Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I want to be a good man, Doctor", 29 Jun 2011
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jubilee (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
This is a very dark, psychoanalytical thriller that really stands well as a thriller story, whether involved in Doctor Who's universe or not. The Doctor and Evelyn arrive in London in 2003 ... or is it 1903? And why is it against the law to contract your words? Is this a world that the Doctor can recognise, or want to be a part of? And does he believe that he may have been the cause of it after all?

The Doctor, Evelyn and some really rather nasty humans meet up in this crazy mixed-up world at the time of a Jubilee, a celebration of 100 years since ... the Doctor was last here? Or was he? And why are the humans torturing a Dalek that's been prisoner here for decades?

Is Rochester all he seems? Is Miriam?

So many questions! And none of them are answered till well near the end of this great 2-cd story, divided into four episodes. I like the Sixth Doctor in these audio adventures, he seems to have regained some of his humour and light-hearted tone while retaining his intensity. And Evelyn makes a great companion - a sensible lady who matches the Doctor in wit and intelligence.

Dark, disturbing, tales of the inherent inhumanity of mankind itself. Could we become like that?

Highly, totally recommended - riveting stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant story superb, 4 Oct 2014
This review is from: Jubilee (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
***Some Spoilers****

If one was to start listening to the Doctor Who audio dramas for the first time then this would be the story to do it with. So may or may not be aware that it was this story that was adapted into the Christoper Eccelston story Dalek. I can say without hesitation this is the superior story. The team of Colin Baker and the late Maggie Stables is one of the best Doctor and companion pairings of any recent Doctor Who.

Indeed Colin Bakers sixth Doctor plays superbly against Stables Evelyn Smythe, and that is only the start of the highlights. The Story is dark psychological drama put through the normal Doctor Who filter it is superb Nicholas Briggs performance as The imprisoned Dalek is excellent the closest Briggs has come to this in the TV show was with the character of Dalek Khan.

This Story had me glued from the word go and as it holds a mirror up to how blood thirsty and disturbing we can be as humans I can not praise this story enough brilliant stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark & Disturbing Dalek Adventure., 17 Oct 2013
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Jubilee (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
Jubilee (Audio).
Doctor: Sixth Doctor
Companion(s): Evelyn
Main enemy: The Daleks
Main setting: The Tower of London, 2003 (alternative timeline)
Publisher: Big Finish Productions
Writer: Robert Shearman
Director: Nicholas Briggs & Robert Shearman
Release number: 40
Format: 4 Episodes on 2 CDs
Running Time 140 Minutes

Cast.
The Doctor - Colin Baker
Evelyn Smythe - Maggie Stables
Nigel Rochester - Martin Jarvis
Farrow - Steven Elder
Miriam Rochester - Rosalind Ayres
Lamb - Kai Simmons
Actor playing the Doctor - Jack Galagher
Actress Plenty O'Toole - Georgina Carter
Presenters - Jane Goddard, Robert Shearman
The Daleks - Nicholas Briggs

Positive.
1)A dark twisted Dalek adventure from the mind of Rob Shearman.
2)Colin Baker & Maggie Stables both give standout performances in this adventure.
3)It's a classic Original Dalek adventure.

Negative.
None that I could find.

Trivia.
1)If parts of this story sound familiar is because Rob Shearman adapted this audio into 2005 series 1 tv episode Dalek featuring the Ninth Doctor.
2)Martin Jarvis has appeared in Doctor Who 3 times, The Web Planet, Invasion Of The Dinosaurs & Vengeance On Varos which also stars Colin Baker as The Sixth Doctor.
3)Rosalind Aryes is the real life wife of Martin Jarvis.

What's Up Doc?
The Sixth Doctor & Evelyn arrive in London in 2003 instead of 1903 The Tardis suddenly disappears stranding The Doctor & Evelyn on Earth.

Yet this seems a very different earth to what the Doctor's visited many times before for a start the inhabitants are acting violent & why is there a king ruling The England Empire instead of Queen Elizabeth II?

This version of earth is a alternative Dystopia version were the is a Jubilee celebration going on celebrating 100 years since the Doctors last visit to earth resurrecting a statue in honour of the Timelord, Yet the Doctor doesn't remember it, Has there been a alteration to the timeline perhaps?

The Doctor wants answers to this Riddle but will he like the answers to his questions, Just who are Nigel & his Wife Miriam Rochester doing ruling The England Empire & why is their a damaged Dalek being tortured in the tower?

Timelord Thoughts.
This is Doctor Who at it's gruesome macabre best a dark humoured adventure by writer Robert Shearman, just how does he sleep at night?

This story features a emotional performance from a battle damaged Dalek, "YES", you read correctly emotion from a Dalek where a bond is eventually formed between Evelyn & the damaged Dalek.

One scene which I wont spoil for non listerners would never ever be shown on tv involves a injured Doctor who's, Sorry thats all the info your getting?,if you buy this story & you'll know what scene I'm discussing here.

This is a great original concept brilliantly written by The Chimes Of Midnight writer Rob Shearman & tightly directed by Dalek supremo Nicolas Briggs this adventure ranks among my top 10 Big Finish Doctor Who audios.

Overall Jubilee is a very entertaining, dark humoured & at times gruesome Dalek tale & comes highly recommended by myself to fans of Doctor Who.

Timelord Rating.
9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jubilee - We are the Daleks... Would you like to hear our song?, 4 July 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jubilee (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
This is the fortieth release from Big Finish in their range of full cast audio adventures starring classic Doctor Whos. It stars Colin Baker as Six, and Maggie Stables as Evelyn Smythe. There are four episodes, roughly 25-30 minutes each, complete with original theme music between each, and cliff hanger endings. Two episodes per disc on 2 discs, and a short booklet with some pictures of the cast and production notes.

The TARDIS lands Six and Evelyn in London, 2003. Instantly the TARDIS vanishes, stranding The Doctor and Evelyn. To make matters worse, this is a somewhat dystopic London which, following the defeat of the Daleks in the invasion of 1903, is now the capital of a world dominating English Empire run on very Dictatorial lines. The Doctor is somehow inextricably bound up with this deviation from established history, but how? And just who are the mysterious prisoners in the tower?

This is another excellent adventure from Big Finish. Once again they manage to do something new and interesting with the motorized pepperpots, and explore just what it is to be a Dalek in an interesting fashion. The basic concept is well realised, and the various conundrums it throws up are interesting.

Characterisation is key to these adventures, and here the cast really succeed. Baker is in top form as Six, full of inquisitiveness and energy, mixed with that slight arrogance tempered with a huge compassion. It is at times quite a moving performance. Maggie Stables as Evelyn has really turned into a great companion, able to stand up to Six's more outrageous flights, and with a huge degree of compassion and resourcefulness of her own. Martin Jarvis makes a welcome return to the Whoniverse (he appeared opposite Hartnell in the Web Planet, and appeared in several of the TV serials including opposite Six in Vengeance on Varos). He plays a character that is similar, yet totally opposite to his character in Vengeance on Varos, it's an almost deliberate contrast with his earlier Who performance. I was quite taken in by his character, and and found his portrayal of the ruthless dictator and the man in torment quite compelling. There is also, as an icing on the cake, an absolutely superb audio production with nicely done sound effects and an unusual be effective story introduction. Don't skip forward when you hear the words `Coming soon from Big Finish'...

I loved this story all round, five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best, 20 Aug 2013
By 
K. J. Astbury (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jubilee (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
Colin Baker and Maggie Stables at their best, a dark well written story and possibly the best use of the daleks in any medium. Jubilee is one the best sixth doctor audios and one of the best doctor who audios over all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Celebration of the Daleks?, 7 Nov 2011
This review is from: Jubilee (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
An audio adventure of the 6th Doctor.

This story was remade for television as the excellent episode Dalek in the first season of the new series.

Whilst similar both adventures are different enough to enjoy. This is the story of a surving dalek trapped in the tower of London in an alternative reality.

Martin Jarvis plays an insane President of the world with a wife who makes him sane, the story twists and turns. (There is a prisoner in the tower in a wheelchair) and it even makes you feel for a dalek.

It really shows what you can do with Doctor Who and with the audio medium.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Big Finish stories, 14 July 2011
By 
Tony Jones "Tony" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Jubilee (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
This Sixth Doctor plus Evelyn tale is one of the best pieces ever produced by Big Finish. The tale involves a parallel world, the Tower of London and the tale of a society who treat the Doctor as a hero and saviour but only as long as he stays in the history books.

Meanwhile a sole Dalek is held prisoner in the Tower and tortured to a breaking point as the Doctor and Evelyn learn a lot about human nature, the oppressive British Empire and themselves. I won't spoil it further, but when you listen make sure you have time to listen in one go and time afterwards to reflect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who: Jubilee - The ACTUAL review!, 9 Jun 2005
By 
C. Capel "the_tingler" (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jubilee (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
This review differs from the other reviews in that it's ACTUALLY ABOUT THE AUDIO CD IN QUESTION!
I've always been a fan of Doctor Who, but for some reason I'd never heard of the audio adventures. I didn't know they existed. This is straight Doctor Who, just as it is on TV, except all in Audio so there's no budget problems.
And Jubilee is one of the finest Doctor Who stories I have ever heard (or watched). From the writer of the recent TV episode 'Dalek' and baring many of the same themes (one lone Dalek, imprisoned and tortured), Jubilee does everything that episode does except much, much better (and in a much more traditional 4-part story).
After the Sixth Doctor (Colin Baker) and new companion Evelyn (quite likeable, don't worry) arrive with a bump in 2003 in the Tower of London, they discover that somehow the British Empire is all-powerful and that Daleks are no longer feared but are actually merchandised! That they could be the cause of this major time change is a likely possibility...
If you are a fan of Doctor Who and at least don't mind Colin Baker, you owe it to yourself to buy this CD. Don't argue: just trust me. Incredible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jubilant!, 3 April 2007
By 
Varian Beauregard (Le Jardin d'Angleterre) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jubilee (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
There is a lot of similarity between this 2003 audio play and the 2005 TV episode `Dalek'. Both were written by Robert Shearman. However, to view this as merely a now redundant prototype for the latter would be to do it a grave injustice. `Dalek' was in my opinion the best episode of the new series' so far, with a great performance by Christopher Eccleston, and great visuals. However, this play still has more depth which is what all the new TV series lacks throughout. Colin Baker is wonderful and Maggie Stables as Evelyn Smythe again shows what a great foil she is to this doctor (a much better companion than Rose).

This is actually a really hard play to review! It is quite varied. At times I thought it was excellent, at times I lost interest. It definitely has flashes of brilliance, and yet did not leave such an overall satisfactory impression on me as other plays I have heard. It contains a few great plot twists, some wonderful dialogue and moments of humour. It also explores some good yet disturbing ideas - issues of choice and evil (see also 'Master').
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jubilee (Doctor Who)
Jubilee (Doctor Who) by Robert Shearman (Audio CD - 15 Jan 2003)
£12.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews