Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hospital of horrors
Another audio adventure for the seventh doctor who, with his companions ace and hex. In this story, the tardis arrives in the middle of europe during world war one. At a british military hospital, behind the lines, the doctor has to investigate a murder. That has yet to be committed. And what sinister experiments are taking place there?

Split into four episodes...
Published on 11 Oct 2007 by Paul Tapner

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good story could have been a two parter
This was a very good historical story which I enjoyed very much. In parts it was a bit slow and felt like it was buying time to fill the episode. It would have been better if it was edited into less episodes.
Published on 7 April 2009 by P. Edwards


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hospital of horrors, 11 Oct 2007
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - No Man's Land (Big Finish) (Audio CD)
Another audio adventure for the seventh doctor who, with his companions ace and hex. In this story, the tardis arrives in the middle of europe during world war one. At a british military hospital, behind the lines, the doctor has to investigate a murder. That has yet to be committed. And what sinister experiments are taking place there?

Split into four episodes over two discs, this is a very long story, but it's compelling enough that it means the episodes never outstay their welcome. the almost total absence of incidental music for a lot of the tale adequately creates the atmosphere of a hospital. And the story benefits from having no aliens involved whatsoever. The only characters here are human. Some of whom are monsters in a certain way. And all are very well written and played, particularly by michael cochrane who plays the leader of the place.

Ace and hex don't fare that well in this story because the script does at times struggle to find things for them to do. A plotline involving hex rather fizzles out, and some of the big finish writers are better than others at writing this newer, older, ace. But she comes across quite well here.

Be prepared to suspend your disbelief in part four when there's a chase sequence. not something it's easy to convey on audio. As a whole, this is a good and compelling story that well describes the horrors of war and the effect they have on people. But be aware that the end will not make a lot of sense if you haven't been keeping up with the other seventh doctor audio stories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best recent big finish, 25 Dec 2011
This review is from: Doctor Who - No Man's Land (Big Finish) (Audio CD)
I bouth this having heard good things about it. I was impressed from the word go. It's set in a frontline hospital in 1917 during the Great War (WWI), the Doctor, Ace and Hex are rescued from no man's land are are given instructions to tell them that there will be a murder committed. There are lots of twists and turns and some great character pieces. I was worn footed in episode one and was waiting for aliens to turn up. I was pleasantly surprised to find this was a purely historical tale, though it does have a connection to 2 past Big Finish audios. I highly recommend this as one the best Big Finish audios I've heard in sometime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Doctor Discovers The True Horrors Of War, 29 Jun 2014
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - No Man's Land (Big Finish) (Audio CD)
Doctor Who: No Man's Land.
Doctor: Seventh Doctor.
Companion(s): Ace, Hex.
Main enemy: Lieutenant-Colonel Brook, Sergeant Wood.
Main setting: Charnage Hospital, the Western Front, Northern France, 1917.
Writer: Martin Day.
Director: John Ainsworth.
Release number: 89.
Format: 4 Episodes on 2 CDs.
Running time 140 minutes.

Exras.
Trailers.

Cast.
The Doctor - Sylvester McCoy.
Ace - Sophie Aldred.
Hex - Philip Olivier.
Lieutenant-Colonel Brook - Michael Cochrane.
Sergeant Wood - Rob Dixon.
Captain Dudgeon - Rupert Wickham.
Private Taylor - Oliver Mellor.
Lance-Corporal Burridge - Ian Hayles.
Private Dixon - Michael Adams.

Trivia.(Please note contain spoilers).
1)The Doctor mentions that he has six senses.
2)Hex tells Ace that his mother's full name was Cassandra Elizabeth Schofield.
3)The Forge is theorised to be the agency behind the experiments.
4)During his eighth incarnation, the Doctor would visit another World War I era French military hospital shortly after the deaths of his companion Lucie Miller & his great-grandson Alex Campbell. It was there that he met his new companion Molly O'Sullivan, an Irish Voluntary Aid Detachment nursing assistant. (Audio Dark Eyes: The Great War).
5)The working title of this audio drama was We Are the Dead.

Plot Synopsis.
The year iis 1917 & the Seventh Doctor, Hex & Ace find themselves in a military hospital in northern France. But the terrifying, relentless brutality of the Great War that wages only a few miles away is the least of their concerns.

The travellers become metaphysical detectives when the Doctor receives orders to investigate a murder. A murder that has yet to be committed...

Who will be the victim? Who will be the murderer? What is the real purpose of the Hate Room? Can the Doctor solve the mystery before the simmering hate & anger at Charnage Hospital erupts in to a frenzy of violence?

Timelord Thoughts.
Writer Martin Day has written a excellent intriguing Doctor Who audio adventure here about the brainwashing of soldiers during World War 1, hearing the Soldiers marching & chanting “Die! Die! Die!” is extremely disturbing scene to listen too as it highlights the extremes man will go to in achieving victory to win at War that echoes throughout this adventure.

Theres no "Stiff upper lip" or "Tally ho chaps" caricatures to be found here; just men struggling to survive a War in the most appalling of conditions as writer Martin Day explores the human capacity for evil, take Lt Colonel Brook (an excellent performance by actor Michael Cochrane) who is sch a chilling character not because he's a power mad alien or false God, he's not, it's because the Colonel & his practises of brainwashing is worrying when he finds it a necessity in removing the fear element from humanity allowing his soldiers to become a mere cold emotionless controlled weapon of War.

Sylvester McCoy is fine form as the Doctor who is given some gloriously speeches at his disgust in what he uncovers about the Hate Room & the brutality of brainwashing regular soldiers to win a War by cutting out the human factor to achieve it.

Sophie Aldred as Ace gives a strong performance & is truly her own woman in a male dominated adventure yet it's Phillip Oliver as Hex who shines once again by pushing Hex to the limit when he cannot cope with the events surrounding him & blatantly admits he is a coward as he enters the Hate room he is forced to endure images of women & children being slaughtered while experiencing some very nasty electric shocks to develop his hate for the enemy, the torture scenes are hard to listen too yet upon leaving the Hate Room from one dose of this therapy & Hex is up for a fight, he also embarrasses Ace by winding her up about her fancy man & acts completely out of character until the Doctor uncovers what is wrong with him.

Overall, No Man's Land is another pure historical adventure that suits this incarnation of the Doctor & his companions well, Yes the story drags a little here & there due to it's long 2 hour 20 minutes running time & there no real villian as such but we do get to know more about the character of Hex throughout this story & it’s refreshing to be presented with a well written yet at times brutally disturbing historical story about the true horrors of War.

Timelord Rating.
8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No Man's Land: I can only deal with what I see in front of me. And what I see here is wrrrrrong!, 20 Feb 2013
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - No Man's Land (Big Finish) (Audio CD)
This is the eighty ninth release from Big Finish in their range of full cast audio adventures starring classic Doctor Whos. It stars Sylvester McCoy as Seven, Sophie Aldred as Ace and Philip Schofield as Hex. There are 4 episodes, roughly 30-35 minutes each, complete with original theme music between each, and cliff hanger endings. Two episodes per disc on 2 discs, and a short booklet with some pictures of the cast and production notes.

The Doctor, Ace and Hex find themselves in the middle of the First World War, investigating a murder that hasn't happened yet in a hospital with some very odd goings on going on.

It's a mixed bag of a story. There are lots of good ideas and the story keeps going off in interesting new directions, but too many of these fizzle out or are never referred to again. There is some excellent acting, especially from an in form McCoy and Michael Cochrane as the deranged yet civilised hospital commander. Philip Olivier and Sophie Aldred show the developing big sis younger brother relationship between Ace and Hex, and get to explore the effects of travelling with the Doctor on the characters. The production is superb, and at times delivers some genuine scares and a real sense of atmosphere. But too many really good ideas are just squandered. The origin of the Doctor's mysterious orders are not convincing, the effects of Hex's treatment could have been more effectively explored, more could have been made of a fascinating tale told by the Captain, etc, etc.

In all 4 stars. There are some brilliant bits here, and it is well worth getting, but the petering out of so many good ideas just drags it down a bit for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent story....., 29 Nov 2007
This review is from: Doctor Who - No Man's Land (Big Finish) (Audio CD)
If only the original series could have had stories like these amidst them, then maybe the series wouldnt have been taken off our screens for so long. Stories that are so gritty and raw that it actually really makes you think about the subjects raised in the stories.

No Mans Land is an excellent audio story. A graphic and detailed take on what war is really like. Hell. Turns men into stone. Death and chaos for no reason whatsoever. The characters in this story are so realistic and believable as to be mistaken for the real thing. The emotion and sharpness of the dialogue really makes you think, yeah this is war and its horrible.

Sylvester Mccoy is brilliant as ever as the Doctor, with Ace and Hex getting some decent stuff to do for a change. And Ace and Hex are good companions. Ace has always been my favourite companion, wonderfully portrayed by Sophie who doesnt sound a day older from when we first saw her on screen in Dragonfire. And Philip Olivier is great as Hex too. Big finish know how to make brilliant new companions for the good Doctor to travel around with. I have been very surprised at how little of the audio adventures i dont like actually, out of the hundred or so done so far ive only not liked about 5 altogether, and that isnt bad going.

What I also like about this play is the dedication that Martin Day gives to the real men and women who died in the first world war. Yeah, we should remember what these people did for us and we should be grateful for their sacrifice, not just content to forget them as if they had never existed.

Doctor Who doesnt always have to have monsters to be scary and exciting, in fact, most historical stories are better than the wholly sci fi stories. And that goes for the big finish audio stories too. This is another in a line of excellent historicals that really gets to the point and wakes you up to the point it is trying to make.

For these reasons this is my list of my absolute favourite audio stories:

1 No Mans Land
2 Fires Of Vulcan
3 The Settling
4 The Council Of Nicaea
5 The Kingmaker
6 Night Thoughts
7 Son Of The Dragon
8 The Mind's Eye
9 The Chimes Of Midnight
10 The Holy Terror

None of these audios really have "monsters" in them. They rely more of great story telling with great casts. Cant wait for more and more historicals!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good story could have been a two parter, 7 April 2009
By 
P. Edwards "Paul Edwards" (Neath, South Wales, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - No Man's Land (Big Finish) (Audio CD)
This was a very good historical story which I enjoyed very much. In parts it was a bit slow and felt like it was buying time to fill the episode. It would have been better if it was edited into less episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who - No Man's Land (Big Finish)
Doctor Who - No Man's Land (Big Finish) by Martin Day (Audio CD - 1 Jan 2001)
13.84
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews