Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A porcine performance from Percy the Pig.
How much you enjoy this probably depends on what you expect. This is not an action-filled traditional Doctor Who romp (although it does have a few moments of high drama). However it is an intelligent and absorbing radio play. The relaxed pace is a strength for this type of story, allowing every detail to be relished as much as Toby relishes every morsel of food. The two...
Published on 16 Jan 2010 by Varian Beauregard

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I Couldn't Get Into This Audio Adventure
CD Info.
2xCD of a 2 episode adventure, Running time 140 minutes.

Trivia.
1)Maureen O'Brien played First Doctor Companion Vicki.
2)Michael Keating appeared in Doctor Who tv story The Sun Makers but is better known as Vila in Blakes 7.
3)Adjoa Andoh played Martha Jones mother Francine in series 3 of NuWho.

Review.
Ostend 1913...
Published 10 months ago by Timelord-007


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A porcine performance from Percy the Pig., 16 Jan 2010
By 
Varian Beauregard (Le Jardin d'Angleterre) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Year of the Pig (Big Finish Adventures) (Audio CD)
How much you enjoy this probably depends on what you expect. This is not an action-filled traditional Doctor Who romp (although it does have a few moments of high drama). However it is an intelligent and absorbing radio play. The relaxed pace is a strength for this type of story, allowing every detail to be relished as much as Toby relishes every morsel of food. The two very long episodes actually contributes to this effect allowing the story to mature gently rather than feel rushed or chopped. There is a lot of detail here and the story-telling itself is everything. Colin Baker plays the Doctor to perfection and gets a prominent part. Peri proves what a great companion she can be matured from her TV days. All the supporting cast are equally competant. Highly recommended for a change of pace and some simple but great story-telling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Odd but very rewarding, 28 Jan 2007
By 
Andrew Kyle "Fangg" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Year of the Pig (Big Finish Adventures) (Audio CD)
Year of the Pig by Matthew Sweet is an odd story. Most of the time you can categorise a Who drama into historical, pseudo-historical (ie sci-fi concepts, historical setting), normal sci-fi or hyperconcept sci-fi (ie really going all out when it comes to imagination). This one is very difficult to find a slot for. And its all the better for it. The blurb synopsis is misleading; don't fall for it. Do as i did; go for on the merits of its three guest actors. (the regulars Colin Baker and Nicola Bryant are as usual fantastic). Micheal Keating (Villa from Blake's 7) is truly excellent as the mysterious inspector Chardalot, Maureen O'Brien (Vicky from wayyyy back in the 60s) is suitably bumbly as Lady Bultitude, Adjoa Andoh (from Casualty) is quite the doting nurse, but scene stealing Paul Brooke (the rancor keeper from Star Wars) is simply spectacular as Toby. The plot is unusual - and thats an understatement. Up until the end you are never really sure what is going on and this is brilliant. It would be a real page-turner if it was on paper. Twists, revelations, ideas and imagination. The only downside i can think of is that its a Two parter - and therefore 2 70minuters instead of the usual 4 25mins. And i do like my cliffhangers...so good, that the one on this is wicked. But thats a mute point in the grand scheme. Highly recommended.

Plus; has the great line "Touch those chocolate biscuits and i'll fillet you!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pigs might Fly, 11 July 2014
This review is from: Doctor Who - Year of the Pig (Big Finish Adventures) (Audio CD)
This is something of a curiosity. I doubt very much that 80's who would have done a story like this, not just because of the requirements of having a talking pig without it looking stupid but because of the need to have a vintage car chasing a train.

Having said that, it works as a Doctor Who story and this is primarily because it is left to our imaginations as to what it going on.

Plot: While holidaying in Ostend shortly before the outbreak of the First World War, The Doctor rescues Inspector Chardolot from drowning and then gets persuaded by the matronly Miss Bultitude to visit Toby, who turns out to be an intelligent pig with a somewhat suspect past, who is on the run from a 'doctor'. The whole plot is convoluted and interestingly steers away from the need to tie up all loose ends meaning that the whole thing seems somehow more real.

Script: Great script with plenty for the regulars to do and full of interesting characters and events. In particular the sudden appearance of raw cow meat on a beach is discussed almost as a throwaway event, only to be explained later in the story. The constant references to food and hunger by Toby and Chardolot's sneaky eating all add to the fun.

Other: There is great casting here. The four main guest stars all have plenty to say and seem to relish their roles (no pun intended). In particular Paul Brooke's Toby comes across so well.

This is a great piece of Big Finish, a superb little stand-alone story with a stand-alone cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I Couldn't Get Into This Audio Adventure, 11 Feb 2014
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Year of the Pig (Big Finish Adventures) (Audio CD)
CD Info.
2xCD of a 2 episode adventure, Running time 140 minutes.

Trivia.
1)Maureen O'Brien played First Doctor Companion Vicki.
2)Michael Keating appeared in Doctor Who tv story The Sun Makers but is better known as Vila in Blakes 7.
3)Adjoa Andoh played Martha Jones mother Francine in series 3 of NuWho.

Review.
Ostend 1913 & war is coming & millions will die as the occupier of room 139 in the Hotel Palace Thermae knows only too well.

The Sixth Doctor & Peri arrive in the Tardis in Ostend which is meant to be a week of enjoyable reading but now it seems the Doctor & Peri are going to get caught up in this new mystery & battle a villain with trotters a snout & a curly tale who wants to wipe out every last human from existence.

But not until he's had another plate of truffles & a glass of fizzy Lemonade.

Timelord Thought's.

I listened to this adventure twice & I can't seem to get into this story at all.

I found this story by writer Matthew Sweet is way to overlong & I thought boring as nothing captured my imagination or interest.

This is a rare audio adventure Big Finish couldn't add there usual magic to here as the plot is just plain boring that lacks any drama & having a pig named Toby as the villain is just plain silly.

Colin Baker & Nicola Bryant just go with the story's plot but fail to inject any energy into the story which feels flat.

No doubt many will enjoy this audio adventure but it wasn't to my taste as it's what I would call a Marmite type of adventure you'll either love it or loathe it.

This is quite a poor Doctor Who audio adventure from the usually excellent Big Finish Production's & a story I doubt I'll bother listening to again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Year of the Pig: Touch my chocolate biscuits and I'll fillet you!, 25 Feb 2013
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Year of the Pig (Big Finish Adventures) (Audio CD)
This is the ninetieth release from Big Finish in their range of full cast audio adventures starring classic Doctor Whos. It stars Colin Baker as Sixie, Nocola Bryant as Peri, Paul Brooke as Toby and Michael Keating as the Inspector. There are 2 episodes, roughly 75 minutes each, complete with original theme music between each, and a cliff hanger ending. One episodes per disc on 2 discs, and a short booklet with some pictures of the cast and production notes.

This production is an absolute aural delight. Set in pre great war Europe at a posh seaside resort, it starts out almost like a Noel Coward comedy of manners. It creates memorable characters in the form of a talking pig who believes that he is the last human on earth, an English Lady with an unhealthy obsession in old music hall turns and a grandiose and over the top inspector of the Gendarmerie. The verbose and grandiloquent Sixth Doctor fits right in with these characters, like a hand into a glove. Colin Baker clearly recognises that this is a production in which his Doctor can shine and really come into his own, and he seizes the script with both hands to wring every last drop from it. The long format of the two episodes allows the story to slowly simmer and gently come to the boil, developing the flavour as it cooks.

It's totally different from anything else in the Big Finish range. It's a thoughtful adventure with a dose of humour, but it still delivers on the thrills front and has an interesting idea at its heart. The writer has an obvious love of language, and a talented cast clearly enjoy getting their tongues around some of the more over the top verbosity. It's entertaining, thought provoking and provides the odd laugh. What more do you want from Who?

The works of Marcel Proust are a running theme through the play, and Toby's final verdict on the book is probably one of the greatest critic's comments I have ever heard.

5 stars for this exceptionally good production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars well good character piece is this one..., 22 Sep 2007
This review is from: Doctor Who - Year of the Pig (Big Finish Adventures) (Audio CD)
Year of the Pig is another different story type for dr who that just works brilliantly. The characters within this story are all interesting and different from a lot of other plain goodies or baddies in many other whos. i like the slightly slower pace, the story is good enough to carry for its two hours. Some may say the opening episode is a little laboured, just building up to a great ending though in my opinion. The doctor and peri are brilliant as per usual and the voice acting is highly excellent on this story especially. there is a different resolution to the story to, and its full of unexpected moments. this is a great piece of doctor who that is brilliant....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost brilliant, 8 Mar 2007
By 
Jane Aland (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Year of the Pig (Big Finish Adventures) (Audio CD)
If you want to get away from the usual 'monster of the week' style of Doctor Who then 'Year of the Pig' is a very different story, with the 6th Doctor and Peri caught up in the mysterious clash between a sentient pig and a bizarre police inspector. Refreshing in it's bucking of the usual Doctor Who storytelling formulas, and boasting some excellent performances from the small cast, there is only one real problem with this play - it's far, far too long, with the first disc in particular liable to send some listeners to sleep. By no means 'action packed', but if you can stay awake to the second half you'll find this a delightfully oddball dose of Doctor Who.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Made me snort, 2 April 2009
This review is from: Doctor Who - Year of the Pig (Big Finish Adventures) (Audio CD)
This was the first Big Finish audio I listened too and I loved it! The eponymous pig - Toby - is perfectly played by Paul Brooke. I have to admit that the surreal nature of the story meant it was a little confusing, but as a dark comedy I thought it worked really well. Although I have little time for The Sixth Doctor's companion Peri, I think that Colin Baker has gone from strength to strength in his audio roles. Don't worry too much about what any of it means, just relax and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars here piggy piggy, 9 Jan 2007
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Year of the Pig (Big Finish Adventures) (Audio CD)
It's belgium, and it's 1913. The sixth doctor and peri are relaxing on the beach when circumstances bring them into contact with some eccentric people. One of them is a talking pig, who's just retired from a life on the stage. And he's hiding from someone who wants to do him harm.

There's more than it seems to all of these people. Can the doctor discover what's really going on?

This is a two part story. The first part is seventy seven minutes long. Which is actually longer than the audio story scaredy cat, and it's almost as long as several others. And there's no discernible reason as to why this is a two parter, are there are perfectly decent cliffhangers in the middle of each episode. Not playing them as cliffhangers, by virtue of not being a four parter, robs the story of any sense of jeopardy or high drama, which is it sorely lacking.

Some stories with long episodes are gripping stuff, but this quickly outstays it's welcome, as part one is pretty much nothing more than scene setting.

Things do pick up slightly in part two, with some interesting twists and turns and surprise revelations about the characters, but there's still no excitement.

This is not a terrible story. It's a well written character drama, and it's very well acted. It's just too long for it's own good, and lacking in good drama. Big finish will be moving shortly to twenty five minute long episodes in each story. I welcome this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who - Year of the Pig (Big Finish Adventures)
Doctor Who - Year of the Pig (Big Finish Adventures) by Mike Maddox (Audio CD - 31 Dec 2006)
£14.22
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews