Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best 7th Doctor Audio Since 'Master'
At the time of Part One I had a bad and boring feeling about this audio. The story seemed to complicated and unusual for it's own good. At the time of Part Two the story was (at last) on a role. It was scary (er), was starting to make sense and was becoming very interesting.
By the times of parts Three and Four this story was at an all- time excellence. It was very...
Published on 25 Mar 2006 by michael

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Creepy and dark....but not perfect
Night Thoughts takes me back to a day when I first watched Ghost Light, sometime just after my 6th birthday. It was an aging BETAMAX tape. I didn’t understand the plot (I still don’t) – but I recall one thing: being scared witless. The opening two parts to Night Thoughts (Disc 1) are quite easily the scariest I’ve heard from Big Finish’s...
Published on 6 Mar 2006 by Andrew Kyle


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best 7th Doctor Audio Since 'Master', 25 Mar 2006
This review is from: Night Thoughts (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
At the time of Part One I had a bad and boring feeling about this audio. The story seemed to complicated and unusual for it's own good. At the time of Part Two the story was (at last) on a role. It was scary (er), was starting to make sense and was becoming very interesting.
By the times of parts Three and Four this story was at an all- time excellence. It was very clever, witty and chilling. The outcomes of the other characters were both predictable and unpredictable.
This audio is one of my all-time favourites to the entire series of Doctor Who adventures.
Hex is very convincing, Ace is still to smart for Her own good (excellent), The Doctor is as macabre as ever and Sue just sounds like the girl from the Exorcist.
Creepy...very creepy (rolling c.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining mess, 28 Jun 2006
By 
Jane Aland (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Night Thoughts (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
Very similar in style - though not quite in the same class - as `Ghost Light', this science fiction / horror story finds the 7th Doctor, Ace and Hex trapped on a remote Scottish island with some bizarre characters, a bizarre time travel experiment, and a zombie on the loose...

Plot-wise `Night Thoughts' is very dense, requiring multiple listens to understand, but it's also very messy, with a large number of plot-holes and inconsistencies. In terms of mood however this is a great success, with oodles of spooky goings on, a very nasty twist ending, and a level of gruesome viciousness entirely absent from the new TV series. All in all `Night Thought's is a bit of a mess: but it is a very entertaining and interesting mess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best of the audios., 16 Aug 2008
This review is from: Night Thoughts (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
"Night Thoughts" is a great audio adventure. Full of atmosphere and loaded with unseen menace, made all the more effective through listening in a darkened room, with headphones. Sylvester McCoy is great as the Doctor, but then I think they all are, but he is so instantly recognisable as the Doctor on audio, as is Sophie Aldred recognisable as Ace. I can take or leave Hex, never having encountered him before, as prior to my excursion into the audio adventures I have only seen the DVDs. Nice to know the earlier Doctors are still out there, in some form at least. How nice it would be if we had a multiple Doctor story featuring McCoy, the current Doctor, David Tennant, and Paul McGann. We were deprived of the series featuring the 8th Doctor and McGann looked great in the part so it would be wonderful if he were written into a new story in the next series of Dr Who on tv. One can only live in hope! Until then we have the audios, but would be nice to see too. Maybe someone from the BBC will see this and take note! ;-)

Anyhow, to get back to this audio, it is very mysterious, which I like, and the sound effects were great, the ticking clock echoing around the old house, the eerie sounds of the birds at night, one could almost picture it, no mean feat in any audio to achieve that. I loved "Ghost Light" with its enigmatic weirdness and "Night Thoughts" was akin to that, only different, if you get my drift.
The psycho girl with the 'talking' rabbit was great! Very effective and creepy. Would love to see this done as a filmed story too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real creepy story....., 27 April 2007
This review is from: Night Thoughts (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
I like horror stories with more storyline than blood. I like good characters and a good story. And Night Thoughts at last has all these attributes.

This story is very creepy. And every single character gets a good and strong story for themselves as well. I think this cd features one of Sylvester McCoy's best performances as the Doctor.

I am a person who tries to guess what is going to happen with stories, and 99 percent of the time i am so wrong, but here i was actually right. As soon as the sujjestion of the doctor killing the young girl comes up, i knew he wouldnt really do it. He's too good a character to just do that. He is an alien but so human too. But just because i guessed this, doesnt mean the story is predictable whatsoever. The episodes all have good and scary cliffhangers, especially with me thinking Ace was going to be crippled by the bear trap, but phewwww she wasnt!

Hex is a great character for the Seventh doctor and Ace to travel with, and he doesnt destroy their well established strength. In fact he just puts the icing on the cake, with Philip Olivier's brilliant performance.

Yet again, another powerful and decnt audio, with great action and performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Creepy Seventh Doctor Adventure, 23 Oct 2013
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Night Thoughts (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
Positive.
Edward Young delivers a really creepy & at times disturbing script, Why hasn't this writer written more for Big Finish?
The cast are all on top form here delivering exellent performances.

Negative.
Theres no real payoff to the ending,although it's creepy I'm certain without the Doctor's involvement nothing would've changed so what is the actual point the writer trying to make.
Time Travel experiments are a bit unoriginal.

Trivia.
Bernard Kay appeared in First Doctor Tv episode The Crusade.

Audio Info, 2 CD 4 Part adventure running time 120 minute's.

Review.
The Doctor, Ace & Hex arrive in the Tardis to a remote Scottish island were they visit a nearby house were 5 scientists are staying & have a 16 year old housecleaner named Sue.

Later Ace is taking a bath & hears the crying but doesn't do investigate it.

Hex meets Sue & her best friend a toy rabbit named Happy as Sue doesn't talk directly she only communicates through her rabbit Happy & when she does it's in a possessed like voice.

Ace later talks to Sue to ask if it was her crying earlier, Ace discovers Sues mother is dead & her sister drowned & her is father unknown.

Sue also holds a tape recording of her mother that overheard by Scientist O'Neill could he have a connection to the event's that happened on the island 10 years ago?

The Doctor, Ace & Hex learn of 2 deaths have occurred on the island the first is Taxidermist Joe Hartley & the other whom has committed suicide is Deacon for the guilt she's feeling for a mistake she made 10 years ago.

The Doctor has deducted that there is a mystery here That Scientist JJ Bartholomew was in charge of Time experimentation as the island Ten years ago was once part of a Group of Research Scientists Experimenting on Time Travel theories.

So is there a connection between the experiments & a woman named Maud whom arrived with her daughter's Eadie whom suffering blindness & other daughter Ruth during the time time experiments.

Eadie blindness seems to be from gravenax poisoning & the scientists perform Euthanasia to end her pain but in a twist she didn't have gravenax poisoning after all, Did the scientists know this & covered it up & why &just what is Major Dickins part in all this?

The Doctor, Ace & Hex attempt to solve the mystery of the time experiments & the recent deaths on the island.

This is one of Big Finishes creepiest storys to date with a superb script by Edward Young who delivers thecright balance of horror & tone to the story which is a suitable mystery for The Seventh Doctor, Ace & Hex.

The cast deliver with McCoy rolling his R's to great aplomb & Ace & Hex chemistry bounce off one another bringing a hint of more than just friendship?

This is a Ghostly mystery type adventure thars executed perfectly although the time experiments hamper what could've been a 5 star story.

The final scene is genuinely terrifying & reminiscent of the old school horror cliches.

This is a creepy Doctor Who adventure that delivers the scarys with a exellent backstory explaining how the past effects the present.

Recommended but you may sleep with the lights on after listerning to this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Night Thoughts: A very dark night indeed, 8 Feb 2013
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Thoughts (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
This is the seventy ninth release from Big Finish in their range of full cast audio adventures starring classic Doctor Whos. It stars Sylvester McCoy as Seven, Sophie Aldred as Ace and Philip Olivier as new companion Hex Schofield. There are 4 episodes, roughly 30-35 minutes each, complete with original theme music between each, and cliff hanger endings. Two episodes per disc on 2 discs, and a short booklet with some pictures of the cast and production notes.

Wow. This is a classic slice of Dark Doctor Who. Very much in the same vein as Ghostlight, it is a dark tale of dark deeds in a lonely old house. Seven, Ace and Hex are plunged into a gruesome mystery, but does the Doctor know more than he is letting on? In a tale that runs the risk of being too clever and convoluted for its own good in the forst episode, once the plot becomes clear, and the actions of the characters even clearer, this is a gripping, edge of the seat listen. With fine performances from the principles, especially McCoy who gives us an understated and manipulative Doctor to great effect, a cracking script and an excellent sound production, this is an absolute must. 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Creepy and dark....but not perfect, 6 Mar 2006
By 
Andrew Kyle "Fangg" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Night Thoughts (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
Night Thoughts takes me back to a day when I first watched Ghost Light, sometime just after my 6th birthday. It was an aging BETAMAX tape. I didn’t understand the plot (I still don’t) – but I recall one thing: being scared witless. The opening two parts to Night Thoughts (Disc 1) are quite easily the scariest I’ve heard from Big Finish’s impressive range (itself superior to the new tv series, in my opinion) and I loved every second of it. Note: It has to be listened to in total darkness to get the full effect.
The seventh doctor (Sylvester McCoy) once again takes on the creepy mysterious persona he portrayed so well in classics such as the aforementioned Ghost Light or The Curse of Fenric, and although Night Thoughts is inferior to those in terms of drama, it certainly has the feel of them, which is important. Hex (Philip Olivier) is again brilliant, proving his mettle as a companion, and aptly escaping the shadow of reliable Sophie Aldred as Ace.
Some of the supporting act are worth noting. The bubbly Sue and her truly terrifying teddy Happy the Rabbit need to be heard to be believed and I loved the uppercrust Brigadierishness of the Major.
The only critiscism is that the second disc, which goes about explaining the creepy first two parts, is slightly unsatisfactory. Theres a time travel twist and some plot holes I feel complicate matters, and despite an original take on time experiments, its still a little lacking. The Doctor and his companions have no real relevance, they simply stir things up but don't change the outcome.
However, parts 1 and 2 are so good it just about makes up for the less than perfect second disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Moody, 3 April 2009
This review is from: Night Thoughts (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
Slightly let down by a sub-standard resolution, Night Thoughts remains a creepy and atmospheric Big Finish drama, in the mould of Chimes of Midnight, Master and Pier Pressure. Sylvester McCoy is by turns irascible and downright frightening, and this is the most effective way for his Seventh Doctor to behave. Hex and Ace are okay but don't have that much to do and the simple premise of the story works extremely well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Night thoughts, 3 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Thoughts (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
This is a great story, nearly went through a red light after getting distracted while listening to it in the car. A must buy for all 7th doctor and Ace fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Irrelevant (say that with a rolling R for best effect)., 26 Feb 2006
By 
Vincent J. Mulvihill "vjm" (Chicago, Illinois United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Night Thoughts (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
The latest Sylvester McCoy-led 'Doctor Who' audio's best traits can be found in its sound engineering. The atmosphere of every room and location are expertly put together, so that one always knows where one is by the slightest shift in sound. The sheer performances themselves are very good as well, especially by McCoy, who employs his Darker Doctor character's intonations with appropriate bile.
However, for every action, there seems to be an equal and opposite reaction. The story - about a time experiment gone awry - is interesting enough, but the problem lies in what the Doctor and his two companions are doing on this island in the first place - and how easily they are let into the single active dwelling, full of secretive scientists and military. Indeed, at the end of the audio, I reckoned that, if the Doctor had not shown up, things would have wound up pretty much the same as if he hadn't. One gets the impression that this was a solid, interesting story, but that the Doctor was written INTO the piece.
For that reason alone, this is a subpar outing, made notably sad by the recent Doctor Who renaissance on television.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Night Thoughts (Doctor Who)
Night Thoughts (Doctor Who) by Edward Young (Audio CD - 1 Feb 2006)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews