Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars red...RED...RRRRRRRRRRRRRREEEEEEEEEEED!
A totally awesome and powerful voice on the stupidity and wastefulness of violence. Well, one might think this wouldnt be a very nice subject to try and get across, but here Stewart Sheargold does a fantastic job of creating a believable story with real menace and horror. Red is the colour of anger, and Sylvester Mccoy is brilliant on this audio. And Bonnie again doesnt...
Published on 4 Sep 2007 by big mad doctor who guy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Red: Made me see rrrrrred
This is the eighty fifth release from Big Finish in their range of full cast audio adventures starring classic Doctor Whos. It stars Sylvester McCoy as Seven, Bonnie Langford as Mel and Sandi Toksvig as the would be hedonist Vi Yulquen. There are 4 episodes, roughly 30-35 minutes each, complete with original theme music between each, and cliff hanger endings. Two episodes...
Published 14 months ago by Victor


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars red...RED...RRRRRRRRRRRRRREEEEEEEEEEED!, 4 Sep 2007
This review is from: Doctor Who - Red (Big Finish) (Audio CD)
A totally awesome and powerful voice on the stupidity and wastefulness of violence. Well, one might think this wouldnt be a very nice subject to try and get across, but here Stewart Sheargold does a fantastic job of creating a believable story with real menace and horror. Red is the colour of anger, and Sylvester Mccoy is brilliant on this audio. And Bonnie again doesnt have to scream but instead is a good and strong character who gets plenty to do in a rip roaring tale that left me wanting a sequel straight away. This story has no let down moments at all, its strong from the start to the finish. Big Finish are aptly named...99% of their audios are brilliantly polished and well performed productions, and this story is up there at the top with the Reaping and The Gathering and Frozen Time...yet another brilliant story dripping with atmosphere....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RED, RED, RRRRRED!, 16 April 2007
By 
Varian Beauregard (Le Jardin d'Angleterre) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Red (Big Finish) (Audio CD)
This is the best Big Finish audio play for ages. There has been a recent trend to reflect the new TV series (very blatantly in "The Gathering" and "The Reaping") which I think is a bad move, but thankfully this play doesn't do that. I hated Mel on TV and loved Ace, but this is infinitely better than those early McCoy/Ace audios. Mel makes a decent companion and Sylvester McCoy is on great form (if a bit different from his TV days, I detect more of a New Adventures influence again). This is a dark adventure, which immediately sets it above from the lighter comic romps for me. It has a great atmosphere and pulls the listener in to a well-realised future society, laying on the tension and creating a desire to find out what is happening and what is going to happen. Plus it deals intelligently with the current issues of censorship and violence, making it a great slice of science fiction. It's that whole effective combination which makes this so good. In fact it's right up there with `...ish' in my estimation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrifying Doctor Who Classic Big Finish Audio Adventure, 26 Oct 2013
By 
timelord007 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Red (Big Finish) (Audio CD)
Positive.
Exellent tense & genuinely terrifying story by Stuart Sheargold a Big Finish classic.
Sylvester McCoy is utterly convincing as the Doctor whom struggling against his violent emotions creates tension for the listerner.

Negative.
None it's a rare story i wouldn't change from beginning to the end.

Trivia.
Sandi Toksvig was a presenter of children's Saturday morning's Number 73 tv in the 1980's co-hosting with Art Attacks Neil Buchanan.

Audio Info.
This is a 4 part adventure running time 130 minutes on 2 CDS.

Review.
Red is the colour of anger,Red Is the colour of envy, Red is the colour of blood.

The Tardis lands on a Alien world were to factions of society live one the poor slums & the other the high class rich elite whom human have had chips implanted inside there minds which stops there violent & aggressive impulses from occurring, But then why is it the people are being murdered & does anybody know why?.

As the chips are controlled by a master computer is someone tampering with the computer's programming to allow people to commit murder & why?

With the Doctor is separated from Mel as Mel becomes lost in the slums The Doctor begins to explore the higher class society whom live in the city's on this mysterious world.

The Doctor & Mel being the only visitors to not be chipped & with Mel otherwise disposed off in the city's slums The Doctor is captured & accused of using his violent impulses & is named as the prime suspect for the recent murders.

The Doctor's forced to have a chip inplanted in his brain to make him non aggressive but it seems to have a reverse effect on his emotions instead his violent impulses rise to the surface causing a conflict of negative emotions for the Timelord.

Can the Doctor solve the mystery of the murders & can he control his violent aggressive tendencys or will he in fact succumb to his inner darkness & Murder?

This is truly a exellent first class story by Stuart Sheargold were the listerner is drawn into the story engaging with the intriguing plot throughout.

One of the best Seventh Doctor story's Big Finish have done to date with exellent quality production values & a first rate story that is superbly acted.

Sylvester McCoy really act's his socks off here bringing a inner turmoil of emotions to the Doctor as he trys to suppress his darker side of anger & rage, This listener had goose bumps throughout this story never once predicting the outcome.

Bonnie Langford as Mel is given some exellent material to work with proving she's not just there to scream a lot.

This adventure leads to a very satisfying conclusion & is a higly recommended release to Doctor Who fan's who like there story's chilling & unpredictable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Red: Made me see rrrrrred, 18 Feb 2013
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Red (Big Finish) (Audio CD)
This is the eighty fifth release from Big Finish in their range of full cast audio adventures starring classic Doctor Whos. It stars Sylvester McCoy as Seven, Bonnie Langford as Mel and Sandi Toksvig as the would be hedonist Vi Yulquen. There are 4 episodes, roughly 30-35 minutes each, complete with original theme music between each, and cliff hanger endings. Two episodes per disc on 2 discs, and a short booklet with some pictures of the cast and production notes.

Seven and Mel arrive in a society where everyone has a chip in their heads, controlled by a computer that removes their criminal impulses and creates a perfect society. So why are people being murdered? And why does no one know about it?

I have to confess that, despite popular opinion, I was underwhelmed by this story. The set up feels a little over familiar, The Doctor and Mel land in a towerblock where strange things are happening (a-la Paradise Towers), and other ideas feel recycled, for example the menace being locked in a mind and jumping from person to person was used very recently in Something Inside and the Doctor battling a supercomputer trying to outwit it goes back to the War Machines and William Hartnell. However, the series is 50 years old, and there are only so many ideas, so it is only to be expected that there will be some recycling. When this happens a bit of clever story telling is required to make it stand out rather than feel tired. Unfortunately that is not present here.

The script made little sense to me. I just didn't get what the menace was, or why it connected with the Doctor. In fact the script seemed little more than an excuse to get Sylvester McCoy to roll his r's a lot. None of the supporting characters were particularly well drawn, and apart from Sandi Toksvig all merged into a homogeneous `other character' in my mind. At a shade over two hours, like many of the contemporary Big Finish productions it just feels too long. Trimming 20 minutes from it would probably have improved it no end. It really didn't grip me. Some parts were fun, and hearing Seven in full on r rolling mode was entertaining, but there was little here that really interested me. 2 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awww the title of my review's already been used :'( - chuckle, 10 May 2009
This review is from: Doctor Who - Red (Big Finish) (Audio CD)
I thoroughly enjoyed this tale. I adore storylines where they explore the inside machinations of the human brain. What I also liked about 'Red' is that there seemed to me to be an underlying message of how such advancements in technology can be harmful to the human condition - such as administering chips to curb their violence. I mean I got a message that good can never be so fully appreciated without, at the very least, knowing about/experiencing the bad, and that 'aesthetically' curbing a human's violent tendencies would seem to be a good idea, when in reality it is simply eradicating a portion of free-will *shrug* In my opinion, a stellar message if that was the author's intention :-)

One very quick side-step into the utter nonsensical: Sylvester McCoy's high pitched whinnying(?) when the Doctor was in a spot of bother was, for me, completely and utterly........... adorable - chuckle. I dunno, it simply brought a smile to my face every time *blush*

Aaanyway, *ahem*, great story, great effects and Sylvester's acting makes this one for me. Highly recommended.

:-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the beast within, 7 Sep 2006
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Red (Big Finish) (Audio CD)
The seventh doctor and mel arrive on a strange alien world. Not by choice. Typically separated and forced to investigate different parts of the society, they find a world where the privileged elite live in luxury, and have their behaviour controlled by a computer chip that is overlooked by a master computer.

The perfect crime free society.

or is it?

Bad things are happening. People are aware of them. And people are dealing with it their own way. Conflicts of interest are resulting.

Who or what is causing these killings?

And why does it seem to have a particular interest in the doctor?

This is set in doctor who's twenty fourth season, but it feels a lot like something from the two that followed, as it tackles interesting concepts. And like those seasons, it's effort is admirable, but the results don't quite come off. A lot of the play is characters standing round talking and you really have to work hard to keep your attention at these moments. And like several big finish stories, the episodes are a little too long for their own good, and would have been better shorter.

But it's not bad. When it works it works well, the events of the story are anything but predictable, and the alien world is a very original creation and well realised.

Not as good as it possibly could have been, but not bad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Red or dead, 2 April 2009
This review is from: Doctor Who - Red (Big Finish) (Audio CD)
The citizens of the Needle are all chipped to prevent them from committing violence. When the Seventh Doctor and Mel arrive, they arouse interest as the only people able to cause harm...
Red is the shortest title of any Doctor Who audio play, serial or book, with the possible exception of ...ish. Unfortunately the play itself is nowhere near as interesting as that piece of trivia. I am a fan of the Seventh Doctor and think he has gone from strength to strength in his Big Finish outings. The trouble with 'Red' is that it just isn't that inspired or interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb58696a8)

This product

Doctor Who - Red (Big Finish)
Doctor Who - Red (Big Finish) by Stewart Sheargold (Audio CD - 1 Aug 2006)
13.66
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews