before getting the Gathering, there are to many things from the Reaping that are mentioned in the story. It is not as good as the Reaping but is still a very entertaining story and once again Peter Davidson is excellent. It is also good to hear a story with Teagan and because it is set after Teagan left the Doctor you get to see what her life was like without the Doctor. This story lasts for 108 mins and is in two parts. I recommend it but buy the reaping with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who - The Gathering (Big Finish)
Doctor Who - The Gathering (Big Finish) by Joseph Lidster (Audio CD - 1 Sep 2006)
12.16
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews