Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Zagreus - Weird and wonderful experiment.
To celebrate 40 years of Doctor Who, and the 50th Big Finish audio adventure, something big and ambitious was required. A multi-Doctor story is a traditional way of marking anniversaries, but the Big Finish team have decided to play around with the traditional format and deliver a very experimental story that breaks the mould somewhat.

This is an Eighth Doctor...
Published on 4 May 2010 by Victor

versus
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An epic
Its really difficult to describe Zagreus. An anniversary story (40th), with about a million guest actors (some playing the roles they did in the series, some not), three discs, and one hell of an epic story. Kudos for not going down the same way as The Five Doctors, but this is a sprawling behemoth that takes everything about Doctor Who and threatens to tear it to shreds...
Published on 7 Dec 2004 by Andrew Kyle


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Zagreus - Weird and wonderful experiment., 4 May 2010
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zagreus (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
To celebrate 40 years of Doctor Who, and the 50th Big Finish audio adventure, something big and ambitious was required. A multi-Doctor story is a traditional way of marking anniversaries, but the Big Finish team have decided to play around with the traditional format and deliver a very experimental story that breaks the mould somewhat.

This is an Eighth Doctor story, following the saga of Charlotte Pollard and the repercussions of her continued existence after the Doctor rescued her from certain death on the R101. Following the events of `Neverland', the Doctor and the Tardis have been infected with anti time. Trapped within the Tardis, the Doctor is struggling to fight the infection and regain his own identity, and Charlie is trying to find the Doctor. The Tardis is trying to help both of them, guiding them with familiar and voices from the past.

There are a whole host of ex (and future) companions here, but not all playing the parts that we are familiar with. This also goes for Peter Davison, Colin Baker and Sylvester McCoy, and makes for a very interesting story. The highlights are Nicholas Courtney with a warm and comforting performance, and the inclusion of a fan recording of the great Jon Pertwee, his appearance makes this a special event. Paul McGann holds the whole thing together with a strong central performance.

Spread over nearly 4 hours and three discs, the story is quite involved, and very intriguing. Adequate time is given to all the special guests, and the whole thing comes together very nicely in the final scenes as all the strands are tied up and the Doctor and Charlie's fates become clear. The big experiment in the production in the main works very well, and this is indeed a very special celebration of the anniversary. It is, however, very necessary that you listen to a few of the Charlie Pollard/Eighth Doctor storie, especially Stormwarning and Neverland first in order to get backstory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An epic, 7 Dec 2004
By 
Andrew Kyle "Fangg" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Zagreus (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
Its really difficult to describe Zagreus. An anniversary story (40th), with about a million guest actors (some playing the roles they did in the series, some not), three discs, and one hell of an epic story. Kudos for not going down the same way as The Five Doctors, but this is a sprawling behemoth that takes everything about Doctor Who and threatens to tear it to shreds. Many times i found myself thinking "no, they can't do that!" before things are fixed moments later. I can't complain about it because it is very very good, (and quite serious) but in comparison to the smaller scale Whopisodes it isn't in my favour. In particular the three disc - three part layout is quite hefty - i much prefer shorter parts, more cliffhangers. That said the two cliffhangers that do occur are excellent. I ended up listening to the final disc in one sitting at 1am in the morning (exam the next day) simply because i was completely hooked. As for the acting...well, Paul McGann shows us again why he was absolutely fantastic in the central role, but India Fisher as Charley really shines. There is some word play between the Doc and Charley which thanks to the acting comes across as somewhat ambiguous. Exactly how do they feel about each other? Will their relationship shatter the hopes and heighten the fears of fans, or are they just...the best friends ever?
The humour, of which i thought there would be close to nil due to the seriousness of the storyline, is spot on. Conrad Westmass' chesire cat is hilarious and Sylvester McCoy is a dream come true.
I spent a year before listening to this wondering who played the voice of Zagreus, expecting a guest actor in much the same way as the previous three dramas, Omega, Davros and Master. When i finally discovered who voices the evil being of anti-time...silly silly me. Should have seen it a mile away.
The Doctor Who universe has taken a beating, but come out smelling of roses. I can only thank Big Finish from the bottom of my heart for not spoiling ANYTHING.
Oh and listen out for a very surprising guest voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Marmite Audio Adventure, 8 Jan 2014
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Zagreus (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
Positive.
1)Paul McGanns portrayal of the Doctor as he stuggles against his own emotions fighting the absorbed anti time articles that has manifested a Zagreus personality inside the Doctor's mind.
2)Peter Davison,Colin Baker & Sylvester McCoy deliver great performances as the Doctor's & the avatar personalitys.
3)This is a epic story that i felt delivered a unique intriguing adventure by Gary Russell & Alan Barnes.
4)Third Doctor cameo voiced from a archive audio of Jon Pertwee, God bless you Jon you are truly missed.

Negative.
Many fans have criticised this 40th Anniversary story for being very different from what was expected, I believe this audio adventure has divided fan's opinions the most which is why i refer to it as the Marmite story of Big Finish.

Trivia.
1)Jon Pertwees posthumous voice cameo inside the Tardis communicating with the Eighth Doctor was from excerpts of Devious a fan film set inbetween seasons 6 & 7 of Doctor Who which can be viewed on The War Games dvd.
2)The Doctor reads from Frankenstein is a in joke to future releases perhaps were the Doctor met & travelled in the Tardis with it's author Mary Shelley.
3)Each CD disc has its own title Wonderland, Heartland, Wasteland.
4)To quote the late Eric Morecambe the characters are playing the right parts just not necessarily in the right order.

CD Info.
A Three part audio adventure, Running time 236 minutes approx.

Review.
The Doctor has become infected with Anti-time particles as Zagreus has effected his personality becoming possessed by the evil Zagreus influence.

The fractured Tardis is in turmoil too as the good Tardis is ready to help the Doctor while the Zagreus infected Tardis manifesting itself as the Brigader is being influenced by Rassilon to fully turn the Eighth Doctor into Zagreus to serve as Rassilons assassin which would allow the Tardis to be freed from Rassilons enslavement but at the cost of the Doctor then working for Rassilon.

The non infected side of the good Tardis gives the Eighth Doctor projections of his former three incarnations to help the Doctor try to remember who he was.

These projections of the Doctors are avatars named Townsend,Tepesh & Winky whom are a key part too the unfolding event's linked to Rassalon & the Divergent Universe.

As event's unfold the Doctor fights the Zagreus infection while seemingly in a strange sublime situation as his past incarnations & companions are seemingly different character's.

The Doctor seeks to unfold this mystery which could have huge implications linked to his home planet of Gallifrey.

As the event's reach a climax on the Death Zone on Gallifery Romana & Leela seek out Rassilons tomb as he has contacted Romana whom is unaware of the influence Rassilon has over Leela using her as a medium & a weappn against Romana as Leela under Rassilons influence threatens to kill Romana with a knife, Leela has also beheaded K9 under this dark influence of Rassilon.

Fortunately for Romana the three avatar Doctor's appear & rescue Romana while Leela eventually collaspes but later she does recover from Rassilons influence.

The Zagreus Tardis is eventually destroyed by Charlie, Leela & Romana in a vat of chemicals that melt the Zagreus Tardis.

The Zagreus Doctor manages to banish Rassilon to the divergent universe as the good Tardis is partially restored allowing a anti-time cure from zero matter energy's that stabilizes the Zagreus particles within the Doctor's body which simultaneously restores the Tardis to full capacity but at a price, The Doctor must now enter the Divergent universe to protect the universe from the anti-time within him.

Charlie wants to go with the Doctor but he screams at her to leave, As Romana insists the Doctor must never return from the Divergent Universe unknowing to the Doctor Charlie has sneaked on board the Tardis as a stowaway.

This is a very ambiguous audio adventure by Gary Russell & Alan Barnes & no doubt will require several listens for all the plot point's to sink in.

Anybody expecting a Four Doctors vs Dalek or Cyberman adventure will be extremely disappointed as the Fifth, Sixth & Seventh Doctors only appear as there Doctor's towards the end of this adventure the other times they are avatars Townsend,Tepesh & Winky.

The Zagreus infected Tardis is voiced by Nicholas Courtney who also plays Brigader Lethbridge Stewart, Barring the Eighth Doctor & Charley the only other two Companions are Leela & Romana portrayed as there true character's throughout this adventure.

This is four minutes short of four hour's & is one to certainly divide fan's, I enjoyed this audio adventure & have been rewarded on subsequent relistens making this story i feel a very intriguing one.

The cast do well but credit must goe to Paul McGann as the Eighth Doctor who battles his Zagreus infected self throughout this adventure, McGann makes the listener feel he could turn evil at any moment, It's an effective chilling performance.

Praise to India Fisher as Charley Pollard who sticks by the Doctor throughout all this drama showcasing her faith & trust that the Doctor will somehow break free of his Zagreus infected self & it's that hope that this story needs as it's emotional beat.

This is a enjoyable 40th Anniversary story that concludes with a more than satisfactory ending which i would recommend to Doctor Who fan's that like a adventure that's just a little bit different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am Zagreus!, 26 Dec 2011
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zagreus (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
To get the background to this story, you really need to listen to Neverland first. Having an understanding of the way in which Charley and the Doctor are travelling together in the first place also helps to put in context the story which continues from Neverland with the main point of conflict between time and anti-time. I first listened to this about 18 months ago, and in a somewhat stop-start manner while travelling in the car. I found, listening to it this time over three consecutive evenings (one cd per evening) that it hung together better and flowed well, building to a very satisfying conclusion.

The Doctor is not himself and Charley is separated from him by what appears to be the Brigadier as she searches for a way to help the Doctor. Old friends and old companions pop up in new guises as the story moves through the three cd-set. It's only on the third cd that the elements of the story that has long been building start to move in unison towards the conclusion, and that's really not what the listener is expecting.

This is clearly a set-piece written to celebrate Doctor Who's fortieth anniversary, and as such needs to have elements that celebrate that without doubt for the listener. As such, the familiar voices are a nice touch. I was not so excited about the Lewis Carroll "Alice in Wonderland" theme that carries through the story; while it does work, I think this element of the storyline could have been improved upon.

This is not great literature, but it is what it purports to be - a great Doctor Who anniversary celebratory story, which features a whole lot of familiar voices and contexts, and introduces new elements with the anti-time element, and the whole Zagreus concept. The other Doctors really work together well here, and it's just a pity that Tom Baker was not involved as the Fourth Doctor. The writing is generally clever, the familiar and unfamiliar elements are melded well together into a satisfying story. Definitely recommended for a `classic' Doctor Who fan, and definitely repays multiple listenings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I thought, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zagreus (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
This wasn't what I thought, but I still enjoyed it, its a very different format, but still worth getting, it did have some very intresting twists that I didn't see, or should say hear coming. Still glad I got it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zagreus (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
This was particularly clever by using various elements from the Dr. universe. I hope they have more multiple Dr. stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As EPIC as it gets, 6 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zagreus (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
Yes, it's too long and you have to pay very close attention in order to follow what's going on, but I love it. You can't beat the McGann audios for very mature themes and absorbing storylines. However, you really should have listened to at least Storm Warning and Neverland before Zagreus in order to get a grip of its labyrinthine plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a fantastic piece for the 40th anniversary, 15 Jun 2004
This review is from: Zagreus (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
I've always known of and watched repeats of Doctor Who through my brother who is an avid fan but this is the first thing that really got me hooked. This piece challenges expectations and is a fantastically inventive way to have a multi-doctor, multi-companion story for the anniversary. I have to admit I listened to this before I heard 'Neverland' or many of the Eighth Doctor audios other than the outstanding 'Chimes of Midnight' but the palpable fear at the beginning set the tone for a fantastic story questioning many of the fundamentals of Doctor Who. The familiar voices in wholly different roles was a wonderful facet of the idea that the Doctor, the TARDIS and Charley were all trying to make sense of the chaos around them using what memories they had. The acting of Paul McGann and India Fisher is outstanding and the story stood up to many repeat plays. Well Done Big Finish! This has defiantly got me wanting more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Over-ambitious, over-long, but intriguing failure, 2 Dec 2004
By 
Jane Aland (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Zagreus (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
When I first heard Zagreus, having duly waited 16 months to hear the resolution of the cliff-hanger from Big Finish's second 8th Doctor season, I enjoyed it a lot - but re-listening to it now it's flaws become more obvious.

For a start, lets clear up what Zagreus is not - a celebratory 40th anniversary story. Despite the misleading cover this is emphatically not a team-up of the 5th, 6th, 7th and 8th Doctor; Davison, Baker & McCoy all appear, but they spend most of their time playing other characters. This isn't necessarily a bad thing, but seeing as every other character is played by a returning ex-companion this can be highly distracting (one scene features Colin Baker playing the 6th Doctor playing a vampire, India Fisher playing Charlie playing Rassilon, and Nicholas Courtney playing the TARDIS playing the Brigadier playing a Time Lord.) The hoops the narrative jumps through in order to feature all these old faces is unconvincing, and I can't help but think it would have been a more successful story without this distraction.

Other bad points - at 3 and hours long this is over-extended by at least an hour, with the majority of the first 2 discs given over to over-padded exposition regarding the divergent universe; an archival appearance by the late Jon Pertwee is a nice anniversary touch, but you can barely make out anything he says; the universe-threatening menace of Zagreus himself turns out to be a virtual red-herring, Paul McGann shouts a bit, throws some books around - and that's it; the central story, while dealing with central parts of Gallifreyan lore, with Rassilon's ordering of the universe and expelling magic and controlling evolution seems to have been lifted wholesale from the book ranges; and having avoided explicit anniversary story tropes for so long the story descends into a barrage of continuity winks at the last ("There should have been another way", "It this death?", etc etc)

Inevitably there are positives too - Nicholas Courtney is superb as the surprisingly convincing TARDIS, and the silky smooth Don Warrington does a good turn as Rassilon, while Sylvester McCoy's Walt Disney clone is fun.

Ultimately though, Zagreus ends up falling between two stools: it's too deliberately obscure to be successful as an anniversary romp, and there's too much distracting flimflam for it to make a really successful 8th Doctor story about Zagreus or the Divergents. Make no mistake - Zagreus is a failure, but it's so over-ambitious that it is at least an interesting failure.

If you've already followed Big Finish's first two 8th Doctor seasons then this is essential listening for its continuation of a cliff-hanger, but if you're looking for a standalone anniversary multi-Doctor story, for gods sake look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a listen, 5 Jan 2010
This review is from: Zagreus (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
I am old (very old, sometimes) enough to know all of the Doctors bar William Hartnell, although I made his acquaintance in the Three Doctors ("so this is what I become; a clown and a dandy"). The echoes of this past are VERY satisfying, and the action is top notch; I listened to this on the way to/from work in the car, and some of the sound effects scared the cr@p out of me, I thought I was on my way to A&E. The pantheon of old faces (...voices...) is wonderful to hear, and the overall arc of the story is brought together in a typically coherent but nevertheless ambiguous climax that leaves one demanding more. This was my first foray into Doctor Who audio discs... where should I have begun? Where do I go next? I feel like a time traveller already..........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Zagreus (Doctor Who)
Zagreus (Doctor Who) by Gary Russell (Audio CD - 3 Oct 2003)
13.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews